Flash: Up to 50% Off! Code: SUPER Ends: 3/29 Details
Apply

Vintage Year In Review Book

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Vintage Year In Review Book - Page Text Content

S: A Legacy of Love | Every Orphan's Hope

BC: Raising Orphans to Life in Christ | everyorphan.org

FC: A Legacy of Love | Every Orphan's Hope

1: There is a beautiful story behind each and every orphan... an unexpected achievement, an emerging talent, a spiritual gifting, a victory that would have seemed impossible until God intervened and made it possible through Jesus Christ and you, His faithful servants.

2: Table of Contents | My Father's House Orphan Homes 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 | Mama Christine, Agness, Charles, Denga, Faith, Gertrude, Joseph, Moses, Thokozile | Lusaka | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Homes 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 | Mama Josephine, Emmanuel, Grace, Helen, Lubasi, Lydia, Nelly, Stanley | My Father's House Orphan Homes 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35 | Mama Juliet, David, Dorcas, Ednah, Hope, James, Mary, Michael, Patrick | My Father's House Orphan Homes 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .52 | Mama Florence, Billiat, Choolwe, Clement, Dickson, Idah, Lisa, Meya, Rona | My Father's House Orphan Homes 1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 71 | Mama Anna, Aaron, Andrew, Belita, Jenala, Joyce, Kelvin, Lubumbe, Maxmillan | My Father's House Orphan Homes 2 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 85 | Mama Mary, Esther, Jonah, Ngosa, Rebecca K., Rebecca M.

3: My Father's House Orphan Homes 3 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 96 | Mama Ellen, Blastone, Catherine, Chuma, Henry, Jerry | CHONGWE cont. | My Father's House Orphan Homes 4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 109 | Mama Theresa, Doreen, Joshua, Kauya, Muneta, Pamela, Samuel, Veronica | My Father's House Orphan Homes 5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 121 | Mama Loveness, Idah, James, Michael, Rebecca B., Rebecca M., Steven, Theresa | My Father's House Orphan Homes 6 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 136 | Mama Jane, Alick, Chilina, Juliet, Kennedy, Suzen | My Father's House Orphan Homes 7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 145 | Mama Sarah, Christine, Idah, James, Joseph, Mabel, Romario | Other Ministries . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 163 | Camp Hope, Chicks-4-Orphans, Orphan Sunday | Current occupants as of January 2015

4: "He raises the poor from the dust and lifts the needy from the ash heap; he seats them with princes and has them inherit a throne of honor." — 1 Samuel 2:8 | 1

5: 2

6: Lusaka | My Father's House Orphan Home 1 | Est. 2004 | 3 | Gary and Martha cutting the ribbon for Houses 1 and 2

7: Grand opening celebration | 2004 | 4

8: 2009 | 2006 | 2010 | 2006 | 5

9: 2011 | Charles | Agness | Faith | Denga | Joseph | Gertrude | Moses | Thokozile | 2011 | 6

10: Mama Christine | 7 | Thoko and Faith reading letters from their sponsors | 2011

11: 2012 | 8 | The Lusaka girls at school

12: Moses | Thokozile | Charles | Faith | Agness | Denga | Joseph | Gertrude | 2012 | 9

13: 2012 | 10 | Charles shows off his school art project.

14: 2013 | Moses | Charles | Agness | Thokozile | Faith | Denga | Joseph | Gertrude | 11

15: Mama Christine | 12 | Some of the Lusaka girls at boarding school | Twins! | Joseph with sponsor gifts

16: 2014 | Agness | Joseph | Faith | Denga | 13

17: Charles | Gertrude | Thokozile | "and whoever welcomes a little child like this in My name welcomes me." – Matthew 18:5 | 14

18: Charles | Charles never had the privilege to call someone "dad." His father passed away when he was only six months old. As the eldest son in a family of four children, Charles carried the responsibility of being the "man of the house," even at a very young age. Born on July 20, 1994, Charles was a content kid under the care of his mom because she was all he knew. He thought it was normal to have only one parent, but when he turned 10, he started asking questions about his dad. Each question brought silence and heartache, and eventually, Charles gave up. He said that he didn't like upsetting his mom, because "she used to brighten my day with her smile." | For 12 years, Charles' mom managed to provide for her children's basic needs. She specialized in hair plaiting and even made enough money to keep them in school. One Sunday in 2005, Charles' mom sat him down for a one-on-one talk. "Charles, you have a lot of responsibilities ahead of you because you are the eldest boy, and being a man in a family requires one to be disciplined and lead by example. A man is born a leader. Always have a strong will for your life." Those words have never left Charles, even after her sudden death the following year, even after 10 years of coping with her death. Her words are still etched on his heart. | 15

19: "Great people are never born but made and indeed... Every Orphan's Hope is raising a generation that shall change the world..." – Charles Zulu, II | After Charles' mom died, the siblings were split between his mom's brother and cousin. Unfortunately, the uncle did not have a good job and wasn't able to meet the children's basic needs. Most of the time, they ate one meal a day. Living in impoverished conditions, Charles lost hope. He began to think that life wasn't fair. Instead of begging for food, he began picking up plastic trash from the streets and recycle it for pennies. Sometimes, he would forgo food to buy his little brother clothes because, he recalls, "I didn't want him to feel like there was no hope for him anymore." When Charles' aunt heard what was going on, she invited the siblings into her home. However, it was a struggle. She could barely afford to care for their basic needs and the children had to drop out of school. She turned to social welfare and four weeks later, Charles and his siblings were interviewed. It was on a Saturday and Charles was outside playing. He went inside to take a nap and dreamed that social welfare had come to pick him up but that he wasn't supposed to go. When he shared this dream with his uncle, the uncle responded, "You just don't want to go back to school." | When social welfare came to pick up Charles, he refused to go. Instead, he followed his aunt to church and there, he learned about Every Orphan's Hope. His aunt registered Charles and on May 29, 2007 Charles moved in to My Father's House Orphan Home 1 in Lusaka. He immediately started going back to school and today he is in college at the National Constitution of Public Administration studying Public Relations. "My Father's House is a place where my goals and hope were restored," says Charles, "...a place where God's promises are demonstrated. The Lord said you will never lack anything and surely, I have witnessed that every day." | 16

20: Thoko | Thokozile Muchimba, affectionately known as "Thoko," was born on June 20,1994. Thoko and her brother, Lubasi, are double orphans. Before moving into My Father's House Orphan Homes, they lived with their grandparents in the village of Monze. Unfortunately, the grandparents mismanaged the late mother's estate and Thoko and Lubasi had to move in with their aunt. | Thoko at Camp Hope with her leader Logan Welsh in 2004 | They loved their aunt, but due to ill treatment from the aunt's spouse, the aunt moved out with Thoko and Lubasi. She, alone, could not support their basic needs. She registered both children under Grace Ministries Church where they would be invited to attend Camp Hope, and later, to My Father's House Orphan Homes. | One day, Thoko told staff members at Every Orphan's Hope that her dream was "to sing for the world." On April 19, 2013, Thoko and her brother Lubasi landed on American soil for the first time. Among the sightseeing, church visits and sponsorship gatherings, they attended the Christian Alliance for Orphans Summit 9 in Nashville, TN. Thoko was beyond excited when she was asked to stand in front of a crowd of 2,500 people and sing her heart out! She received a standing ovation, and to top it off, she and Lubasi got to meet Nicole C. Mullen. | 17 | Thoko standing in front of the White House

21: At My Father's House Orphan Homes, dreams are realized! | Lubasi and Thoko with Nicole C. Mullen (center) | 18 | Lubasi and Thoko visiting the USA for the first time

22: 19

23: "Our mouths were filled with laughter, our tongues with songs of joy. Then it was said among the nations, 'The Lord has done great things for them.'” — Psalm 126:2 | 20

24: In Loving Memory | Mama Josephine | 21 | 1967-2014

25: 2009 | 2006 | Lusaka | My Father's House Orphan Home 2 | Est. 2004 | 22

26: Lydia | Grace | Lubasi | Given | 2010 | 23

27: 2011 | Mama Josephine | Nelly | Helen | Stanley | Emmanuel | 24

28: 2012 | Stanley | Nelly | Lydia | 25

29: Emmanuel | Helen | Grace | Lubasi | 26

30: Lydia | Stanley | 2013 | Helen | Grace | Lubasi | Emmanuel | Nelly | 27

31: 28 | Grace (above) receives a new pair of shoes from her sponsors.

32: 2014 | Nelly | Lubasi | Helen | 29

33: Stanley | Grace | Emmanuel | Lydia | 30

34: You read about Thoko Muchimba. Here is her brother, Lubasi. His name means "family," which is quite fitting since Every Orphan's Hope is all about creating and restoring Christ-centered families for orphans. Thoko and Lubasi are double orphans who lost their parents as young children. They went to live with their aunt, who truly loved and cared for them, but unfortunately, she was married to a verbally and emotionally abusive man. One night, the aunt's husband brought home a special meal for dinner: steaks. He cooked them and set them in front of the children. Suddenly, he threw the steaks on the ground and lashed out, "It's better that the dogs eat those than you." Time and again, the aunt's husband would tell Lubasi and Thoko, "You're not my child, you're an orphan." Thoko and Lubasi were in a desperate situation, until they found refuge in My Father House Orphan Homes – refuge and opportunity! Today, Lubasi is a young man studying law at the local university in Lusaka, Zambia. He was our first orphan boy, and now he is our first college student! He is also a role model to the other boys in My Father's House Orphan Homes. Lubasi is a shining example of the impact your prayers, encouragement and investment can make. | Lubasi goes suit shopping for the first time in 2013. | Lubasi | Lubasi at Camp Hope with his leader Logan Welsh in 2004 | 31

35: Lubasi | Every orphan deserves someone who believes in his dream. | Every orphan needs someone to believe in his dream. | 32

36: Nelly | Nelly Mwanza is 16 years old. She never knew her biological father and her mother passed away in November of 2014. Her mother, Josephine, was the house mama in My Father's House Orphan Home 2 in Lusaka, where Nelly still lives with her twin brother Emmanuel. Nelly was introduced to her heavenly Father in My Father's House Orphan Homes. Ever since, she has been studying the Word and pursuing her calling to be an author. "God told me I am an author," she revealed one day, presenting an entire devotional book to the staff members of Every Orphan's Hope. We've taken that devotional, called A Heart of Perseverance, and published it on Amazon. In her book, Nelly encourages young Christians to stand firm in their faith and trust that God has a purpose for everything. She touches on obedience and challenges young Christians to be prayerful and not give up on their dreams. Nelly didn't give up on her dreams, and now she is a self-published author! | 33

37: "When I was six years old, together with my mom and twin brother, I moved into My Father’s House for a purpose, and that purpose was for me to begin a new foundation. I am so glad to live at My Father’s House with my new brothers and sisters. It is a very big thing that God performed in my life." — Nelly Mwanza | He's Not Done! Philippians 1:6 says, “being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” This means that the good things that God started in our lives shall not be forbidden from anyone. Not Satan himself will stop God from doing great things, but they shall continue flourishing in our lives. Whenever you become so frustrated or things turn out the way you didn’t expect them to, one important thing you ought to remember is, He is not done with you! The reason I am saying this is very important. When those words are ever in your heart, you shall build up your faith more and more. Even though your desire didn’t come true, always remember that God is not done with you. You can be the most important person in the whole world, and then you start thinking that God is done with you. No! He’s just done with some things in your life but He’s not done with all of you. If you always remember this, then I assure you, your life will never be the same again. It doesn’t matter whether you come from a very rich place; just know that He is not yet done. There is more! When you are rich, you don’t have to think, “Everything is okay; that’s all for me.” Don’t think that! God is still working in your life. He’s still promoting you to be on a higher level. | Excerpt from A Heart of Perseverance | 34

38: 2005 | Buildings we tore down to build My Father's House Orphan Homes 3 and 4 in Lusaka | Lusaka | My Father's House Orphan Home 3 | Est. 2005 | 35 | New mattresses are being delivered.

39: 2006 | 36 | Dorcas and Mary doing the house chores (above) and enjoying their new beds (right)

40: 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 37

41: 2011 | James | David | Michael | Mary | Dorcas | Hope | Patrick | Ednah | "They are precious in his sight..." | 38

42: Mama Juliet | 39

43: 2012 | Dorcas | Patrick | David | Ednah | Hope | James | Mary | Michael | 40

44: 41 | Writing letters to sponsors

45: 2012 | 42 | Receiving sponsor gifts | Patrick cooking nshima

46: 2013 | Mary | Patrick | James | 43

47: Hope | David | Michael | Dorcas | Ednah | 44

48: 45

49: 2014 | Ednah | Dorcas | Hope | James | Patrick | David | Michael | Mary | 46

50: It's 2003 in Kalingalinga. A widow is cooking outdoors over an open flame, stirring nshima in a large pot for 150 orphans attending Camp Hope. She 's on her feet for three days...with a baby strapped on her back. Fast forward to 2006. Every Orphan's Hope receives word from a church member who told them a woman who served at Camp Hope wants staff members to come pray over her. She's dying. Staff members walked to her home, a one-room shack, and approached the woman on her deathbed. Her body was frail, her eyes were heavy, and her voice was faint, yet confident. "I am believing God for my children that He is going to provide." Fervent prayer filled the room as family and friends wept and mourned over their dying loved one. The mood was solemn until an Every Orphan's Hope staff member said, "I believe God has answered your prayer." You see, Every Orphan's Hope had just completed the third My Father's House and the home was within walking distance to where this woman lived. In that house, five beds already had children in them, but three beds remained – for one girl and two boys. Miraculously, in God's perfect timing, there was room for Mary, Michael and David. The three children would have a new home with a new mama who would love and care for them as her own. Indeed, God had provided! | 47

51: Mary, Michael & David | 2006 | 2007 | In late 2004, a couple in the U.S. lost a dear friend to cancer. They decided to make a donation toward the building of a My Father's House Orphan Home in honor of their friend. The couple also went on a mission trip and participated in adding the finishing touches of paint, curtains and bedding for the home. They could have never anticipated God's plan to answer a dying widows prayer for her three children...Mary, Michael & David through their obedience, compassion and faithfulness...but that's exactly what God did! | 48

52: 49

53: In 2013, sponsors generously donated the necessary funds to purchase a new pair of shoes for every child. | 50

54: Danny | We receive children with joy but we say goodbye to children with both joy and sadness when the Lord takes them home. Coping with death is never easy but we are put at ease knowing that Danny is resting in the arms of Jesus. After losing his battle with AIDS, we buried Danny peacefully knowing that while God's purposes may not be clear, He definitely has a plan. In the midst of all life's challenges, even death, a greater story is always emerging: the legacy of God with us...the good works God has prepared in advance for us to do... a legacy that is still being carried out and that will echo for all eternity. | Danny (far left) with his brothers, sisters and mama Juliet. | 51

55: Lusaka | My Father's House Orphan Home 4 | Est. 2007 | 2009 | 2008 | 52

56: 2010 | 53

57: 54

58: Choolwe | Meya | Lisa | Dickson | Idah | Clement | Rona | Billiat | 2011 | 55

59: Esther | Mama Florence | "...He upholds the widow and the fatherless..." | – Psalm 146:9 | 56

60: 2012 | 57

61: 58 | "See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil."

62: 2012 | Idah | Lisa | Rona | Dickson | Clement | Choolwe | Billiat | Meya | 59

63: 60

64: 2012 | 61

65: 62 | Dickson and Clement know how to make us laugh! | Meya gardening

66: 2013 | Mama Florence | Rona | Meya | Dickson | Lisa | 63

67: Choolwe | Billiat | Idah | Clement | 64 | Billiat shows off his beaded artwork of the Zambian flag.

68: 65 | Top/Right: Faith and Rona receiving sponsor letters Left/Bottom: Choolwe and James receiving backpacks

69: 2014 | Idah | Meya | Billiat | Dickson | 66 | James | Clement | Lisa | Choolwe | Rona

70: My Father's House Orphan Homes | 67 | Making bricks to build homes!

71: breaks ground in Chongwe in 2009 | 68

72: Grand opening of My Father's House 1- 4 in Chongwe in 2009 | 69 | Village chief Bunda Bunda (center/top and left) officiates the grand opening.

73: My Father's House 1 & 2 | My Father's House 3 & 4 | 70

74: 2009 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 1 | Est. 2009 | 71

75: 2010 | 72

76: Lubumbe | Aaron | Kelvin | Joyce | 2011 | 73

77: Andrew | Max | Jenala | Belita | Mama Anna | 74

78: 75 | Receiving sponsor gifts

79: 2012 | Jenala | Belita | Max | Andrew | Aaron | Joyce | Lubumbe | Kelvin | 76

80: Mama Anna | 2012 | 77

81: 78 | Mama Anna cooking nshima (left) and cleaning (below)

82: 2013 | Lubumbe | Belita | Aaron | Joyce | 79

83: Kelvin | Max | Jenala | Andrew | 80

84: 81

85: 2013 | 82

86: Max | Andrew | Kelvin | Jenala | Aaron | Joyce | Lubumbe | Belita | 2014 | 83

87: 84 | Max tending to the chickens

88: 2009 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 2 | Est. 2009 | 85

89: 2010 | "A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in his holy dwelling." – Psalm 68:5 | 86

90: 2011 | Mama Mary | 87

91: Jonah | Orbet | James | Rebecca K. | Rebecca M. | Esther | Ngosa | Bianca | 88

92: 2011 | 89 | "There's no place like home!"

93: Ngosa | Rebecca K. | James | Bianca | Rebecca M. | Jonah | Orbet | Jonah | 2012 | 90

94: 91

95: 2012 | 92 | Below: Jonah is excited to get a ball from his sponsors.

96: 2013 | Rebecca M. | Ngosa | Bianca | Jonah | Esther | Rebecca K. | Mama Mary | 93

97: 94 | The kids enjoying a fun sponsor gift | Above: Ngosa and Rebecca M. receive a new pair of shoes. Right: The boys "drop a beat" on their buckets.

98: 2014 | Rebecca M. | Jonah | Bianca | Esther | Ngosa | Rebecca K. | 95

99: 2009 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 3 | Est. 2009 | 96 | Catherine cleans with a smile.

100: 2010 | 97

101: 2011 | 98 | Henry built a toy car using a stick and water bottles. | Blastone sketched a drawing of his home.

102: Justin | Henry | Catherine | Rachel | Susan | 2011 | 99

103: Chuma | James | Blastone | 100

104: Susan | Blastone | Justin | Catherine | Chuma | Jerry | 2012 | Henry | 101

105: Mama Ellen | 102

106: 2013 | Chuma | Justin | Henry | Catherine | 103

107: Susan | Blastone | Mama Ellen | Jerry | 104

108: 105

109: 2013 | 106 | Mama Ellen can hang with the kids.

110: 2014 | Chuma | Jerry | Catherine | Henry | 107

111: James & Lister | James and Lister Shameno's story is not about where they came from but where they are today. James and Lister moved out of our homes in 2013 because their biological brother contacted Every Orphan's Hope with the desire to reunite with his siblings. While the sudden loss was difficult, we were encouraged when we met the brother and learned of his desire to love and care for James and Lister. The brother is married, has a good job, but does not have any children of his own. He has brought all of his four younger siblings under his roof and he told us, "I don't want my siblings to go through what I went through," explaining that he moved around from orphanage to orphanage after their father died. The brother's wife is also an orphan and understands how important family is. She was happy to care for James, Lister and the other children as her own. While we miss these precious faces, we praise the Lord for their happy reunion. What a beautiful picture of an older brother seeking out his family and taking them under his wing. | James' and Lister's faith in God was restored. In fact, it may have been an answered prayer. Lister once told us, "I like praying and talking to God because I know He listens." Lister is 10 and wants to teach young children. James is 14 and wants to be a pastor. We're confident they'll have the guidance and faith to reach their goals. | 108

112: 2009 | 2010 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 4 | Est. 2009 | 109

113: 2011 | Mama Theresa | Veronica | Pamela | Muneta | Doreen | Alick | Joshua | Samuel | Kauya | 110

114: 111

115: 2011 | 112

116: 2012 | 113

117: 114

118: 2013 | Joshua | Pamela | Kauya | Veronica | Doreen | Samuel | 115

119: Muneta | Mama Theresa | 116

120: 2013 | 117 | Below, the kids are excited to receive new sheets from their sponsors.

121: 118 | A construction team teaches the boys how to use power tools.

122: Doreen | Joshua | Kauya | Veronica | 119

123: 2014 | Muneta | Pamela | Samuel | "Learn to do right; seek justice.Defend the oppressed. Take up the cause of the fatherless; plead the case of the widow." – Isaiah 1:17 | 120

124: Construction for House 5 & foundation for House 6 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 5 | Est. 2010 | 121

125: 122

126: 2011 | Lister | Dennis | Harrison | Steven | Rebecca M. | James | Michael | 123

127: Mama Loveness | Harrison | 124

128: Rebecca B. | Steven | Michael | Dennis | Rebecca M. | James | 125

129: Harrison | Idah | But you, God, see the trouble of the afflicted; you consider their grief and take it in hand. The victims commit themselves to you; you are the helper of the fatherless. – Psalm 10:14 | 2011 | 126

130: 2012 | Rebecca B. | Steven | Rebecca M. | 127

131: Harrison | Idah | James | Michael | 128

132: 129

133: 2013 | Michael | Theresa | James | 130

134: Steven | Idah | Rebecca B. | 2013 | 131 | Rebecca M. and Steven receiving new shoes

135: Rebecca M. | Harrison | 132

136: 2014 | James | Steven | Michael | 133

137: Rebecca M. | Theresa | Rebecca B. | Idah | 134

138: 2014 | 135

139: 2011 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 6 | Est. 2011 | 136

140: 2012 | Alick | Kennedy | Suzen | Juliet | Chilina | 137

141: 138 | Suzen is a fashionista!

142: 2013 | Kennedy | Juliet | Lucky & Mama Jane | 139 | Lucky and Jane's children Benjamin and Joseph

143: Chilina | Suzen | Alick | 140

144: 2013 | 141

145: 2014 | Alick | Suzen | Kennedy | Juliet | Chilina | 142

146: Suzen with her friend Idah | Chilina | Suzen and Juliet | "For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." – Jeremiah 29:11 | 143

147: Chilina, Juliet & Suzen | These three beautiful girls were orphaned by their father in 2010, not long after their impoverished mother abandoned them. The paternal grandparents took the girls in and even put them in school, but to everyone's surprise one day, the mother took the girls from school without the grandparents' consent. The word was her husband's relatives had given her money to settle down with the children. Whether or not the money ran out, no one knows, but again, the mother fled, leaving Chilina, Juliet and Suzen with the grandparents. Because the grandparents were only peasant farmers, they found it difficult to support the three girls, especially with 11 other family members living in the household. In early May 2012, the grandmother brought Chilina, Juliet and Suzen to My Father's House Orphan Homes. She walked many miles with them from Chiyota to Chongwe village. It was a long road with no guarantee. When she finally made it to her destination, tired and worn, she asked for one thing: "Could my grandchildren have help going to school because they have no school shoes, books or uniforms?" Chilina is now 12 years old and in 6th grade. Juliet is 10 years old and in 4th grade. Suzen is 8 years old and in 1st grade. The highlight of their day is getting dressed in their school uniform and walking to school. Now they walk on a new path – one of hope and success! | 144

148: In loving memory of Molly Mizerak 8/18/62 - 6/1/11 "Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds." – John 12:24 | CHONGWE | My Father's House Orphan Home 7 | Est. 2012 | Molly planted a seed and God made it grow! | 145

149: 146

150: Jacob | Joseph | Idah | Mabel | 2012 | 147

151: Christine | James | Dorcas | Romario | 148

152: 2012 | 149

153: Mama Sarah | 150

154: 2012 | 151

155: 2013 | Joseph | Christine | James | 152 | Left: Mabel, Romario and Joseph receiving new shoes

156: Jacob | Romario | Mabel | Idah | Dorcas | 2013 | 153

157: 154

158: 2013 | 155 | "What's for dinner, Joseph?" | We love our kids' sense of humor!

159: 156 | Receiving sponsor gifts always puts a smile on the kids' faces! | "What's for dinner, Joseph?"

160: 157

161: 2014 | Mabel | Dorcas | Romario | Idah | James | Joseph | Christine | 158

162: "Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world." – James 1:27 | Christine and her friend Dorcas | Mabel with her friends Doreen, Suzen and Idah | 159

163: Sisters stick together and Mabel and Christine are no exception. On May 9, 2006, Mabel and Christine's father passed away leaving behind their mother with five children. Mom was unemployed and had very little resources. She could not provide for their basic needs, including giving them an education. So, she decided to move her children to a remote village in Solwezi, the capital of the North-Western Province of Zambia, where their paternal grandmother was living. But the mother stayed in Lusaka to search for a job so that she could put the children in school. Back in Solwezi, the grandmother was struggling to make ends meet and hadn't heard from the mother. Many days and even weeks passed until the grandmother told the children that their mother had died. Last year, whether out of guilt, shame or fear, the grandmother abandoned all five children. The children were left without any adult supervision, except that of their 17-year-old brother Samuel. The home was a child-head home for some months. One day, a neighbor gave Samuel some money to catch a bus to Lusaka to look for any surviving relatives. He managed to locate the mother’s younger sister in Kalingalinga. She told him, much to his surprise, that his mother was not dead. A meeting was arranged and the five children were reunited with their mother. While the reunion was a celebration, especially since the mother had started her own business and was making a little income, over time, she found that life was still not easy for a single mom of five. However, she desperately desired for her children to go to school. So, she contacted Every Orphan's Hope and pleaded with us to care for her two girls, Christine, who is now 12, and Mable, who is 9. Because of our sponsors and ministry partners, both girls are receiving their education, hoping to make their mom and three brothers proud. | Christine & Mabel | 160

164: 161

165: 162

166: Other Ministries of Every Orphan's Hope | 163 | What began as an initiative in 2003 for churches in Zambia to leverage the Body of Christ to reach orphans in their communities, has grown into an annual ministry outreach where orphans gather together to hear the Good News of Jesus Christ. Camp Hope is a week-long Bible camp where orphans are loved, fed, cared for and given hope for their futures! Four Biblical principles are introduced to the heart of the orphan: Truth, Faith, Hope and Love. By walking in these principles, an orphan who has lost everything is not only given a new perspective on life but also a new-found love for Jesus Christ.

167: 164 | Since 2003, we have hosted 7,339 orphans at Camp Hope serving them 60,300 meals and providing them with blankets, T-shirts and many hugs.

168: 165 | A business-as-missions outreach for creating sustainable income

169: 166 | We raised 24,500 chickens in 2012 and 17,500 chickens in 2013 providing jobs, income and skills training for orphans. | Chicks-4-Orphans is a poultry farm operation created in 2012 to provide sustainable local income to support our orphan care programs in Lusaka, Zambia. We buy day-old chicks, their feed, bedding, vaccinations and other essential items to raise them to their proper weight, and we sell them in the market.

170: 167 | Established by Every Orphan's Hope in 2002, Orphan Sunday is a global movement with tens of thousands of churches setting aside the first Sunday in November to pray for the orphans in their communities. Orphan Sunday has been celebrated in more than 60 countries, including churches in the North Dallas area. In 2012, Every Orphan's Hope provided 40,000 meals to orphans at an event in Lusaka, Zambia and we coordinated the distribution of 960,000 meals to orphans through participating Orphan Sunday churches. | Bangladesh | Zambia | India

171: 168 | Orphan Sunday is celebrated in 60+ countries around the world. | Pakistan | Guatemala | Nepal | China | USA

172: 169

173: These smiles are a reflection of Christ caring for and loving orphans through you. Every orphan we care for believes in the power of Christ working in you to achieve their dreams. Your prayers, encouragement and financial support are making a present and eternal difference. Thank you for coming alongside Every Orphan's Hope to raise these precious children to an abundant life in Christ. | Every Orphan's Hope Founder and President Gary Schneider with Suzen, Doreen and Idah in Chongwe on December 9, 2014. | 170 | "Be the evidence of Christ's love to everyone you meet, leave a legacy of Christ's love in everything you do!" | – Gary Schneider

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gigantic
Default User
  • By: Britney M.
  • Joined: almost 4 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 2
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Vintage Year In Review Book
  • Tags: None
  • Published: about 2 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order