Up to 50% Off! 50% Off Bestsellers + More! Code: MERRY19 Ends: 12/9 Details

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off! 50% Off Bestsellers + More! Code: MERRY19 Ends: 12/9 Details

2011 Patriot All-America

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

2011 Patriot All-America - Page Text Content

S: 2011 Patriot All-America

FC: 2011 Patriot All-America

1: INAUGURAL PATRIOT ALL-AMERICA INVITATIONAL December 26-30, 2011 The Wigwam, Arizona | FOUNDING SPONSORS PING Manufacturing Pyramid Hotel Group OTHER SPONSORS | Mission: To provide a bowl like all-star golf competition for the best collegiate players while honoring our military heroes | Alliance Beverage Antigua Group Citibank Costco NIKE | Old Pueblo Cafe Rudner Law Offices The Orthopedic Clinic The Thunderbirds Titleist

3: Honorary Chairman Jerry Colangelo joined by Luke AFB Commander, Brigadier General Jerry D. Harris greeted the players on Tuesday morning | The Opening Ceremony began with a parade of the players, standing here with the Ping bags they would carry during the championship

5: Brandel Chamblee, a former University of Texas All American was Master of Ceremonies, making introductions while the colors were flown in by the Wings of Blue team from the Air Force Academy

6: The National Anthem was sung by US Navy Petty Officer 1st Class Steven Powell

8: Jerry Colangelo's welcome, Arizona Governor's Adjutant read a proclamation given to the event, and Major Ed Pulido of the Folds of Honor Foundation set the tone for the championship

10: Each player was introduced along with the soldier being honored by his participation. (Listing follows)

11: Grand Finale for the Opening Ceremony F-16's from Luke Air Force Base

14: Each bag carried a story card of the Honoree - Players also received copies of the cards in memory of the event and the Honoree's service

16: General Harris welcomed the players to Luke AFB in a hanger with an active F-16 for viewing - Dinner was hosted by Old Pueblo Cafe

17: Ed Gowan and Folds of Honor's Major Ed Pulido drew names of the four players selected to experience the F-16 Training Simulators at Luke AFB

18: Simulator winners Mathieu Philie, Cory Whitsett, Andrew Yun and Aaron Watkins with host, "cowboy"

19: Captain Andy "Wedge" Aduddell, a three-time All American from the University of Texas, now an F-16 pilot, talked about his experiences playing the Tour, golf in general, and the opportunities for a career that led him to the Air Force

20: Up close and personal with an F-16

24: Folds of Honor's Tony Biata told the story of the first Challenge Coin, and led a ceremony where each player was presented with his own coin, exchanging with the person next to him as a symbol of the brotherhood they would now share

26: Lieutenant Colonel Sean "Fang" Canfield receives the Folds of Honor plaque on behalf of Luke AFB from Folds of Honor's Major Ed Pulido and Tony Biata | Andrew Yun presents an Honoree's bag on behalf of the GCAA

27: Each day on the first tee, the players signed the golf bags of those players in his group The "Top Five" players' trophies - hand-carved F-16 Fighter replicas

31: A SPECIAL THANKS TO THE VOLUNTEERS THAT HELPED MAKE THIS CHAMPIONSHIP A SUCCESS | Dana Blake Susan Bostock Bobby Brown Gary Burton David Campbell Roger Colehower Robin Cook Cheyenne Cook Ernie Coudert Brady Craddock Sonny Culbreth Kris Dahl Marge Dick Russ Everts Dennis Fashbaugh Rusty Findley Robert Frisbee Teri Goldade James Goldade Clay Goodman Gerald T Hammerle Kirk Harrison Sue Harrison Bill Hawks Leslie Hill Porter Hurt Timothy Johnson | Mary Ann Johnston Daniel Kim Jacob Kokinda Anthony Louisiana Roland Luthi Gary McEachern Kevin McElvain Lee Miller Robert Moeschler Pat Murray Mike Murray Emma Newcomer Jerry Padbury Robert Pippett Laurel Prill Patricia Radomski Wendy Ricke Jimmy Royle Paul Smith Catalina Valles Molly Van Marter Frank White Kennetris Wright Jarrod York

33: AWARDS PRESENTATION Top: 2nd place - Bobby Wyatt with GCAA CEO, Gregg Grost and Arizona Golf Association President, Drew Woods Left: Tied for third - Austin Cook, Julian Suri with Drew Woods Right: Tied for fifth - Paul McConnell and Joe David

34: Tournament Chair Tom O'Malley and Tony Biata of Folds of Honor present the Champion's Awards to Cory Whitsett

35: Champion: Cory Whitsett, attending University of Alabama - 199 2 Bobby Wyatt, attending University of Alabama- 202 T3 Austin Cook, attending University of Arkansas - 209 T3 Julian Suri, attending Duke University - 209 T5 Joe David, attending University of Mississippi- 210 T5 Paul McConnell, attending University of Texas at Arlington- 210

37: Photography provided by: Michael Jordan - www.MJProPix.com W Scott Mitchell Photography Tim Trumble Photography

38: PATRIOT COMMITTEE HONORARY CHAIRMEN Jerry Colangelo Senator John McCain GENERAL CHAIRMEN Tom O'Malley, JDM Partners Ed Gowan, Arizona Golf Association GENERAL COMMITTEE | Ray Artigue, Artigue Agency Gen. Dick Bethurem Kathy Ehrlich, AGA Jeff Golner, JFG Consulting Gregg Grost, GCAA Cameron Kohn, JDM | Katie Louis, GCAA Dustin Roberts, GCAA Tom Shultz, JDM Leo Simonetta, The Wigwam Ron Sites, Fighter Country Fndn Lorraine Thies, AGA | FOLDS OF HONOR Major Dan Rooney Major Ed Pulido Tony Biata COMMITTEE CO-ORDINATORS Bobby Brown Robin Cook Maureen LaMantia TOURNAMENT OPERATIONS Rick Cicci, The Wigwam Alex Tsakiris, AGA Scoreboard: Warren Simmons RULES COMMITTEE | Robin Farran, Chandler, AZ Doc Graves, Ahwatukee, AZ John Gusky, Sierra Vista, AZ Dr. Bob Hooper, Wilmington, DE Carolyn Hooper, Wilmington, DE Jim Linyard, Gilbert, AZ Sue May, Las Vegas, NV | Larry McGovern, las Vegas, NV Jim Moriarty, San Francisco, CA Art Plate, Litchfield Park, AZ John Reis, Cincinnati, OH Frank Shipman, Prescott, AZ Dennis Walsh, Maricopa, AZ

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gargantuan
Default User
  • By: Lorraine T.
  • Joined: almost 8 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 4
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: 2011 Patriot All-America
  • Photo history of inaugural Patriot All-America Invitational
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 8 years ago