Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Code: SPOOK Ends: 10/31 Details
  1. Help

Classic Mixbook

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Classic Mixbook - Page Text Content

BC: The End

FC: Autobiographical Journal | Charlene LaFreniere

1: Meet My Mom and Dad!

2: I got my height and my temperament from my mom. We tend to give the camera the exact same stink-eye.

3: I got my big eyes, nose, and not-so-straight teeth from my dad. We poke fun at each other over whose eyelashes are prettier.

4: Who would have thought that I'd end up with brown eyes and light-colored hair?! My parents don't have either of those characteristics...

5: Growing up, life was easy... | That's me!! | Anyway,

6: My parents have been happily married for 21 years now and I believe that this alone has made a BIG difference. | When I was little, my environment was: | Quiet when I needed it and loud when I wanted it. | Reassuring, safe, and loving. | Stimulating and exciting.

7: Now that I'm older, it's easier to see what effects my environment has had on me. | I'm a stable, well- | rounded person who has done well for | myself so far. I am supportive and loving, and I know how | to give and get respect.

8: According to Bronfenbrenner's Ecological Systems Theory, I had many different influences acting upon my family and I throughout my childhood. | 1. The Child | That'd be me! A healthy, easy-tempered female child. | 2. The Microsystem | This would be my family, the school that I went | to, and my friends at daycare. | 3. The Mesosystem | My parents were highly involved with my school and | pushed me to do well on my homework. I also had many | friends to play with in my neighborhoods.

9: 4. The Exosystem | 5. The Macrosystem | This would be the Air Force and the bases that I | This would be the influence of the American government | lived on, the school boards, and the parents of my friends. | and customs as well as the Japanese customs that we came | into contact with. | 6. The Chronosystem | Some important events in my life would be the moving of | my family from the U.S. to Japan, and then back. | Another significant event would be 9/11. It opened my | eyes earlier than was probably meant for me.

10: So, I was born in Princeton, West Virginia. My mom was in labor for approximately 6 hours. She tried to breastfeed me at first, but was not able to because of the stress. | While my mom was pregnant with me, my dad was serving overseas. Because I was her first child, she traveled home to West Virginia to live with my grandparents while my dad was | away.

11: Overall, I was a healthy baby girl. We only had to stay in the hospital overnight and then I was homeward bound. The only thing that was "wrong" was the fact that I had colic, but my mom said that was | stress-related.

12: My dad came home | "Da-Da" was my first word. | when I was | three months old.

13: My mom says that my favorite toy was a rattle-type cell phone that I would stick all the way in my mouth, but I don't remember it.

14: Section

15: Two

16: Early Childhood | I feel as if my brain development was mostly my mom's doing. She stayed home with me and practiced things like writing my name, learning the alphabet, and tying my shoes.

17: Of course I don't remember any of those activities - and certainly none before that time - but I would say that the fact that my parents were always there to play with me, ask me questions, and feed me made a significant contribution to my brain development.

18: My parents encouraged my sister and I to do whatever we wanted. Our interests drove our activities! | We did sedentary things like playing video games, watching movies, and playing inside (dress-up, dolls, and legos).

19: We also engaged in more active things like soccer, riding scooters, and just running around with the neighborhood kids! | You name it, we probably did it!

20: I didn't have any type of illness as a child. I was born healthy besides having colic, but that was gone in three months. | I never seriously injured myself as a child either. My sister and I ran around like little boys, but we still acted like little girls. We were always too scared to do the really stupid stuff. | I do remember wrecking my scooter once when I was racing some boys. One of them stuck his foot out in front of my scooter. I was scraped up pretty bad, but I didn't break anything or go to the hospital. It just scared me!

21: I grew at about the same rate as my peers, I was just always smaller than everyone else. I was never really affected by it though. | I've ALWAYS been shorter than my little sister... I'm just used to it!

22: Constructivist Experience | When I moved to Oklahoma in the 4th grade, I was enrolled in ACE, which was a program for "gifted" children. Once a week, a bus would pick me up from my regular elementary school and take me to ACE for the day. | Looking back now, I would say that the entire curriculum for the program was constructivist-based. We did all kinds of really fun, hands-on activities!

23: Build a dome out of clay to demonstrate the difficulty of architecture. Disect Animals to explore anatomy. Analyze poetry to encourage critical thinking skills. Participate in mock trials to develop our knowledge of the justice system. Cook to teach us that it is fun and not difficult to do; also taught us safety in the kitchen. Fencing and Rugby to expand our athletic horizons.

24: As you would expect, most of my educational experience was taught in the tradtional manner. As soon as I was out of elementary school, the program was not available to me. What really makes me sad, though, is that the ACE building was torn down a few years ago... My biggest fear is that they removed the program altogether. | Traditional Experience | A general example of the traditional teaching experience would be the way that I was taught to do multiplication.

25: My teacher would explain to us that 2 x 2 = 4 and she even explained the rationale behind it by demonstrating if for us. And that was it. Soon after, she expected us to know more and more multiplications. When she felt like we did, she quizzed us by seeing how quickly we could fill out an array of multiplication problems. There were never any hands-on activities to make it seem fun... she just expected us to know it. And if we didn't, it was up to our parents to teach us. | I may be smart, but I'm still not that good at math... !

26: The Apprentice | The Mentors | Scaffolding | One of the specific instances of scaffolding during my very young childhood included potty training.

27: My parents started me out on my skunk potty - at first they showed me how to do it and basically did it all for me. They decided when I should go, how long I should go, and they wiped for me. As I got older, though, I started to do certain things on my own. I even got to upgrade to a big girl potty when I was confident that I could handle it. I began to decide when I needed to go and so forth - the wiping part took me a while to master though. They told me that for a long time I would just yell at the top of my lungs, "I'm DONE!!!!" until they would come and finish the job for me. Eventually I learned to do it without any help!

28: Section

29: Three

30: Erikson's Psychosocial Theory | Autonomy - | Initiative - | Achieving a sense of autonomy | typically occurs from 18 months to | 3 years of age. It is characterized by the development | of independent abilities. When I was this age, I was | obsessed with driving my four-wheeler all by myself. | Initiative develops over time, showing | up from 3 - 6 years of age. Children | who show initiative devise plans and go through with | them. I built forts, piled couch cushions really high, | and made believe with legos and a play kitchen.

31: Industry - | develops from ages 6 - 11. In this stage, children seek to master the tasks and skills of everyday life. When I was this old, I learned how to use the soroban well enough to compete and win first place in a competition, I entered and did well in a spelling bee, and I worked hard to improve my drawing skills. | A sense of competency

32: James Marcia | Moratorium | I am graduating from UCO with my Bachelor's degree this spring and, like a lot of college grads, I am stuck in the middle! Should I go forward to get my Master's or go and try to find a job? I still haven't made my decision and I am running out of time!!

33: Just as Marcia explained, as a person with identity moratorium, I am very anxious and am experiencing conflict. I will take his advice that I will eventually come to a decision, although it won't be easy!

34: Moral | My parents definitely had the most influence on me. Growing up, I would have followed my parents anywhere. By the time I started hanging around others (enough to be influenced), my morals were pretty much already set in stone. I knew what kind of person I wanted to be. | Development

35: What influenced me the most was my parents' leading by example. | They told me that littering was bad, that animals deserve to be taken care of, that doing well in school was a good thing, and that I should expect others to treat me in the same way that I treat them.

36: Section

37: Four

38: When I was very young, I spent most of my time playing with my sister. She's always been my best friend. If I wasn't playing with her, I was playing with the neighbor boys who were close to me in age. We would ride four-wheelers all around our backyards. | Friendships | In middle childhood, I had a few very close female friends. Looking back, it seems like we never all hung out at once – it was always one-on-one. We all enjoyed dressing up and hanging out with each other and trusted each other with anything.

39: Overall, I kind of followed the typical pattern of friendship. It was probably unusual to have male friends in early childhood. My group of friends also increased in adolescence rather than decreased. | In adolescence, I had one best (female) friend, a few other close friends (male and female), and sometimes a boyfriend. We were all pretty similar (in looks and attitudes) and hung out together when we could.

40: When I was little, I loved to play with my Barbies, Legos, and Lincoln Logs. I played dress-up with my sister and hide-and-seek with my dad. | I liked board games, video games, and movies in middle childhood. I also found joy in attempting to build huge forts out of sheets and towers out of sofa cushions.

41: In middle childhood, my extracurricular activities were soccer, volleyball, and track (long-jump). In adolescence, I quit sports and moved on to participation in clubs like SADD, yearbook, and FCCLA.

42: Resilience | I have never really faced much adversity in my life as far as my family goes. However, the first thing that comes to mind is my struggle with math in school. I was a student who was used to doing well and not having to really apply myself because it all came so easily to me. Then I ran into multiplication and I just couldn't catch on as quickly as I usually did. It made me really upset and I wanted to just quit but my parents pushed me through it and helped me cope with the stress. I was never the fastest at doing those stupid "Times Tables but I got through them and I was proud of that.

43: The End! | Thank you Dr. James! I loved this assignment and the class was great!

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Charlene LaFreniere
  • By: Charlene L.
  • Joined: about 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 0
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Classic Mixbook
  • Tags: None
  • Started: about 5 years ago
  • Updated: almost 5 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order