Up to 50% + More! Up to 50% Everything + More! Code: JANFAVS Ends: 1/20 Details

  1. Help
Up to 50% + More! Up to 50% Everything + More! Code: JANFAVS Ends: 1/20 Details

Ancient India Review

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Ancient India Review - Page Text Content

S: a

FC: Ancient India

1: Welcome to the Mixbook technology project! As you all know technology is a big incentive for students. As we strive to keep students engaged in their learning we need some creative ways to demonstrate what they've learning. Here is one way teachers and students can create projects that are shared on the web and can be printed out as a hard copy that can be housed in the classroom, school library, or purchased by parents as a keepsake. - Bridgett McMichael

2: India is a subcontinent.

3: A subcontinent is a large landmass that is smaller than a continent. Subcontinents are usually separated from the rest of their continent by physical features.

4: The Himalaya Mountains are found in Northern India. These are the highest in the world.

5: In the Northwestern part of India is the Hindu Kush mountain range. Invaders of India found paths in the Hindu Kush to enter India.

6: Several rivers flow out of the Himalaya mountains. When heavy snow in the Himalayas melted, the Indus River flooded and left fertile silt, ideal for farming.

7: Monsoons | Seasonal wind patterns that cause wet and dry seasons. | Summer Monsoons Winds blow from the Indian Ocean, bringing heavy rains that cause flooding. | Winter Monsoons Winds blow down from the mountains forcing moisture out of India and creating warm, dry winters.

8: Sanskrit The Aryan language which influenced the development of languages that continue to be spoken in India.

9: Caste System The division of Indian society into groups based on rank, wealth, or occupation. People are born into a particular caste and remain a part of that caste all of their life. | Though there are thousands of castes and sub-castes, the five major divisions are: 1. priests/teachers (Brahmin) 2. warriors (Kshatriya) 3. merchants/farmers (Vaisya) 4. laborers (sudra) 5.Untouchables (lowest of the low. Actually considered outside the caste system and are not a caste.)

10: Hinduism is the third largest religion in the world with approximately 800 million followers. It is one of the oldest religions. There are three major points to remember: 1) Hindus believe in reincarnation, which is the belief that souls are born and reborn many times, each time in a new body.

11: 2) Hindus believe in karma, which states that a person's social position in the next life depends on his/her conduct in the present life. 3) Hindus believe in dharma, which provides a code of duties or set of moral and ethical rules governing the conduct of each social class.

12: Hindu believers worship 3 main gods - Brahma the Creator, Vishnu the Preserver, and Shiva the Destroyer, and that people live many lives until they reach spiritual perfection. | Brahma | Vishnu | Shiva

13: Jainism is an Indian religion based on the teachings of Mohavira. It teaches that all life is sacred.

14: Fasting is the practice of going without food for a period of time.

15: MEDITATION | Deep continued thought that focuses the mind on spiritual ideas.

16: Buddhism is a religion based on the teachings of the Buddha that developed in India in 500 B.C. Today there are more than 300 million Buddhists. Siddhartha Gautama was a prince of kingdom in what is now Nepal. He had led a sheltered life until he realized that he wanted to end human suffering. He left his possessions and kingdom to meditate a resolution.

17: Siddhartha became the "Enlighened One"or Buddha after meditating under a tree for many weeks. During meditation he became "enlightened" with Four Noble Truths and the Eightfold Path in search of nirvana, a state of perfect peace. He began teaching others. Once he truly understood the cause of sorrow, he could begin to free people from their suffering. | Buddhism spread throughout India into China through missionaries and traders.

18: The Four Noble Truths 1) The Noble Truth of Suffering Life is full of suffering, sickness and unhappiness. 2) The Noble Truth of the Cause of Suffering People suffer for one simple reason: they desire things. It is greed and self-centeredness which bring about suffering. 3) The Noble Truth of the End of Suffering It is possible to end suffering if one is aware of his/her own desires and puts an end to them.The door to lasting peace will open. 4) The Noble Truth of the Path By changing one's thinking and behavior, a new awakening can be reached. This is the Middle Way.

19: The Eightfold Path * Right Understanding - strive to understand the Four Noble Truths. *Right of Thought - think kindly of others. *Right of Speech - speak kindly and truthfully. *Right of Action - act kindly to all living things. *Right of Work - have a vocation that does not harm others. *Right of Effort - be determined to cleanse the mind. *Right of Mindfulness - be fully aware of what you are doing with concern for others. *Right of Concentration - intensely concentrate during meditation to focus on being one with any situation.

20: That is the end of our review on Ancient India. I hope you enjoyed this book and found it to be helpful! Thank you!

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gargantuous
Bridgett McMichael
  • By: Bridgett M.
  • Joined: about 9 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Ancient India Review
  • Intro. to Mixbook and reviewing ancient India vocabulary terms.
  • Tags: None
  • Published: about 9 years ago