Up to 55% off sitewide! Code: ANNUAL18 Ends: 3/19 Details

Animal Classification

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Animal Classification - Page Text Content

FC: The Animal Kingdom

1: Domains Most people don't know this, but the animal Kingdom isn't that simple. In fact, it can be a little complicated. Firstly, the King- | dom, in it's entirety, is divided into three major parts, called domains. While the titles of the domains might fool you, dont be tricked by the names. The three domains are The Archaea, Bacteria, and Eukarya, and each are defined and classified by their own special traits.

2: Archaea The first domain in the animal kingdom, which also happened to be the first domain to occur in earth's history are the Archaea. The Archaea are one-celled, but the strange thing about the Archaea is that they lived in the hellish conditions that resemble early earth such as on oceanic vents or in extremely salty water.

3: Bacteria The second domain in the animal kingdom is a more well known group, the Bacteria. They are extremely simple and prokaryotes, which mean they have no nucleus, therefore they are single-celled. They are very similar to Archaea, except they cannot survive in harsh climates.

4: Eukaryotes When we think of life, we are usually thinking of Eukaryotes. This domain contains all multicellular organisms, which includes plants, fungi, and animals along with other less well known organisms. | Eukaryotes When we think of life, we are usually thinking of Eukaryotes. This domain contains all multicellular organisms, which includes plants, fungi, and animals along with other less well known organisms.

5: Fungus Family

6: Fungi Fungi are relatively similar to plants because they get their nutrients from the ground up. However, unlike plants, fungi cells contain no chloroplasts, therefore they need no sunlight. Also, since they have no chloroplasts, the produce no oxygen and no glucose. They get their energy from the soil and animal remains that they grow on. Another major difference from the Planteae family reproduces through spores in their surface, not through seeds.

8: Plantaea

10: Plantaea Plant cells contain some unique organelle that identify the Plantaea Kingdom. One of them is the chloroplast. The chloroplast is an especially small organelle. It takes in sunlight and carbon dioxide from the air and soil and turns it into sugar to power the plant itself. One byproduct of this interaction is oxygen. The other special organelle is the cell wall. The cell wall gives the cell a brick like shape, helping each cell fit into each other individual cell which helps the plant stand erect.

12: Protists

13: Protists are usually unicellular organisms. They are most commonly found in colonies. If, on a rare occasion, protists are multicellular organisms, they will never have specialized cells, which means no distinct organs and visible parts outside of the cells.

14: This is a Celliate. It is a simple and ancient protists. It happens to be unicellular.

15: This is a Zooflagellate. To humans and other mammals, it is a parasite. It is multicellular.

16: Monerans

18: Monerans are of the simplest of life forms. They are prokaryotic, meaning they always consist of one cell and have no nucleus. Some produce their own food, much like plants, and others rely on diffusion for their essential nutrients.

20: The Five Vertebrate Classes

22: Amphibians

24: Amphibians are cold blooded. They are born in the water in a simple form and metamorphose into a land animal. They fall under the kingdom of Animalia, this means that they are eukaryotic, multicellular, and have a brain.

25: Western Spadefoot Toad

26: Fish

27: A lionfish

28: Fishes are cold blooded. They are born as eggs and live in the water for their entire life. They breathe solely through their gills and cannot breathe any gas of any form. Fish include sharks but not dolphins, which are mammals.

29: A grouper at the Georgia Aquarium.

30: Reptiles

32: Reptiles are much like Amphibians. They are cold blooded, four-legged, and lay eggs. However, reptiles are usually covered in scales, only breathe air, and aren't born with gills.

33: A Nile Crocodile

34: Birds

36: Birds (Aves), are warm blooded, lay eggs, and always have wings. Although some birds are flightless, all have wings. Almost all birds are two-legged while some are tetrapods. There are almost 100,000 known species of bird.

37: North Island Kiwi.

38: Mammals

39: European Hedgehog

40: Mammals are the only class of vertebrates to give birth to live young. They are warmblooded, never can fly and only few live in water. Humans are mammals, along with dogs, cats and other well known species.

41: Labrador Retriever.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Default User
  • By: AMR
  • Joined: about 8 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Animal Classification
  • Supplying an easy way to learn the Animal Kingdom.
  • Tags: None
  • Published: about 8 years ago