Up to 50% Off! $19 deals + up to 50% off! Code: SUNNY19 Ends: 8/21 Details

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off! $19 deals + up to 50% off! Code: SUNNY19 Ends: 8/21 Details

Articles of Confederation

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Articles of Confederation - Page Text Content

S: Articles of Confederation

BC: The End! | Period 4 Fredericks

FC: Articles of Confederation | By: Amy Chang

1: November 15, 1777 | Preamble | Where the delegates of New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, North and South Carolina, and Georgia assembled to agree to certain articles of Confederation and perpetual Union.

2: Article 1 | The style of this Confederacy shall be "The Unite States of America". | Caption: The colonies in pink show the states newly formed. | Confederate Flag

3: Each state retains its freedom, power, jurisdiction, independence, and right. | Article 2 | State succession

4: Article 3 | States enter into a league of friendship; to defend, protect, and help one another in times of war and general welfare.

5: Free inhabitants of each state are granted free citizens in all of the states. If a person guilty has fled the state and has been found in another state, the person shall be charged under the state in which he fled. | Article 4

6: Article 5 | Each state must annually send more than 2 but less than 7 delegates to Congress on the first Monday of November.

7: Article 6 | No state shall enter or engage in war without the consent of Congress

8: Article 7 | All offices of or under the rank of colonel shall be appointed by the legislature of each state respectively.

9: Article 8 | All expenses and charges due to war of the common defense shall be payed out of a treasury

10: Article 9 | A system of settling disputes between states in which Congress has a part over currency; forbade Congress to declare war, coin money, borrow money, or negotiate alliances without consent of the majority of the states.

11: Article 10 | Execution of larger authorities. | The committee of the states or 9 of the states, is authorized to execute, in the recess of Congress.

12: Article 11 | Canada shall be admitted to and entitled to all the advantages of the Union. No other state shall be unless approved by 9 states.

13: Article 12 | All money borrowed and debts received, under the authority of Congress, without approval of the United States shall be considered a charge against the United States.

14: Article 13 | Every state shall abide by the determination of the United States assembled in Congress.

15: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania July 9, 1778 | Signatories | Signatories: Josiah Bartlett- New Hampshire John Hancock- Massachusetts Bay William Ellery- Rhode Island Samuel Huntington- Connecticut James Duane- New York Jno Witherspoon- New Jersey Robt Morris- Pennsylvania Nicholas Van Dyke- Delaware Daniel Carroll- Maryland Richard Henry Lee- Virginia Corns Harnett- North Carolina Henry Laurens- South Carolina Edwd Telfair- Georgia

Sizes: mini|medium|large|massive
Default User
  • By: Amy C.
  • Joined: almost 9 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Articles of Confederation
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 9 years ago