Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Up to 50% Off + 10% Off Sitewide! Code: HARVEST Ends: 11/18 Details
Apply

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Up to 50% Off + 10% Off Sitewide! Code: HARVEST Ends: 11/18 Details
Apply

The Real World

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

The Real World - Page Text Content

FC: By: Breanna Dulaney

1: Table of Contents | About the Author........................2-3 Education...............................................4 Profession.............................................5 City Overview.................................6-7 Standard Living............................8-9 Household Items.......................10-11 Transportation............................12-13 Grocery List..................................14-15 Entertainment & Misc...........16-17 Budget Reflection....................18-19

2: About the Author | Breanna Dulaney is a student at Oxford High School. She enjoys cheerleading, spending time with friends, and attending retreats with her church. When it comes to writing, Breanna likes to write about anything that appeals to her, such

3: as different types of fiction. She finds the most challenging part of writing to be coming up with new ideas that keep the reader interested. When Breanna gets older, she hopes to become a successful pediatric dermatologist and be able to provide for herself without having to ask for much help. | Her advice for students that will be entering the 9th grade next year is, "Study hard because it's not as easy as it seems and every grade counts."

4: Education | I attended Vanderbilt University, which is located in Nashville, Tennessee. There, I majored in Health Care. I had previously chosen Vanderbilt because it fulfills the requirements needed for the degree I pursued. I am now looking for a promising job as a pediatric dermatologist. I chose this profession | because I love working with children and am interested in skin health.

5: Profession | Some of the key responsibilities of this job include treating conditions related to the skin in children and educating them how to best care for their skin, hair, and nails. The annual salary I will be earning is $279,000. My | ultimate goal in this profession is to research and prepare others to succeed in this rewarding field.

6: City Overview | Now that I have graduated, I plan to move to New York City, New York. I chose to live here because it is a large metropolitan area and full of different opportunities for me.

7: New York City is located in the northeastern U.S. in southeastern New York state. Geographical features surrounding the city include the Hudson River and Staten Island. It is close to Elmont, New York; Hoboken, New Jersey; and Valley Stream, New York. The overall population of N.Y.C. is approximately 8.7 million. | The primary forms of entertainment in N.Y.C. include numerous events in Times Square, Broadway, and Madison Square Garden. You can attend many activities in these areas. Most people in New York City work in the office/ production industry. Crime in this city is high, but has indeed decreased in the previous years.

8: Standard Living

9: I am going to live at The Addison Apartments, located at 225 Schermerhorn St., Brooklyn, NY 11201. The rent for the apartment I will be living in in $2,795 per month. In order to move in, I will need to pay $250 deposit for security and other fees. | Some features of this apartment include a dishwasher, microwave, satellite TV, and a washer/dryer. Other bills I will need to pay each month include water, electricity and home/cell phone service.

10: Household Items

11: The apartment I chose came equipped with a refrigerator, stove, washer, and dryer. Therefore, I had to purchase items such as a kitchen table and chairs, dresser, bed sheets, towels, and pillows. With the assistance of my graduation present, it cost $700.85. This amount gave | me additional money for the month. The majority of these funds were spent on things such as groceries and entertainment. Some of my priorities in furnishing my apartment were cooking utensils and an ironing board. Some things that I had to do without were a computer and a desk.

12: Transportation

13: At this point, I cannot afford a car. Instead of a car, I chose to take the subway as my form of transportation. Taking the subway will cost me $7.50 per day and $167.00 per month. I am fine with taking this form of transportation.

14: Grocery List

15: My total grocery bill for this month was $299.00. I purchased items in the following categories: Dairy ($24), Snacks ($28), Hygiene ($104), Perishables ($118), and Other ($24). The majority of my funds were spent in the Perishables category because a lot of the food I bought comes with an expiration date. I believe that this list will be sufficient in | feeding myself for a full month. In drafting this grocery list, I learned that what I will need to buy to feed myself will cost more than I had previously thought.

16: Entertainment & Miscellaneous

17: After paying all of my monthly bills, I have $801.37 remaining to spend on entertainment and miscellaneous items. I have chosen to set aside money for the following: Savings ($400) in case I need extra money, Home Maintenance ($100) in case something breaks, Fast Food ($50) in case I don't want to eat at home, Hair/Salon | Service ($30) in case I need a haircut, Entertainment ($70) in case I participate in activities with my friends, Clothing ($75) in case I need to purchase a new outfit for an activity, and Shoes ($30) in case I need a new pair. After making allocations for this section, my final budget total is $46.37.

18: Budget Reflection

19: While preparing this budget, I learned that you have to account for a lot of things as an adult that you don't have to worry about when you're young. I didn't expect to learn that adults have to spend money on the littlest things that I take for granted everyday. I think that this project, in addition to my "Roadmap to Success," has helped me prepare myself for life after high school because I now know what to | expect in my future life as an adult. After preparing this budget and realizing all financial responsibilities of an adult, I am still ready to move out and be on my own. I know it will be hard, but according to this project, I will be able to get by with the things I need.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|massive
Default User
  • By: Breanna D.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: The Real World
  • Career Preparedness Project
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago