Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Up to 50% Off + 10% Off Sitewide! Code: HARVEST Ends: 11/18 Details
Apply

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Up to 50% Off + 10% Off Sitewide! Code: HARVEST Ends: 11/18 Details
Apply

The Real World

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

The Real World - Page Text Content

BC: Produced by: Makayla Lowery

FC: The Real World | By: Makayla Lowery

1: About the Author: | Makayla Lowery is a 9th grade student at Oxford High School. She enjoys playing basketball, being with my friends, and shopping. When it comes to sports Kayla likes to play basketball, and is playing basketball for OHS. Makayla finds the most challenging part of playing to be working out and staying in shape. When Makayla gets older, she hopes to be an Orthodontists. Kayla's advice for students that will be entering the 9th grade next year is to always stay on task and do what you are supposed to do in order to meet your goals.

2: Table Of Content | Education & Profession...........4-5 City Overview......................6-7 Standard Living....................8-9 House Hold Items...............10-11

3: Transportation................12-13 Grocery List....................14-15 Entertainment & Miscellaneous..................16-17 Budget Reflection.............18-19 | Table Of Content

4: Education | I attended Auburn University It is located in Montgomery, Alabama. I chose this university because my majors are offered at this school, this university has many different student organizations on campus, and it is not far from home. I majored in Dentistry I am now looking for a job as an Orthodontist. I chose this profession because I am interested in what they do. The average student population is 27,047. The tuition estimated would be $28,098. This profession has opportunities . To pursue this career I will move to Florida.

5: Profession | Some key responsibilities for this job would be to examine, diagnose, and treat dental problems. The annual salary is $3.11 per hour. My ultimate goal is to be the best that I can and help as many people with there problems. Some requirements are a Bachelor's degree, training and a license. This job does have medical benefits. My plan B job is a Marriage and Family Therapists.

6: City | Now that I have graduated, I plan to move to Miami, Florida. I chose to live in this city because it seems like a nice place to live with a lot of warm weather.This city is located on Southern tip of Florida. The overall population of this city is 409,719. It is close to Kendall, Homestead, and Fort Lauderdale. The primary forms of entertainment in this city are beaches, clubs, and NBA basketball games.

7: Overview | Most people in this city work in the Construction labors industry. Crime in this city is at a medium level. Average income per family is 19,747 The recent unemployment rate is 9.2%. The levels of precipitation in this city varies.

8: Standard Living

9: I will staying at Bay Parc Apartments 1756 North Bayshore Dr, Miami, FL 33132. I chose to stay here because it was in my price range and it come with a lot of features. In order to move in, I will need to pay a $750.00 deposit fee, and a $75.00 fee. Rent for this apartment is $1,549. Some of the features of this apartment are air conditioning, Internet, satellite TV, washer, dryer, and a refrigerator. Other bills I will have to pay are the lights, electricity, and water bill.

10: Household Items

11: The apartment that I chose came equipped with a refrigerator, a washer, a dryer, and a stove. Therefore, I had to purchase a kitchen table, chairs, a desk, pots, pans, towels, and pillows. With the assistance of my graduation present I was able to have more money to spend with getting things for my apartment. This amount gave me an additional $1,333.83 for the month. The majority of these funds were spent on furniture and appliances. Some of my priorities in furnishing my apartment were to get all the items that i would necessarily need. Somethings that I had to do without were tray tables, end tables, laundry basket, and a ironing board.

12: Transportation | At this point of the project I can afford transportation. Hyundai Sonata as a form of transportation. This cars total cost is $20,599. My monthly payments will be $474.38. It will take me 48 months at an ARP rate of 5%. The total I will pay in the end is 22,770.24. The interest of this car will be $2,171.24. I chose this car because it was one I can afford, it is nice and fairly new.

14: Grocery | My total grocery list was $270.00. I purchased items in the following categories: Lunch ($37.00), Dinner ($51.00), Breakfast ($68.00), Home ($85.00), and Snacks ($28.00). A majority of my funds were spent in the Home category because I need cleaning supplies along with personal hygiene supplies.

15: List | I believe the grocery list will be sufficient in feeding me for a full month. In drafting this grocery list , I learned that shopping for groceries can be very expensive. I also learned that it takes much more than you think to feed yourself for a month. There is more to just shopping for groceries as well.

16: Entertainment & Miscellaneous

17: After paying all of my monthly bills, I have $3,836.43 left to spend on entertainment & miscellaneous items. I chose to leave $500.00 out for savings because I need to save money. I took another $500.00 out for both home maintenance and vehicle maintenance because anything can happen or break. I took $100.00 out for fast food because it adds up and I like to eat out a lot. I barely get my hair done or go to the salon because I don't care to much for it but I took out $75.00 dollars just in case I need to or I just want to all of a sudden. I took $100.00 out for entertainment because I love going out on weekends. Clothing and shoes come together to be $400.00 because I love to shop and I always need/ want new clothes and shoes. After making allocations for these things i have a remaining of $1,661.43.

18: Budget Reflection | The majority of my money was spent in the home section because I needed more in this section. I spent the least money in Health & Personal Care because there is not much needed there. In my original budget I didn't encounter any unexpected expenses. Without the extra money from my graduation gift i still would have money remaining. I had money left for savings and entertainment. While preparing this budget I learned that it is more to managing money than it seems. I learned that it isn't easy keeping track of all your money.

19: As money come it sure goes. The things that you need always come first. This project has helped me for life after high school. I have learned how to manage money and what its really like with living on your own.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gargantuous
Default User
  • By: Makayla L.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: The Real World
  • Career Preparedness 4th period
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago