Up to 50% Off + MORE! Code: TREAT Ends: 10/24 Details
  1. Help

Our Adoption Story

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Our Adoption Story - Page Text Content

BC: Trust in the Lord with all of your heart.... | He will make your paths straight. Prov 3:5-6

FC: Our Story

1: Dear Birth-mother and Birth-father, Hi! Our names are Heather and Ryan. We want to thank you for taking the time to learn more about us. We would like to start by expressing our deepest respect and admiration for you right now. We can't imagine the feelings you have or will experience in this decision. We hope that this book will give you a glimpse of who we are and who we hope to be as parents.

2: Ryan | Ryan has brown hair and brown beautiful eyes. He is 39 years old and has a Bachelors of Art in Psychology. He is also seeking an Associate Degree to be a Physical Therapist Assistant Degree at Ivy Tech. He currently works as a direct support professional at a group home for the elderly. He works approximately 32 hours a week.

3: Heather has blonde hair and hazel eyes. She is 34 years old and has a Bachelors of Science in Youth, Adult, and Family Services with a specialization in child health. She has worked at Purdue University and Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis in the Grant Office to help researchers find funding to fight health diseases. She works 40 hours a week. Her ultimate goal is to be a stay-at-home mom. If she does work full or part-time, childcare will be provided by a church daycare or Goddard School. | Heather

4: Ryan by Heather | Ryan is a very compassionate and loving person. He is a very old soul and gives everyone the benefit of the doubt when it comes to friendships. Ryan has experienced some major life changes. In 1997, Ryan was in a severe car accident that put him in a coma for 34 days. It is a miracle he is walking, talking, and driving. I think this is where Ryan gets his compassion and love for life in general. He is optimistic on everything in life and has the can do attitude. He loves God and sees God in every aspect of life.

5: Heather by Ryan | Heather is an answer to prayers in my life. I was first attracted to the fact that she said she strived to be more Christ-like in her daily walk. She has a very sincere heart and soul, and is passionate about her Christian faith. She is loved by everyone that meets her, including my family who took her in as a member of the family from the beginning. Heather is very family oriented and adores children. Her favorite weekend activities includes spending time with her nephew (age 4) and her niece (age 2). She is a hard worker and puts 110% effort into performing a task correctly the first time.

6: Our Church | We attend Hazel Dell Christian Church, which is non-denominational church with around 1,208 members. We live about 10 miles away and love all the people there. We love the contemporary services and Sunday School classes they offer. Our church has just built a brand new children's wing that is going to help teach the children of this church.

7: Small Group | Our faith is very important to us and being in a small group has made it grow even more by the Bible studies completed by our groups. We have been so blessed by these fellow brothers and sisters in Christ.

8: Ryan's Family | Ryan, his sister Heather, and Grandma Gene | Ryan and Grandpa Morr | Ryan and his mom, Maudena | Ryan, his dad John, and Hunter, his niece

9: My parents divorced when I was 5 years old. I never heard my parents fight, and felt that we had a loving family; things just did not work out with them. I was not raised in a Christian home, but I remember saying prayers before I went to bed each night. From age 5 I lived with my mother and younger sister. Around age13, I moved in with my father. It was also around this age that my mother, who accepted Christ as her savior a few months earlier, invited me to her church. It was this church visit that led me to accept Jesus as my personal savior. The loving support I received from both parents shaped me into the God-fearing man that I am to this day. I have a rather large extended family and enjoy a day spent conversing with aunts, uncles, and cousins.

10: Heather's Family | Zimmerman Family Reunion | Dad, Mom, Heidi, Rob, Van, Ryan, Heather, and Zuriel | Grandpa Gene and Grandma | Grandma and Grandpa Snyder

11: My parents were and are very involved in my life. I look up to them because they have been through a lot together. They have been married for 35 years. During my childhood and today, our family has a yearly reunion and hang out together for holidays. In my childhood, we would go to visit my Grandparents in Pennsylvania, where my mom is from, and spend Christmas with them. We always make cookies for Christmas to share with family and friends. My parents have instilled in me a great work ethic, compassion for others, honesty, and the love of God. My parents had their disagreements; however, they always tried to work things out by talking and discussing things in private. They would never argue in front of me or my sister. Once I graduated from high school in May 1995, I went on to Purdue University to study Accounting; however, after three years in this major I felt God leading me in a different direction. I switched my major in 2001 to child development and graduated in May of 2003. I learned a lot about myself during my college years.

12: Our house | Our Family Room | Baby Ideas | Girls | Boys | Baby's Room

13: Our home | Our beautiful fenced backyard | Our Patio, which would be turned into a playroom. | We have lived in this house for about 3 years and absolutely love the neighborhood and atmosphere. Our house is in the Hamilton Southeastern School system. There are tons of activities to do and there are many children in our neighborhood. The park across the street has walking/riding paths, a playground, and many ball fields. Our house has 3 bedrooms, a loft, and 2.5 bathrooms.

15: The Playground across the street. | Sign to Holland Park and recreation center | Baseball/Softball Fields | Our Neighborhood | Parades

16: Our Pets | This is Ruby, our 2 year old Bullmastiff. She is super sweet. She looks ferocious; however she is a big teddy bear.

17: This is Penny, our 14 year old Beagle. She is very sweet. | This is Lincoln, our 5 year old Sharpei/Lab mix. He is a very good boy and very gentle. | Our dogs have been around many children and are really good around them. For example, if the children cry in pain, they come to make sure they are okay.

19: Ryan and I love to hang out with friends and family in our spare time and weekends.

20: Ryan's Hobbies | Some of Ryan's hobbies: Aquarium keeping Reading books Writing Bowling Fitness Watching movies Computer and video games Relaxing with Heather and our dogs

21: Heather's Hobbies | Some of Heather's hobbies: reading books cross-stitching bowling in the church league playing Fantasy Football watching movies working out at the gym and the best of all is relaxing at home with Ryan and our dogs.

22: Our Marriage

23: We met in December 2005 through a dating service. We had our first date on December 24th. We went and saw King Kong and went to a Japanese Steakhouse. Our marriage is very strong and faith based. We have been through many trials in our short 4 year marriage. We have very good communication skills but always try to improve on this because I think this is one of the most important things that keep a marriage together. We are a great team and work together to make all of the major decisions. The family responsibilities are divided evenly between us including dog duties, lawn work, and eventually the baby duties. Our family goal is to raise a child to love God and bring them up in a Christian home.

24: Ryan's Previous Marriage | My previous marriage lasted for only about a year and a half. I do not think that during that time I was unable to connect emotionally with her. After we took a week long vacation, she announced to me that she put a down payment on an apartment, and that she was moving out. She claimed she needed space to think things through. She filed for divorce a few weeks later. I do not have any children as a result of the first marriage. This previous marriage has taught me how crucial it is to bond emotionally with your spouse. I feel I can tell my wife anything; she is my best friend. I thank God every day for blessing me with a woman as wonderful as she is.

25: Parenting/Discipline | Our parenting and discipline style comes from a Christian perspective. We also plan to go to as many parenting classes as we can because you can never learn enough about parenting or disciplining a child. We would definitely try to use time-outs over corporal punishment to discipline our child. Good discipline in our view promotes confidence and self-esteem. It also promotes the knowledge of what is right and wrong with certain behavior. We would also find ways to promote what our child likes to do and find out what they hold most important to them. We would raise them to be a productive, caring, Christian adult that will value human lives and work to make the world a better place.

26: Why Adoption? | We started thinking about adoption due to infertility issues that have plagued us for three years to no avail. We figured that since we couldn't have one of our own we decided mutually to seek adoption. We were diagnosed with unexplained infertility and Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome was part of the problem as well. We currently are not actively trying to conceive at this time. Both of our parents and extended family are very supportive. They would freely accept any child whether biological or adopted in to the family with open arms. Ryan's step-mom was adopted as well. Our view of the birthparents is that they should be a part of the child's life so they can find out about where they came from and any health issues that may need to be addressed. We would be fully supportive of our child to search for their birthparents if that is what they really felt led to do.

27: Ryan's Work History | Heather's Work History | After graduating with my bachelor's in 1995, I spent almost two years working as a counselor for an alternative school. I also have experience working with juvenile justice as an intake probation officer. I currently work full time in a group home which houses elderly consumers. I am in pursuit of my associates degree to become a physical therapy assistant. My ultimate goal being to help others who are victims of trauma in their life. | I have worked at Purdue University from 2001 to 2003. When I got married, I found a job in 2007 where I stayed in the same department for approximately 3.5 years and then I just was hired on in the department of Ophthalmology beginning in 2010 to present. I fully intend on taking my full FMLA leave when we adopt our child.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|jumbo
Heather Morr
  • By: Heather M.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Our Adoption Story
  • This is our autobiographical guide for adoption.
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order