Enjoy up to 50% Off + MORE! Code: MOMSHIP Ends: 4/23 Details

Ben Mikaelsen

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Ben Mikaelsen - Page Text Content

S: Seasons of Change

FC: Ben Mikaelsen | by: Olivia Haston

1: 1952, Ben Mikaelsen was born in La Paz, Bolivia.

2: While living in South America Mikaelsen new the sting of racial comments. Mikaelsen would be shoved in mud and called a "gringo." This was because he was a white boy living in Mexico and wasn't like all the other kids.

3: Mikaelsen moved to the United States in the seventh grade.

4: This transition was tough because Mikaelsen's strongest language was Spanish.

5: Yes, Mikaelsen did have many struggles with his English, but he loved to hide under his covers at night and write new ideas for his story's.

6: Not until college did Mikaelsen discover that his desire was to be a full time writer. Mikaelsens English professor encouraged him to follow his dreams.

7: Mikaelsen loves his family, nature, and his bear Buffy who he has raised for the past 21 years!

8: Mikaelsen realized nature was the heart of his story. This is why he has many books based on the wild.

9: Ever since Mikalesen found this about him self he began taking adventures all around the world!

10: These trips included the Florida Keys, South America, and the North Pole.

11: Mikaelsen loves his family, nature, and his 750 pound bear, Buffy. He has been raising Buffy for the past 20 years!

12: Mikalesen began writing full time in 1984. His first book was Rescue Josh McGuire.

13: After six years and 127 rejections Mikaelsens first book, Rescue Josh McGuire, was published.

14: Stranded, Countdown, Petey, Tree Girl, Touching Spirit Bear, Ghost Of Spirit Bear, And Rescue Josh McGuire are all part of Mikalesens collection!

15: Touching Spirit Bear is about a teenage boy Cole who is constantly getting in trouble. He beats a young boys head into a side walk and has to be sent to a year banishment on an Alaskan Island.

16: At first, Cole hates the island, Garvey, Edwin, and the Spirit Bear most. Cole is so frustrated that the Spirit Bear wont show and emotion of being afraid of Cole so he decides to kill the bear. But, it didn't end up the way Cole wanted.

17: Cole gets mauled by the bear and soon after begins to trust it. Garvey finds Cole in his own pile of waist and gives him another shot on the island.

18: This time on the island Cole finds out a lot about him self. He learns to be invisible, to dance the dances of life around a camp fire, and he learns how to get rid of his anger.

19: This presentation contains copyrighted material used under educational fair use exemption to U.S Copyright law. (simpson70)

21: 2011

22: Warm & Cozy

23: wonderland | Dashing Through the Snow

25: Home is where there's someone to love, and someone to love us.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Default User
  • By: olivia h.
  • Joined: almost 6 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Ben Mikaelsen
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 6 years ago