Up to 50% Off + MORE! Code: TREAT Ends: 10/24 Details
  1. Help

A Year In Review

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

A Year In Review - Page Text Content

S: 2007-2008

FC: 2007-2008 | . | .

2: { DATING }

3: March-June 2007

5: { | { | Engagement | We drove to AZ around May 2007 so I could meet my soon-to-be father-in-law and so Jon could prepare for his upcoming nursing school courses. On the drive down, we stopped by the red sand dunes on the side of the highway.

6: Mom & Dad took us to the Museum of Natural History

7: When we got home, Mom taught me how to make tortillas | We also visited the Memorial in Phoenix. It was my first time in such a hot climate. We took photos to show off my new engagement ring

8: Jon's family put together an amazing bridal shower at Grandma & Grandpa Hess's house. We had a delicious brunch, and then played games and I opened presents while the guys hung out downstairs.

9: One of the games involved guessing spices by smell alone. Blanca, Grandma Hess, and I all tied. After the presents, Jon was allowed to come upstairs and give me one kiss for each bow or ribbon I had received.

10: July 19, 2007

11: On Sept 15, 2007, we went to the Hare Krishna temple in Spanish Fork for the IndiaFest. This lady was amazing, and she danced for about 10 minutes straight. We had a very fun time.

12: 10-11-2007

13: Nov 24, 2007 We went to visit Jon's parents for Thanksgiving. While we were there, I had my first experience shooting guns. And what a gun to start with!

15: We also got to visit Mike & Mary's house and have an informal family reunion with the Gardeas!

16: I came home from school one day to find that Jon and Alicia had decorated the apartment for Christmas! The only light in the apartment came from multi-colored lights and candles. The warm glow was beautiful. What a great Christmas gift!

17: Christmas 2007

18: J O Y

21: Alicia and I got to take a tap dancing class together on Monday nights in Provo during the Fall of 2007. We had a small class, and we really liked it. It was great for spending time together as new sisters. Jon came to our class one night to watch and to document our success by taking pictures.

22: For Valentines' Day 2008, I made an anagrammed pillow for each of "the boys."

23: We loved our apartment. We got to live in the attic apartment of the Mayor's Mansion in Provo, south of BYU campus. It was built in 1898 and much of it was original. We added Hughbert, Jeffrey, Sherwood, and Gilbert to our little family.

24: As the time neared for our move to AZ, Jon began his research on buying a motorcycle and all the safety gear he'd have to wear. He got the best we could find, including a pair of pants that we ordered all the way from France. Despite their price, on top of the large customs bill, we felt it was worth it.

25: We loved living in Provo, especially since we had so many family members living nearby. We had dinner every Sunday at Bret & Nora's house, and we had a dinner group between us, Isaac & Camber, and Sean & Catherine. We also got to visit Becky and Richard once in a while. | Simon & Emily

26: I got to work for the Pierce family by being an ABA tutor for their son, Luke. I started January 2007 and worked 5-6 days/week until I graduated in May 2008 and moved to AZ. For the '07-'08 school year, I went with Luke to preschool. I had a lot of fun. I especially loved seeing the children in all their Halloween costumes.

27: For a Psychology class assignment, I set up a booth in the main ballroom of the Wilkinson Student Center explaining ABA therapy.

28: On graduation day, the weather was very dynamic. It actually snowed on us before the sun came out. I hadn't known how many students were in the college of Family Home and Social Sciences. My graduating class was huge. Jon said we'd go out to eat donuts if I escaped from the ceremony early, so I did. We were all so glad we didn't have to sit through the reading of all those names.

30: After my graduation, we moved in with Jon's parents in AZ. We spent a few days preparing his old room. Among other things, we found a ton of stuffed animals. Here is Teddy 1 and Teddy 2, who were dear childhood friends of Jon's. | Jon was brave enough to let me try to cut his hair for him. But first, some fun with black eyeliner.

31: About a month after our move, I started a job at State Farm, while Jon worked a few more months with Wilcox Associates as a computer tech. In the fall, he started Nursing school at Maricopa Community College. We enjoyed being in the Grandview Ward, where we quickly made lots of friends. One of our first ward activities was a picnic in June. It was pretty hot out already, but we still had lots of fun. | We created our own dance routine for a ward talent show. It was so much fun./I showcased some of my Irish dancing as Jon stole my thunder with his own kind of dance.

32: Hess Family Reunion Payson Lakes, UT

33: MONSOON! The warm rain was irresistibly fun!

34: anniversary | happy | 07-19-2008

35: I love you!

Sizes: mini|medium|large|ginormous
Default User
  • By: Rachel G.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 0
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: A Year In Review
  • Tags: None
  • Started: about 5 years ago
  • Updated: almost 5 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order