Up to 50%! 50% Off Favorites + More! Code: AUTUMN19 Ends: 10/21 Details

  1. Help
Up to 50%! 50% Off Favorites + More! Code: AUTUMN19 Ends: 10/21 Details

Brendlinger Portfolio

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Brendlinger Portfolio - Page Text Content



1: Dear Birthparent(s) Thank you for giving us the opportunity to introduce ourselves. We can't pretend to understand what you are going through, but we do understand what an enormous heart and immensely selfless love you must have for your child. Our names are John and Chris. We have been married for 12 years, and we have an amazing 9 year old boy named Jared. We also have 2 dogs named Keeva and Mandi, who we treat like our furry children. Being parents to Jared is beyond a doubt our greatest joy in life. Family is our most valued treasure. We relish the times when we can all be together; going for walks with the dogs, riding bikes, playing games, or just hanging out together. We love the outdoors, and take long weekends to the mountains whenever we can. We have always had the dream of adding another child to our family. Jared also can't wait to be a big brother. He comments daily on all the things he's going to teach and share with his brother or sister. We feel so blessed to be setting out on this journey of adoption, and are overjoyed at the prospect of adding a precious gift to our family. Thank you again for taking a peek into our lives. We truly admire your courage and strength, and although we have never met, we are praying for you every day. Warmly, John and Chris

2: John & Chris | John and I worked for the same company when we first met. At first we developed a friendship because we'd heard that dating and working together wasn't a good idea. Finally we decided to throw caution to the wind and began dating. As it turned out, it was a great idea! A year later we got engaged on a mountain top outside of Boulder. After a one year engagement, we were married in Banff, Alberta, Canada on a beautiful September day. We knew it was meant to be because it was the only weekend that month that didn't either rain or snow! We share a love for the outdoors. Some of our best memories are from long mountain bike rides, skiing and snowboarding (Chris is the skier, John is the snowboarder), and hiking in the mountains. We have spent the past 9 years being parents, but never forget that our relationship is the foundation of our family. Both sets of our parents live so close that getting out for a date night is something we get to do often. Jared loves the special time he gets to spend with his grandparents as well.

4: John is my beloved husband, soul mate, and best friend. You will not find a man with a kinder heart and who loves his family more. Our son calls him “the best daddy in the whole wide world”, but of course he may be a little biased. John is, however, an incredible father. They love to play basketball at the rec center, play catch with the baseball or football in the front yard, and go for early morning "jammie" bike rides. John is a fourth generation Colorado native. His family's roots run deep, and it's so much fun to learn about their history. John loves football, everything about football. In college he interned for the Broncos, and has had a love affair with them ever since. He was able to use this love of football to coach our son, Jared's flag football team. John's other passion is mountain biking, and if he he'd had the chance, he would have made it his profession. | Chris Writes About John

6: John Writes About Chris | Chris is my guardian angel and very special "Brown Eyed Girl" as sung by Van Morrison. My soul mate has a SMILE that never quits. I believe it is a metaphor on how she lives life full of LOVE while embracing the moment. Chris is truly a natural Mom. From the first second Jared was born she has always made sure he was happy and filled with love and confidence. In just this brief introduction to Jared, you can look into his eyes and see so much of her in him. Chris is a dual citizen in both the US and Canada. Most of her extended family resides in Calgary, which is one of the reasons we got married in the Canadian Rockies. Chris shares the same outdoor passions that I do. She also enjoys gardening, book clubs, traveling, and volunteering for causes based on the faith that guides her life.

8: Jared is a typical 9 year old boy, but yet different in so many ways. He has a heart of gold, and as described by his Sunday School teacher, his fruit of the spirit is “gentleness”. He loves sports, baseball and basketball being his favorites. But he also enjoys performing arts and music. Jared is so excited about being a big brother, that I thought it best for him to tell you in his own words:

9: Jared

10: Keeva and Mandi | Keeva is our 4 year old lab mix and 100 pounds of love. He doesn't even mind when Jared tries to ride him. Mandi is our sweet little 1 year old cattle dog mix. The 2 of them are inseparable. | Annie and Obi | Annie and Obi are Jared's guinea pigs. They stand for Anikan Skywalker and Obi Wan Kenobi. They live in his bedroom (Star Wars themed of course) | Our Pets

12: Family Fun!! | On our favorite hike | Broncos are # 1 ! | 4th of July Sparklers | Lego Land | Bear Wrestling | Fred the Snowman | Life is Good!

13: We love Sledding! | Cotton Candy in the Summer . . . . . . . . . . . . Smores in the Winter | At home in the Colorado Rockies | "Take me out to the ball game...." | Strolling along the river | Just me and my dog! | With Miles the Mascot | Fun at Elitches

14: Our Extended Family We are very lucky to have both sets of our parents living nearby. We get to see them often, and they are a big part of Jared's life. They enjoy attending Jared's games and performances, and they both love being grandparents. Chris’ parents are referred to as Grammy and Grandad, and John's parents are Nana and Papa. John has one brother who also lives close by. He is married with 2 girls named Lucy and Eva. Jared loves his cousins, and is especially close to Lucy. Chris also has one brother who lives in Arizona. He is married with 2 kids named Christopher and Lyndsay. He gets to see them a couple of times a year, but he loves spending time with them as well. | Chris' Family | John's Family | First Father's Day with Grandad & Papa | Nana, Papa, Lucy and Jared

15: Nana & Papa Grammy & Grandad | Grammy & Grandad | Grammy | Grandad | Uncle Jeff & Aunt Kathy | Chris' Brother Jeff | Jared with cousin Lucy | Grammy & Grandad | Cousins Eva & Lucy | John with his brother Jason and niece Eva | Uncle Jason & Aunt Andrea

16: Our Home and Community | We are so blessed to live where we do. We live on a block that is a small community in of itself. Our neighbors are our closest friends, and we love hanging out together while our kids play, and we are always ready to help each other out. There are more that 20 kids on our block between the ages of 0 to 12. At any given time on a summer day you will find water balloon fights, baseball games, or Star Wars battles. And in the winter after a big snow storm, we will all grab our sleds and head to the best sledding hill just down the street. All the neighbors share in hosting holiday parties: Halloween garage party, 4th of July backyard BBQ and fireworks, and Chris always hosts the annual girl's Christmas cookie party – that one is of course Jared's favorite. John and Jared will go out and do some boy things for the day, then they return home to a kitchen full of cookies! We live just blocks from the rec center, and we frequent there year round, both the indoor water park, and outdoor pool. The schools are at the top of the list in Colorado, and we don't think there is a better place to raise a family.

18: Name: John Occupation: Internet Marketing Consultant Education: Grad school MBA/Technology Mgmt Race: Caucasian Ethnicity: German and Croatian Hair Color: Dark brown Eye Color: Hazel Height/Build: 5’ 11”, Medium Build Religion: Christian Interests: Mountain biking, football, snow boarding Smoking: No | Name: Chris Occupation: Division Order Analyst Education: Undergraduate school BS/Business Race: Caucasian Ethnicity: German, Finnish, English,Scottish Hair Color: Light brown Eye Color: Brown Height/Build: 5’ 9”, Medium Build Religion: Christian Interests: Mountain biking, skiing, piano, gardening, Smoking: No | Fun Facts | Fertility Status: Unable to conceive due to hysterectomy Finances: Financially stable and adequately able to support an additional child Openness with Birth Parents: We are open to regularly sharing letters, photos, and will consider additional contact over time. Child Care Plans: John works from home, and Chris works from home one day a week. Chris will be taking family leave when the baby is born, and plans to work part time from home after that. | Length of Marriage: 12 Years Children in Family: Jared, 9 years old - biological child Pets: 2 dogs (Keeva and Mandi), 2 guinea pigs (Annie and Obi) Interests as a family: Spending time in the mountains, mountain biking, playing board games, reading together, watching American Idol, and generally goofing around and laughing together Home: Suburban

19: We hope this book has helped you get to know us a little better. If we are given the enormous privilege of adopting your baby, always know that we will unconditionally love and cherish him or her. You will always be a big part of your child, and we plan to raise him or her knowing who you are. We are open to sharing letters and photos on a regular basis, and are open to discussing additional contact over time. Your child will always know how amazing you are, and the sacrifice that you have made purely out of love. We can only imagine the long road you have traveled to make it to this place. Whichever family you chose to parent your child, may God bless you on your journey and give you peace and comfort in your decision. | With Love, John, Chris, and Jared | In Closing

Sizes: mini|medium|large|huge
Default User
  • By: Chris B.
  • Joined: over 8 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Brendlinger Portfolio
  • Adoption Portfolio
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 8 years ago