Up to 50% Off Sitewide! Code: SPR18 Ends: 3/26 Details

Avatar: The Last Airbender and the Monomyth

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Avatar: The Last Airbender and the Monomyth - Page Text Content


1: Unusual Birth The series takes place in a magical world with four nations, each named after one of the classical elements: fire, earth, water, and air. Certain citizens of each nation are able to master (or "bend") their respective element. At any given time, there is one person, called the Avatar, able to bend all four elements. When the Avatar dies, his spirit is reborn and reincarnated into the next nation in the cycle. Aang, the hero of the series, is the current Avatar.

3: The Call to Adventure Aang receives his call when he learns he is the Avatar. Because of an oncoming war led by the Fire Nation, the monks of the Air Nomads decide he must begin his training earlier in life than usual. Overwhelmed with this news, Aang refuses the call by flying away on his sky bison Appa. However, he is caught in a storm and while underwater, uses his bending skills to freeze himself and Appa. He remains frozen for one hundred years; during this time, the Fire Nation is able to wage war against the rest of the world with little opposition. When Aang is finally unfrozen, he learns of the war and finally accepts the call.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gargantuous
Default User
  • By: Adam S.
  • Joined: almost 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Avatar: The Last Airbender and the Monomyth
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 5 years ago