Christmas Standard Delivery Deadline 12/18
: :
Get up to 50% Off! Code: MXSHIP Ends: 12/12 Details
Apply
  1. Help

K&K Adoption Profile

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

K&K Adoption Profile - Page Text Content

BC: Wishing you the best of luck. Sincerely, Katie and Karl

FC: Karl and Katie | hoping to adopt a child

1: Thank you for taking the time to get to know us. We would like to start by expressing our respect, admiration, and thanks for your courage right now. We can't imagine the feelings you have or will experience in your decision to plan an adoption for your child. Thank you for considering us as loving parents for your child and we hope this quick glimpse of us will let you know who we are and how we hope to be as parents. | About Katie Age: 35 Racial/Ethnic Background: Caucasian Occupation: Social Worker Favorite Movie: Crazy Stupid Love Favorite Flower: Peony | About Karl Age: 35 Racial/Ethnic Background: African American Occupation: Doctor Favorite Color: Red Favorite Food: Indian Food | About Our Dogs Name: Kala Breed: Black Lab/Boxer Mix Color: Black Name: Bailey Breed: Golden Retriever Color: Cream Favorite Treat: Milk Bone

2: Dear Birth Parent: I want to thank you for taking the time to get to know my wife and I better. We appreciate your courage and strength in choosing adoption for your child. Katie and I have wanted to start a family for some time, however, have had fertility issues. We have always been open to adoption as a plan to start our family, particularly given my upbringing with my grandparents. My younger sister and I were raised in the Midwest by our grandparents. Our grandparents provided a loving, caring, and supportive home. They encouraged us to follow our dreams and achieve our fullest potential. Whether it was in sports or school, our grandparents were there to root us on, help us with our studies, and help us better ourselves. From that upbringing we learned the importance of the closeness of family and friends. After high school I moved to New England to go to college. Afterwards, I stayed on in the Northeast to attend medical school. It was through one of the good friends I had made in high school that I was introduced to Katie. After three years of dating we were married. In the ten years that Katie and I have been together I’ve come to know her as a compassionate, funny, supportive, and loving woman. She has a love of life that is infectious and that I really appreciate. She is my best friend and biggest supporter, always there in the thick and the thin and ensuring that we get better together, day in and day out. Over these years, we have enjoyed the process of learning and loving each other a little more every day. | Katie says, " Karl is funny, patient, non-judgmental and a great listener. He will make the most amazing dad." | Thanks to Katie I’ve come to develop a joy for exploring the ocean deep through scuba diving, as well as an appreciation for discovering the beauty of the winter wilderness on the back of a snowmobile. We enjoy traveling, whether it is visiting friends and family, or merely getting away to spend some quality time together, just the two of us. The adventure of exploring new places and meeting new people is something we hope to pass on and continue as we build a family. It was that sense of adventure that brought us to live in rural Wisconsin. Despite having never visited Wisconsin before, the prospect of moving somewhere new and unknown was one that we were excited to explore. Living out in the country certainly has its perks, not the least of which is a big yard and the pond that our dogs love to swim and play in. Though we don’t have children yet, one of the reasons we chose to live here is because the schools are top notch, with many of the graduating kids going on to college at some pretty great schools. In addition, our neighborhood is full of kids who enjoy spending a lot of time playing outside, camping, riding their bikes, or running their junior snowmobiles around in the winter. In many ways it is an environment similar to the ones that both Katie and I grew up in and hope to provide for our family. In starting a family, both Katie and I look forward to providing the same love, warmth, and support that we continue to receive today. We have built a happy and loving home together and are excited at the prospect of expanding our family with the addition of a child. Both Katie and I will be open with your child about adoption and will share any information that we have about you. We are also open to sharing pictures and letters with you. We hope that this profile provides a good example of who we are, and a glimpse of the parents we hope to be. Sincerely, | Karl

3: Dear Birth Parent: Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us. Even though we do not know you yet, we have a great amount of respect and admiration for you. We can only try understand the difficulty in the decisions that lie ahead for you and your baby. It is obvious the plan you are making is being made out of love, courage and selflessness and that you are trying to make the best decision for this child. We hope by looking at our photos and reading about our lives you will find comfort in knowing how much we want to share our lives with a child. Karl and I met in the Big Apple, New York City. We both were attending the same college. Karl was in medical school and I was in social work school. We were friends for several months before be began dating; I believe we are a strong couple because we were friends first. We were married in the spring of 2005 and since have lived all over the United States. We have settled down in the country in central Wisconsin, much different from the streets of NYC where we met. But we love the fresh air, open space and beautiful nature. I was raised in a small town with my parents and two brothers in Idaho. My grandfather had a large potato farm and many hours were spent riding horses, playing in the fields, chasing butterflies and playing with siblings and cousins. I grew up with lots of family around and always wanted a big family of my own someday. I want to give a child a chance to run, play, explore nature and have fun just like I did. My parents owned a store where I started working at age 8 for 50 cents an hour. There I learned hard work, integrity and to work well with others. I am a very outgoing person with many friends and interests. Because I have lived all over the country, I have many friends in many different places and get to visit them often. I love to travel, run, be outdoors, play with my dogs Kala and Bailey, quilt, dance and watch movies. I am known for loving to have fun, laugh and be a great storyteller. I love to entertain friends and family at | my home and play games. I also lived in Thailand for two years, speak the Thai language and can make great Thai food. After getting my masters in Social Work, I began working with people living with cancer and their families. I truly enjoy working with people who are faced with a life threatening illness. I learn from them every day how to live life more fully and to cherish family and friends. When we adopt a child, I plan on only work one or two days a week so I can spent most of my time being a mom. Karl and I have been trying to have a child for over 3 years. However, even with fertility treatments, we have been unable to start a family together. Despite our hardships with trying to start a family, Karl and I relationship has remained strong and we are very supportive of each other. We still want to have a family together, to be parents together and raise a child in a loving home like we were. My husband Karl is the most funny, loving and supportive person I know. He is patient, considerate, nonjudgmental and a great listener. He is outgoing and is always up to trying new something and meeting new people. He is also smart and a fast learner. Karl will make the most amazing dad. We are so excited to adopt a child and welcome them into our hearts and our home. We are open to sharing pictures and letters with you and your child if you so desire. If you choose us to be your child's parent, rest assured we will love, protect and support them with all our heart, mind and soul. I hope by reading our short letters and seeing some pictures of us and or families, you can begin to feel comfortable with us. We wish you the very best. Sincerely, | Karl says, "Katie has a love of life that is infectious...She's always there in the thick and thin and ensuring that we get better together." | Katie

4: Just the Two of Us

5: Our Wedding Day

6: Our Hobbies | Exploring the ocean and sea life is one of our favorite things. | Even our dogs like to hike with us. | We don't' mind being silly. | We love to travel. We've been to Mexico, Thailand, the Caribbean, and all over the USA | We love adventure

7: We spend a lot of time at the family lake house relaxing and enjoying nature. | Karl loves to cook. | Katie recently ran a marathon dressed as a hula girl. | Our favorite holiday is Christmas

8: Katie's side of the Family | Katie's parents are excited for another grandchild | Skiing with Grandpa | We are a very outdoorsy family.

9: They are looking forward to a new cousin. | Katie's family loves to play cards and board games. | Playing football in the park

10: Karl's side of the Family | Sunday Dinner at with Karl's sisters Valeria, Caitlin, mother and grandma. | Christmas with Karl's Dad | Karl's sister Caitlin is excited to be an aunt

11: Family vacation in the mountains | We are stuffed from a great Thanksgiving dinner | Karl was raised by his grandma and grandpa.

12: Karl loves to play with his 3 nephews Colton, Caleb, and Carson. | Karl reading to Caleb as he acts out the story. | Family Time

13: We are a big ski family. Everyone starts skiing at 3. | Christmas morning with Caleb | Giving kisses to new niece Samantha.

14: Our Home

15: Our home is in Wisconsin where we live on 2 acres with a pond. The house has 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, and a playroom. There is lots of room to play, run and swim.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|enormous
Default User
  • By: katie p.
  • Joined: over 4 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
  • Default User
    • By: olivia s.
    • Contributions: 0 photos , 0 pages
  • Default User
    • By: rosanne g.
    • Contributions: 0 photos , 0 pages
  • Default User
    • By: Linda H.
    • Contributions: 0 photos , 0 pages

About This Mixbook

  • Title: K&K Adoption Profile
  • K&K Adoption Profile
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 4 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order