Christmas Standard Delivery Deadline 12/18
: :
Get up to 50% Off! Code: MXSHIP Ends: 12/12 Details
Apply
  1. Help

Year In Review

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Year In Review - Page Text Content

FC: My year as President Michigan JCI Senate 2013-2014

1: Michigan JCI Senate Annual Meeting & Elections | March 2, 2013 | Top: Senators, family and friends in attendance for meeting. Left: 40th President Patti swearing in newly elected Susan Foltin - me! Our menu for the meeting. Below: Susan Foltin, 41st President-elect, swears in Gary Bulson (VP), Vette Sutton (VP), Wendy Klinge (Treasurer), Edonna Russell (Secretary) and Scott Chisholm (Life Membership Committee).

2: Above, Patti's last meeting with 2012-2013 board, where we approved the budget for 2013-2014. Deb oMogdis, Dan Gratz, Gary Bulson, President Patti Reitsma, Edonna Russell, Wendy Klinge and myself. Below, Russ Cooper, Jack Ryan and Doug Hincker review budget. Russ with me explaining change to the Hal Krekorian Golf Outing. Past MIJCs Presidents and Senators, Adam Pieczynski and Walt Downes. | Spring Conference May 10-12, 2013 in Muskegon, MI

3: Evening @ 2013 Spring Conference | Above with President Patti Reitsma, Return the Favor recipient Doug Hincker, me and MIJCs President John Badeen. To the right: Kim Hubbell. Below: Eric Roffe of Plymouth (after getting my name badge back).

4: World Expo of Beer (May 18, 2013) Frankenmuth Jaycees | Top left: Ray and Edonna Russell, Kim Hubbell, Adam Pieczynski, me and Jim Coulson. Above with Adam. To the left with Angela Clock.

5: The Brain Challenge Trivia Night vs Redford Jaycees for Relay for Life May 23, 2013 | Wing-Hunts Team: Wendy Taylor, Sue Foltin, Gary Bulson and Don McDurmon. Middle photo: Senators Allan Joseph, Don McDurmon, Mike Kandah, Gary Bulson, Wendy Taylor, Mark Garrison, Sue Foltin with Redford President Adam Bonarek and Livonia President Erin Williams. Below photo: Redford Jaycees 2013.

6: Kiss Off Cancer - Featuring War Machine Westland Jaycees benefit for Relay for Life (May 31, 2013) | Raised over $700.00 for Relay for Life and over $2000.00 for a local teen beating cancer! Above right, Westland Jaycees. In the heart are Kim Cecil (Gary's fiancée), Brittany Kipfmiller (guest of honor) and Gary Bulson. | Michelle Kelley, Bridgette Rillema and me with War Machine (Detroit's KISS tribute band.

7: Relay for LIfe June 8, 2013 Lansing Jaycees (Jun 7-8) and Westland Jaycees (Jun 8-9) | Lansing Jaycees and Ruthi Dake. | In jail thanks to Mike Sroczynski . Also with Danny Austin (President of Westland) in jail and with 2 new members.

8: Independence, OH | US JCI Senate National Convention | June 16-20,2013 | In circle with Lowell Vahl (US web master) and President Bruce Geddes. Images with me, Russ Cooper, Gary Bulson, Vette Sutton, Wendy and Brian Klinge, Gary and I with Don McDurmon, the winning golf team from MI of Greg Merritt, Rick Lawrence, John Voshel and Tim Sutton and lower right corner the outgoing PIE group with outgoing and incoming presidents (me with Patti Reitsma). Oh yes, and I display my craftiness turning tights into sleeves and a hat.

10: Relay for Life Events - June 22, 2013 Plymouth-Canton and Ann Arbor Jaycees | Plymouth-Canton Jaycees, 2 shifts. Seen with Garrett and Katie. Abby Stonerook in "jail" collecting bail so she can pee. Larry Johnson, Texas Senator who helped Abby organize event. Me with the SKF team's sign. Katie displaying their 3rd place car in the Road to Recovery race. Below, mom and me at the luminary service with the Ann Arbor Jaycees.

11: Ann Arbor Summer Carnival June 26-30, 2013 | Above with Ed Verhamme. Don Wurtzel with Michael Lee. Below the ultimate meal. And some random shots at the carnival

12: July 1st | And the year begins...

13: Madison Heights Jaycees - Final GMM Big Boys on John R in Madison Heights, MI July 1st, 2013 | Farewell | Above... Tom, Kelly, Lisa Gokey, Jen Gokey (with daughter Mellisa), me, Kim Hubbell with Jen's newest daughter Kylie Rose (72 hours old). In front, Pat Gokey. Lower left is me with Kylie Rose. Lower right, the Madison Heights Jaycees presented me with a chocolate rose, some gum and a personal thank you note. Kim and I encouraged them to find another chapter, perhaps Rochester Area, to stay active and perhaps one day we willa gain see the Madison Heights Jaycees.

14: I'm seen with JCI SenatorMary Burden and President John Shimel of Ludington. Others are images from the parade, including Grand Marshall Eric Lund and views of the beach front. | Ludington Area Jaycees 4th of July Parade & Fireworks July 4th, 2013

16: Fun day @ Mac Woods Sand Dune Rides Mears, MI on July 5th, 2013

17: Grand Parade with the Cadillac Jaycees July 6th, 2013 | The Gibson family in the upper left. Senator Janet Gibson, and president of the Cadillac Jaycees with me in upper right. Cadillac Jaycees in the center. Parade attendee comes out to shake Matt Gibson's hand and thank him for his service.

18: Aquaplooza with the Manistee Jaycees July 6th, 2013 | Manistee Jaycees... center photo is Nick J with Chamber of Commerce representative. Above is Marcie and Jason Sullivan with me and the Burdens, Mary and Rob. Beautiful sunset over Lake Michigan from the shores of Manistee, MI. Opening band was Sufferin Suckatash followed by featured band, Wayland (pictured above).

19: EXTRA!!! EXTRA!!!

20: Wyandotte Jaycees @ Street Art Fair / Beer Tent July 10th, 2013 | Above left to lower right: Street Fair view. Hanging with Shannon Dehring and Tonya Mayrand. A big pile of potatoes that were tempting. Me with Allie Mayrand (daughter of Gil and Tonya). Me with Shannon again and Nadia Brunt . A motown cover band named Larry Lee and Back in the Day:. Various dancers outside the beer tent. And the Wyandotte Jaycees continue to pour beer until almost 11pm.

21: Rochester Area Jaycees GMM July 11th, 2013 | Above left to lower right: Krista Tocco, me, President Mike Webber, Senators Gary Coats, Kim Hubbell and District Director 6 Steve Pickelmann. President Mike with wife Julia and 16 week old son James. Center is potential member from Bay City, Kim , Julia and James. Senator Krista Tocco gives individual development area updates. Lower right are Senators Krista Tocco, me, Gary Coats and Kim Hubbell with President Mike Webber in the middle.

22: EXTRA!!! EXTRA!!! | Meanwhile, Honey and Butters wonder when mommy will stay home. | Printed on July 12th!

23: Auburn Jaycees & Cornfrest July 12th, 2013 | Above left to lower right: President Erin Poltorak and Senator Kim Gibaud Auburn Jaycees. Upper right is Stephanie & Jay Johnson, Kim Gibaud and Eric Roffe going for a ride. Las Vegas Sue, Kim Hubbell, President Erin Poltorak and me. I check my height. Eric frustrated that he won't be getting my name badge again. Senators Dave and Karen Frieve with me. The fair grounds.

24: Burton Area Jaycees GMM July 15th, 2013 | Above left, me with Kim Hubbell, President Stephanie Wade and John Gerds. Meeting restaurant and dinner. Members Jodie Grandy and XXX. Stephanie and John again. Members Sarah Ellis and Justin Ballreich.

25: Royal Oak Jaycees GMM July 18th, 2013 | Eric Reed, Mark Szlaga, Jared Scheuerlein, Julie Funke, Tiffany Herraod, President Dan Whetstine, Brian Maddaford, Paula Wittek, Jessica Lis (new), me, Tamara Shepard and Gina Meola | Eric Reed and myself. President Dan swears in new member Jessica. Eric, July and Jessica listen to project updates. Ed Nahhat from Water Works Theater company promotes upcoming Shakespeare in the Park (Starr Jaycee park) in August, including shows the Merry Wives of Windsor and Much Ado About Nothing.

26: Ohio Pig Roast - Convoy, OH July 20, 2013

27: Front row: Jerry Wendelken, Ron Tyszkiewicz, myself, Jack Ryan. Second row: Jocelyn Wendelken, Millie Tyszkiewicz, John Voshel, Don McDurmon, Karen Ryan. Back: Mike O'Connell. | Pig kissing was Friday night, which I missed. I tried to make up by kissing first the warmer and then the meal to make up for that. Shopped with Karen and Millie at De Shia.

28: Allegan Jaycees @ BlackRock Renaissance Festival July 21, 2013 | Statues. Senators Dan Gratz, myself, Lou Irwin and Mary Burden. Below: Senator Corey Reed with daughter and friend. Kayleigh Gratz, Dan's daughter. Michael Kuhn, general manager, meets with Mary. Lou, Mary and Dan go over logistics. Stacie Gratz serves beer. Dan and Mary limbo.

29: KY JCI Senate Bourbon Bash August 1-4, 2013 in Bardstown, KY | Michigan JCI Senators: (back) Michele Baskin, Linda Primeau, Adam Pieczynski, (midde) Don McDurmon, Bruce Geddes, Jocelyne and Jerry Wendelken, John and Karen Voshel, Mike Primeau; (front) me. John Voshel with KY JCI Senate President Donna Cassel. Region V Presidents, Linda Ferguson (IL) with US JCI Senate President Larry Bohn, Charlie Eberhardt (OH), Donna Cassel (KY), Tracey Brown (IN), JeNie Altman (NVP-Region V) and me. John Voshel with Monty Schroeder (IL). Me with OH President Charlie. Jocelyne and Michele.

30: 2013 Annual MI JCI Senate Family Picnic August 10,2013 @ Kensington Metropark in Milford, MI

31: Attendees: Art Abbott #23795 (with wife - Paula Abbott), Gary Bulson #66823 (with fiance - Kim Cecil), Michael DiGiamberardino #61965, Dave #66300 and Lisa #70381 Dunville, Diane #48104 and Bill #25599 Follis, Sue Foltin #63744, Wendy Klinge #60219, Tim LaBarge #43200, Tina #59643 and Randy #63306 Lewis (with their son - Sean and daughter - Sam), Debbie Majeski #55996, Sue Metalski #68846, Mike O'Connell #40225 (with grandson - Ethan), Paula Peters $57370, Cheryl Satterthwaite #66119, Jenn Sroczynski #69894 (with husband Mike, daughter - Rachel, Rachel's boyfriend - Trenton and Jenn's father - Dennis) and Vette Sutton #69414

32: Farmington Area Jaycees GMM @ Shiawassee Park August 13, 2013 | Farmington Area Jaycees with Senator Debbie Majeski, Garrett Mullins, Jaime Rassmussen, Gordon Barba, President Angela Wolf with daughter Jordan, Brian Maddaford with Aubrey in the front. Debbie and me with President Angela and Jordan. Gordon shows Jaime and Garrett how to check for oil. Garret is sworn in as new director. Gordon unaware of "No Motor Vehicles Allowed In Park" sign as he demonstrates on his truck.

33: Woodward Dream Cruise Merchandise Sales August 16-17, 2013 in Pontiac, MI @ the Phoenix Center | Jim Coulson, Tim LaBarge, Kim Hubbell, Matt and John Prosser, me, Art Abbott, Tim Ford, Pat Malac, Joe Hildebrand with Cheri Redding and granddaughter Karma in the front. Below, Tim L,, Pat with Mike Sroczynski and Kim. Me with Ron Hines (red shirt). Bottom: Cheri, Me and Kim in board shirts. Vette Sutton with cute puppy. Also present, but not featured: Mike O'Connell.

34: Frontier Days / Beer and Wine Tents Olde World Village, Augusta, MI - August 24-25, 2013

35: First "new" beer tent of the year. Amanda Irwin face paints, Lou's friend Mike holds a balloon mug of Guinness. Me in my "Sunday" outfit. Me in my "Saturday" outfit. Upper right are the Burdens (son Lloyd, Mary and Rob). The Senators: Patti Reitsma, Mary & Rob Burden, Deb Fewless, me, Dan Gratz and Lou Irwin.

36: Arts, Beats & Eats (Royal Oak Jaycees Beer / Pop Tent August 31, 2013 - Downtown Royal Oak, MI | Don McDurmon, me, Mike Sroczynski, Gary Bulson and Jenn Sroczynski. Mike and Jen pose in front of the water. The booth from the street. The large tub with like 20 different beverages. Gary and Don actually working.

37: Livonia Jaycees on Thirsty Thursday September 5 , 2013 @ Tin Cup Bar & Grill Plymouth-Canton Jaycees in the house! | 1. Kim Behrmann with 5.5 month old daughter Kayla 2. Erin McKenzie and Peter Behrmann with donation check. 3. Justin Roggenbuck with Josh Hunt. 4. Anthony and Clair Pomerson from Plymouth-Canton. 5. New member (2 days) - Sarah Snow. 6. Peter with daughter Kayla. 7. Erin and Peter | 1. | 2. | 3. | 4. | 5. | 6. | 7.

38: West-side Poker Night - September 6-7, 2013 TJ's Charitiable Gaming Room, Cutlerville, MI | Patti Reitsma, Dan Gratz and Edonna Russell with me. TJ's Room. Patti and Edonna working the numbers with the Wyoming Jaycees. Various shots of the poker and hotel rooms. Dan and I getting ready for our shift..

39: East-side Poker Night - September 14, 2013 Vision Lanes, Westland, MI | Day 3 of Poker - which ran September 12-15, 2013 @ Vision Lanes. I worked final shift - which fell inbetween the Bluegrass Music Festival. Hence, no photos of me. Seen above, Senators Jody Shevin and Sue Metalski. Also , Senator Gary Bulson came to sit with me at the beginning. Right side are random shots of the event throughout the rest of the evening.

40: Bluegrass Music Festival / Beer and Wine Tents Olde World Village, Augusta, MI - September 14-15, 2013

41: Bluegrass Music Festival: Beautiful weather on Saturday and rain, rain, rain on Sunday. Starting in upper right and working across: Me with Lou Irwin and Diane Gledhill. Rob Burden watching the open jam session. Me with Senator Mary Burden, Senator Lou Irwin, Diane Gledhill and Rob Burden. Bill Bynum & CO (Chuck on bass), Deadwood plays one set late Saturday, Diane and Mary working pub as Rob plays cribbage with Jeff. Double Strung hangs out at bar. Various crowd scenes over the weekend.

42: Royal Oak Jaycees Press Release Royal Oak Patch and The Daily Tribune - Sep 17, 2013

43: Ypsilanti Area Jaycees General Membership Meeting Senior Center, Ypsilanti, MI - September 18, 2013 | Senator Jane Carr #71359, Ypsianti's COB Kristen Mishler, 75th President Rose Peruski, myself and Senator / Vice President Vette Sutton #69414. Brett Birk from HOPE Clinic addresses membership along with Happy Pants diaper drive. Jane with Lisa Atkins. Nakesha Dion, Joe and Toni Auker with Angel Vanas before meeting. Jenny Vroom with daughter... and son. Banner.

44: Michigan Jaycees Leadership Conference 2nd Trimester @ Treetops / Gaylord Oct 4-6, 2013

45: Steve Pickelmann presents Senate with check for $750 from WEB last May. First Timers Jenn Wysocki, Cindy Baran and Kim King with me and Karen. Senators Kim Gibaud, Karen Hillegonds, Greg Merritt, Kim Hubbell and Doug Hincker with me. Another photo from meeting. Presenting Return the Favor award to Fred Beythan, Jr (not present) to Frankenmuth Jaycees: Tonya Quackenbush, Scott Frank, Dan Popham, Tom Quackenbush and Steve Pickelmann. @Treetops.

46: Frankenmuth Jaycees GMM October 14, 2013 - Return the Favor Presentation | Senators Tom Coughlin, Jr #70507, Kim Hubbell #68729, John Blegen #62268, Susan Foltin #63744, Freddie Beythan, Jr. #51715, Karen Lauckner Hillegonds #70913 and President Lucas Hart of Frankenmuth (whose father was Freddie's COB back in 1983). Tom Quackenbush and Steve Pickelmann with me at Tiffany's before the meeting. Freddie reading over his award. Cheri Redding #71350 and me with Freddie. Frankenmuth Jaycees hold their meeting. The streets of Frankenmuth are much quieter on a Monday night (picked up fudge while I was here).

47: Region V Border Bash (MI / OH / IN) October 19, 2013 - Auburn, IN | Top left, down and over: JeNie Altman throws a kiss to Brian Klinge (in MI @ work). OH's Charlie Eberhardt and IN's Tracy Brown at President's meeting. After President's competition, Tracy, JeNie and I gang up on Charlie (winner) with whipped cream. MI JCI Senators: Sue Foltin, JeNie Altman, John Voshel, Don McDurmon, Karen Kopp-Voshel, Dianna Racquepaw, Vette Sutton, Wendy Klinge, Patti Reitsma, Deb Fewless, Deb Mogdis, Karen Ryan, Bob Modgis and Michele Baskin. Again, JeNie, Karen R, John, Vette, Deb F, Jack Ryan, Patti, Deb M, Wendy (down in front) Karen V, me (Sue) and Michele. Jack and Karen Ryan. Karen V, Deb M and Michele. Region V Board of Presidents: Travey Brown (IN), Charlie Eberhardt (OH) JeNie Altman (NVP), sue Foltin (MI) and Donna Roope-Cassell.

48: Burton Area Jaycees GMM / 2014 Elections October 21, 2013 | Burton Area Jaycees: Jenny Wysocki, Jodie Wright Grandy, Gordon Grandy, Jeremy Wilson, Carol Marie, Stephanie Wade, Justin Ballreich, and Sarah Ellis. Dinner = bruschetta. Justin demonstrating the program"Around the World in One Trimester" and it's cool passport. Me with my Jaycee hero, Senator Michele Baskin. Stephanie swears in newly elected 2014 President Sarah Ellis. Sarah swears in newly elected Jenn (membership VP) and Justin (secretary / treasurer). | Senators Michele Baskin and Kim Hubbell witness swearing of new officers.

49: 2013 Beer & Wine Tasting / Saginaw Jaycees @ Castle Museum - November 8, 2013 | Christmas Tree at Castle Museum. Stephanie Filer is interviewed by local TV news, channel 5. President John Badeen, Michelle Kelley and Tom Quakenbush sample various wines and beer. Crystal Lynn Hickmott and XXXX set up the silent auction. Dawn of a New Day provides food to guests, including MI JCI Senate President Sue "It's A New Day" Foltin. Cork-n-ale pour samples. Large turnout to sample and bid on auction items.

50: 2013 Outstanding Young Michigander Honors Banquet November 9, 2013 @ Troppo's in Lansing, MI | At OYM/DSA seen with Peter Behrmann, Russ Trapp, Scott Zechiel, me and Jennifer Kurland, My boys and fellow Senators, Dan Gratz and Gary Bulson. My Ypsi Chicks and fellow Senators Darlene Dresch and Abby (Hayes) Smith. Tiffany Herrold, Tanya and Tom Quackenbush and Heather Harris. Fellow Senator Allan Joseph with Adam Bonarek. President John Badeen, Erin McKenzie, Jessie Boyd and President-elect Jay Johnson. Samples awards.

51: November MI JCI Senate Board Meeting November 13, 2013 @ Tripper's in East Lansing, MI | Edonna Russell, Deb Fewless, Patti Reitsma, Wendy Klinge, Karen and Jack Ryan, Brian Klinge, myself, Sue Metalski, Art Abbott, Bob Allen, Russ Cooper, Deb Mogdis, Vette Sutton, Sandra Hilliard, Ray Russell and not seen because he's taking the photo, my driver for the evening, Gary Bulson

52: let's count down to the | new year | and to a | new job | Dr Vince Young's lab group and others - Infectious Diseases @ UofM: Front row: Lita Proctor (visiting from the NIH), Kavitha Santhosh, Kathy Wozniak, me, Casey Theriot Taveirne, Cassie, Dr Vincent Young. Middle row: Anna Seekatz, Jhansi Leslie, Diane Wang, Judy Opp, Mark Koenigscknecht, Charlie Koumpouras, Christine Bassis and Ann Murphy. Back row (added later): Nicole Falkowski and Dr. Gary Huffnagle.

53: Sue – When you first came into the lab on an interview I realized you were a special find – thank you for all of your hard work and dedication. Best wishes in the new lab. Judy. You will be missed! Merritt. Sue, It has been a pleasure working with and getting to know you. I know I’m not the easiest of people to work with, so I greatly appreciate your patience and tolerance of me. I have learned so much about 454, MiSeq and DNA sequencing from you. Thank you for your tutelage. Congrats. And best of luck in the new lab! I’ll be sure to give you a call for my going away lunch. Don’t be a stranger, and I’ll be sure to drop by to visit you and the candy bowl! Thanks for everything Sue! And of course, Go Blue! – Charlie K. Sue, I will miss you very much. Our various lunch and seeing you outside of work. You brought a certain spark to the lab with your humor. Love, Kathy. Sueith – We are very sad to see you go although the pain is lessoned because you will still be close by! Lunch dates and happy hours here we come. It has been a privilege getting to work with you and a bonus getting to know you as a friend. You will be missed! Your friend Casey T. | Goodbye and good luck card comments (12/20/2013) | Sue- Your hard work, dedication and creativity are going to be greatly missed as you leave us lady! I have so enjoyed working with you and getting to know you over the past few years. The only silver lining is that your new lab will be even closer. Congrats and good luck! Nicole. Sue – I wish you all the best in your new lab. Your contributions to the success of our motley crew (or is it Motley Crue?) cannot be understated. Your experience and upbeat demeanor will surely be missed. Thanks for everything! Good luck Gary – PS. I will never underestimate the power of switching multi-channel pipettes again! :D Dear Sue – It was a great pleasure working with you. I will miss your cheerful presence in 1500! With best wishes now and always. Kavitha. Sue – It has been a pleasure working with you. I’ll miss seeing you around. I’ve really appreciated the time you take to explain how things work and your helped me with the robots. Your candy bowl has gotten me trough many long weeks - - I think we will all be a bit lost without you. Congrats on the new job – and best of luck. Jhanshi. Sue, It has been great working with you. You have been instrumental in so many projects. We will miss you! Best of luck. People are going to miss you so much there is literally not enough space on this card to express that! - Mark. Sue – We are very sad to see you go, but at least you will be close for future lunches and “data consultation” :D Who will bring us Taco Bell now ?!?! Don’t be a stranger. <3 Anna. Sue – All the best in your position! – CassieChristine. | Goodbye and good luck lunch at Ichiban's on Washtenaw in Ypsilanti, MI on Dec 20, 2013.

54: 2014 Post Holiday Party January 18, 2014 @ Crystal Gardens in Southgate, MI | Past Presidents: Mike O'Connell, myself, John Voshel, Rich Lindow, Doug Hincker, Deb Fewless, Deb Mogdis, Brian Klinge, Lou Blatnik, Patti Reitsma and Adam Pieczynski | Me dancing with PP Lou Blatnik. | Me with 89th MIJC President John Badeen | Me with VP Vette Sutton, PP Deb Fewless and Secretary Edonna Russell. | Me with VP Gary Bulson and his fiancé' Kim Cecil | Chaplain Dan Gratz, Newsletter editor and First Timers chair Karen Hillegonds with me. | Senate Liaison Steve Pickelmann gives me hug.

55: Me trying to keep up dancing with PP Lou Blatnik. | Board of directors: Wendy Klinge, Edonna Russell, Kim Hubbell, Patti Reitsma, Vette Sutton and Gary Bulson wish me a happy 50th birthday. | GO BLUE!!! | Dancing with PPs Brian Klinge & Lou Blatnik. | PHP co-chair Julie Carter, me and Barbara Howard (wife of Ed, deceased). Millie Tyszkiewicz. | I JeNie Altman from KY - our NVP.

56: Being together is the best gift of all. | Center photo: Christine Bassis and Casey Theriot Taveirne. Left panel: Keith and Heather Roe Robertson. Middle panel: Judy Opp with Claude. Right panel: Ousa and Bill Hawkins, Linda Cox, Diane Gledhill and Sue Faust. Missing from photos, but present: Chad Brenner - Facebook photo to the right. | 50th | Non-Senate Function: Birthday dinner with friends January 25, 2014 @ Sidetracks in Ypsilanti, MI

57: Ann Arbor Jaycees Super Chili Bowl Party February 2, 2014 @ Ed Verhamme's Home | Upper left: Vanessa (Model, Horning) Belyew, me Don Belyew and Linda Cox. Upper right: Melissa Knitter and Michael Lee. Middle left: Lance Sharp, Ed Verhamme and Melissa. Chili samples. Bottom: Ed, Jerri Atkins, Linda Cox, myself, Lindsey Horning, Don and Vanessa Belyew.

58: Michigan Jaycees Leadership Conference 3rd Trimester, Mt Pleasant, MI Feb 14-16, 2014 | 90th Anniversary of the Michigan Jaycees | Picked up 42nd US JCI Senate President Larry Bohn, #37024 and his wife Ronnie, #66024 at Metro airport. Greeted them with a LIMO sign and half dozen long stem chocolate red roses. Adam Pieczynski, me with Ronnie and Larry. Hugging Brian Klinge while Kim Hubbell photo-bombs in the background. Wendy Klinge, Deb Fewless, Edonna Russell and Mike O'Connell enjoy senate hospitality. Marcy Bonk and me with Janet Gibson. First timers introducing themselves at the Friday evening party.

59: Saturday's meetings | New Senators, Sarah Nelson #72701 from Grand Rapids and Adam Nelson #72491 from royal Oak got their "husband and wife" presentation in Kwayne West vs Taylor Swift fashion. | 90th President MI Jaycees, Jay Johnson addresses Senators at beginning of our meeting. New tradition I hope to start, pinning new Senators Kim Roffe #72252 and Tom McAllister #72474 with "US JCI Senate" pins. I'm presenting both Ronnie and Larry Bohn with official Michigan JCI Senate board shirts, as well as a special keepsake box with President Larry's theme. President Larry then presents me with a gift (bag, pin and glass with cocoa) and addresses membership. Left and right side of the packed membership meeting room. Nice blend of young and old!

60: Michigan Jaycees Leadership Conference Saturday's Evening Banquet / Award Ceremony | Karen Ryan, Jo Ellen & Doug Hincker, Mike O'Connell, Ronnie Bohn, Jack Ryan, Larry Bohn and myself waiting to walk into dinner. Karen Hillegonds and myself with First Timer winners, Tori Solis (Wyoming), Julia Hillegonds (Ann Arbor), and Jennifer Domanski (Wyoming). Kim Hubbell and I present Return the Favor to Jon Blegen #62268 from Frankenmuth. MI Jaycees 89th President John Badeen presents me with the Doc Huldin award with US JCI Senate President Larry Bohn. Matt Sernau receives his senatorship #72678 with wife, Terri Ann. Past presidents - front row: Greg Merritt #27688, Vince Goff #35143, Fay Poissant #68824, Alex Arends #26599, Mike "Rocky" Rockafellow #33540, Jay Johnson (#90 - current). Back row: Sarah Nelson #72701, Gerry Boik #62277, Cindy Tomaszewski #65889, David Q Worthams #69822, Jeffrey P Smith #64330, Brian Coker #67543, Adam Pieczynski #57384, Mike Harris #62835, Scott Greenlee #60646 and John Badeen (#89 - outgoing)

61: McLaren Hospital: DKA / Infection Hospitalization February 16-18, 2014 in Mt Pleasant, MI | Thought it might be food poisoning after eating pork tenderloin Saturday night, I began throwing up around midnight. By Sunday morning I realized it was DKA. Comfort Inn Suites was great in getting EMS out and me to McLaren Community Hospital. Turns out I had DKA, an out-of-control infection and the food poisoning was questionable. pH was 6.88. WBCs off the charts. No phosphate / bicarbs. Two days in ICU with no food, but 2 IVs (one in arm and one in neck), an insulin pump, vancomycin bag and a bag of nutrients. No food until Tuesday morning, when I got Sprite Zero and beef broth. For the lunch they offered pork tenderloin to which I responded, "oh h-ll no." LOL. A bake potato, chicken broth and diet chocolate pudding and I was ready to go home with mom and dad. Car picked up on Thursday thanks to my sister, Cathy. | That is Cobbler the cat my sister brought me to keep me company. However, like my real kitties, it spent most of the time in mom's lap.

62: is a little world created by love.

63: Michigan Senators attending 2014 Spring Fling. The entire group of Region V senators along with our Canadian friends. Kim Hubbell and me. JeNie Altman and Donna Roope-Cassell flank me as I give Michigan news. JeNie leads us in a game of "Name that Tune" - Presidents Donna (KY), Tracy Brown (IN), me and Charlie Eberhardt (OH).. as Jerry Lutmann prepares to propose to Tracy. Doug and Jo Ellen Hincker with Kim, Vette Sutton and Deb Mogdis in background. John Voshel, Deb, Karen Voshel, me, Kim, Vette, Karen Hillegonds, Patti Reitsma and Deb Fewless. | Region V Spring Fling - Annual Meeting March 14-16, 2014 in Louisville, KY

65: K-wings Hockey Game with Kalamazoo Jaycees March 23, 2014 | Kalamazoo JC President Lisa Miller with Slappy and me. Background K-Wings vs Fort Wayne Komets (5-3 final). Slappy and me with 90th MIJC President Jay Johnson. KJCs Heather Harris, Lisa Miller and Anna Versalle. Kzoo gang. Newest Senator Matt Sernau with family. Chuck a puck.

66: 2014 MI JCI Senate Annual Meeting and 2014-2015 BOD Elections April 5, 2014 @ Roman Forum in Canton, MI | "It isn't how much time you spend somewhere that makes it memorable: it's how you spend the time." - David Brenner

67: My board... Edonna Russell, Gary Bulson and Patti Reitsmas. Left to right: Larry Davis with Tim Ford - that's Deb Mogdis in the backgrounds. I still haven't figured out how to properly hold the gavel. Dear friends Wendy Taylor, Debi Goetz, Becca Hull, Dan Gratz and Jenny-D (Durkasrski). The senior Senators, Kathy O'Connell, Jo Ellen Hincker, Mike O'Connell and Doug Hincker. Fearfully I had my gavel over to Patti for the elections. | Yes that's Fred Eagle in the lower left with Jenn and Mike Sroczynski, Michele Baskin's friend Char, Tom Sigler and Don McDurmon. That's me swearing Don in to fill a vacancy on the Life Membership committee. Mike Kehrer in the house! Sam Gardner and Sandy Malac chat with Jack and Karen Ryan. Ron and Millie Tyszkiewicz with Brian Klinge in the background.

68: Spring Eggstravaganza with Ann Arbor Jaycees April 19, 2014 | The 15th Annual Spring Eggstravaganza (aka Easter Egg Hunt) with the Ann Arbor Jaycees. Three scrambles, petting zoo, fire and police, the Easter Bunny, dancing, many games and over a thousand bags of candy to hand out.

69: Past Presidents Chili Cookoff with Ionia Jaycees May 2 2014 | Stephanie Bastista, president of the Ionia Jaycees with me at the Past Presidents Chili Cookoff. | Senator Mike Rockafellow comes in 2nd place with "Mans Chili". | Bruce Roetman snaps a selfie with me for Becca Hull who couldn't make it with her famous "Wendy's" chili. LOL | Jerika Salter, Anneke Nielsen, Tom and Stephanie Bastista, Amy Frias, Jim Buxton. Backs to camera: Niki Kimble (blonde), Deb Estep (pink) and Senator Mike Goodmiller. | Tom and Stephanie Batista, Senator Mike Rockafellow (standing between the Bastista), Amy Frias, Jim Buxton, Jay Heydenburk, Tom Cusask. Backs to camera: Chris and Deb Estep, Niki Kimble, Mike Goodmiller. | Art Salter wins - although we all thought it was rigged with his $5 bill in jar and daughter Jerika chairing.

70: Michigan Jaycees Leadership Conference 1st Trimester, Mackinac Island, May 9-11, 2014 | Loading up hospitality for Mackinac Island. | Star Line Ferry to the Island. | Nike Worthams #73148 comes to meeting and gets her pin! | Membership meeting on Saturday had a low turn-out as many members wanted to investigate the island. In attendance were Nike Worthams, Bill Beddoes, Mike DiGi, Dan Gratz, Art Abbott and Adam Pieczynski. Also Cheri Redding, Sandra Hillard, Karen Hillegonds, with Neal Miller and Steve Pickelmann in the back. Vette Sutton keeps me on my toes! | Hospitality was small... but we didn't care.

71: Nina Perko #73043 gets her senatorship from Matt Sernau before boyfriend John Badeen is awarded #73089. | Pre-Saturday evening with Kim Hubbell, Sandra Hillard and Cheri Redding. Presenting Heather Cantron from Luddington with Mary Burden's Return the Favor award. | Sue Faust and Linda Cox with me for return home.

72: Sunday Brunch with the Cheboygan Jaycees May 12, 2014 | Cheboygan Jaycees invited everyone to Mulligan's for a brunch provided by the local Chamber of Commerce. | Cheboygan Jaycees Derrick Dotski , Nate King with me and President Tim Boettner. Tim with the "Most Interesting Man" as part of the "Get the Ducks off my lawn" local fund-raiser (upper left). Derrick, Tim and Nate with Kim Hubbell and Cheri Redding. | Russ Trapp and Adam Bonarek with other Jaycees at the Cheboygan brunch.

73: World Expo of Beer (WEB) with Frankenmuth Jaycees May 17, 2014 | Gary and Kim Bulson, Kim's brother Jim Caldwell with me, Nina Perko with John Badeen, Steve Pickelmann and Peter Berhman. Brian Burns and I enjoy a brief break together. | Kim Hubbell, John Bleegan, Adam Pieczynski with me and Edoona Russell. Tom & Tanya Quackenbush. Vette Sutton with Ray Russell.

74: Letters of support for SB878 Michigan Charitable Gaming Bureau May 15, 2014

76: Filing for 501(c)7 Status with the IRS May 29, 2014 | After losing our main fund-raiser it became one of the top missions to find another large money maker. Raffles in Michigan require a 501(c) status with the IRS. After much discussion the membership agreed to proceed with filing as a 501(c)7 status or a "Social Group." Vote took place at the Annual Meeting on April 5, 2014. Paperwork (seen above) mailed to IRS on May 29, 2014. That's me at the post office with the envelope to the right.

77: IRS Update - 501(c)7 filing

78: 2013-2014 Year-end Banquet / installation Dinner June 7, 2014 @ Joy Manor in Westland | Yearend gift presentation. Gary Bulson swears in 2014-2015 Board. Award winners Kim Hubbell (Spirit Award) and Wendy Klinge (Swiss Army Knife). Swearing in Gary Bulson as 42nd President. Amy Allen, Jenny D, Gary and Kim Bulson, Becca Hull with Abby Smith in the front. Abby Smith, Jen (Hughes) Fulton with Teri Marshall. The Unusual Suspects entertain us.

79: Wide view of attendees. Wendy Taylor, Tonya Mayrand, Abby Smith and Jamie Coker. Denny Birt, with Char (guest of) Michele Baskin and Mike Primeau. Mechele McClain hugs group of Mark and Vette Sutton with Jen and Troy Fulton. Art and Michael Abbott flank me. Thank you to Gary Bulson and Jim Coulson from making this event happen.

80: 2013-2014 Yearend Banquet Program

81: Adam & Tami Pieczynski June 14, 2014 | Senate Weddings | Gary & Kim Bulson March 8, 2014

82: Wendy Klinge is name one of the top 5 treasurers in the country while our Region Booth takes 3rd Place. President Larry Bohn sports Michigan colors with wife Ronnie. More region booth shots and barnyard races. I'm the "Love Ewe." Michigan at the general meeting. Senators prepare lunch for the Jaycees. Our Junior Senators Matt Sernau and John Badeen along with Tanya Quackenbush visit Doug and Jo Ellen Hincker at our hotel. My fellow 2013-2014 State Presidents with our PIE chair Terry Jones (in front). | 2013-2014 US JCI Senate Nationa Meeting Doubletree in Baltimore, MD June 24-28, 2014

83: Baltimore, MD

84: Line up... Karen Voshel, Vic Farrugia (ONT), Bruce Geddes (OH) and Marty Wase (NC)... Tennessee Senators strut their stuff.

85: 2014 Hal Krekorian Memorial Golf Outing June 26, 2014 Raised: $6,063 | Jack P, Mike O'Connell, Randy Young and Russ Cooper brought up the rear - both in teams and in score. Picnic and prizes afterwards.

86: 2013-2014 US JCI Senate Nationa Meeting Evening Banquet June 27, 2014 | Karen Hillegonds wins Outstanding State Newsletter for the Filibuster with President Larry Bohn and Lynn Terrill. Jo Ellen and Doug Hincker at evening banquet with Mike O'Connell. The Michigan group of Don McDurmon, Kim Hubbell, Karen Hillegonds, Mike and Linda Primeau, Bill Beddoes, Deb Mogdis and Vette Sutton.

87: "Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein | Presentation of Tom Humphrey Memorial Award to the Outstanding US JCI Senate State President, Kathy King from Virginia with President Larry Bohn. Vic Farrugia stops to pose with me. Above are the Voshels, Karen and John. Below are Russ Cooper with fiancée Maxine Wallisch. I grab US JCI Senate's webmaster Lowell Vahl for a quick pose.

88: Where in the world is Sue today?

89: MI Jaycees 90th Anniversary Ad - Feb 15, 2014

94: The Dream Catch - Region V Newsletter - Jul - Sep 2013

95: The Dream Catch - Region V Newsletter - Nov 2013 - Jan 2014

96: The Dream Catch - Region V Newsletter - Feb - Apr 2014

105: Autographs

106: Autographs

107: Autographs

Sizes: mini|medium|large|jumbo
Default User
  • By: Susan F.
  • Joined: almost 4 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 2
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Year In Review
  • My year as President of the MI JCI Senate 2013-2014.
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 3 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order