Up to 50% Off + MORE! Code: TREAT Ends: 10/24 Details
  1. Help

A Year in Review - 2011

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

A Year in Review - 2011 - Page Text Content

S: A Year in Review - 2011

FC: A Year in Review 2011

1: 2011 was a wonderful year. There were so many events I was able to participate in and enjoy. I was fortunate to spend lots of time with friends, and was able to travel to see family. While this book doesn't include everything that happened in the last year, it highlights some great times. I also realized where I was forgetting to take pictures - Hays! I did get back many times to Hays in 2011, but failed to take pictures to include in the book. Hopefully next year will include more pictures from home.

2: On our second snow day in a row, Alison, Kristen, and I decided to enjoy the extra time off, go to Antioch Park and play in the snow! By the afternoon the roads weren't too bad, and with the sun out, it was actually a pretty nice day outside!

3: January 7, 2011

4: What better way to celebrate Zach and Jen's February 12th engagement than a party? The Lawrence guys came over and prepared a fantastic meal that was shared by a great group of friends! Congratulations Jen and Zach!

5: February 25, 2011

6: Several months ago I was introduced to the Pioneer Woman's blog. She is a wonderful writer, and makes even ranch life seem glamorous. When Alison, Alli, and I found out that she was publishing a book about her love story and going to be at a book signing in St. Louis, we couldn't pass up the chance! On our way to St. Louis we stopped at Kleinschmidts, a country store. We each found a shirt and I got a pair of boots!

7: After waiting in a very long line outside the library, we finally made it into the library. To our surprise, we didn't only get to meet Ree (the Pioneer Woman herself), but also Marlboro Man, her husband!

8: February 26-27, 2011

9: Before leaving St. Louis, Alison, Alli and I stopped by the PBR (Professional Bull Riding) to see some cowboys. Little did we know that we'd be able to meet one of those cowboys, Skeeter Kingsolver!

10: Senior Prom April 6, 2011

11: City on a Hill sponsored a "Senior" prom at a local geriatric center. We came and decorated, served some snacks, provided music, and then danced and mingled with the residents. It was such a great experience. I spent most of the evening with Deacon, who won the Best Dressed award. Other awards were Best Smile, Best Dancer, and of course, King and Queen (pictured dancing together). What a fun evening!

12: On a beautiful spring day, Alison, Kristen, and I went to Loose Park in Kansas City, MO. We took a couple chalkboards and wrote qualities we liked in the other person so Alison could get some good shots. Then we just enjoyed the sunshine, green grass, and gorgeous flowers!

13: April 9, 2011

14: May 8, 2011

15: It was another gorgeous day on Mother's Day! Jen, Aunt Brenda, Kristen, Alison, and I headed out to the arboretum to admire all of the spring flowers. After exploring a new path, we swung on a vine and posed by some statues. I was so glad Aunt Brenda was able to come with us so we could help her celebrate Mother's Day! While we always enjoy trips to the arboretum, this one was especially fun!

16: June 19-27, 2011

17: In June, I was able to take a week-long vacation to visit Kate, Quentin, and Josie in Boston. It was beautiful weather, so we were able to spend a lot of time outside in the courtyard/playground and a nearby park. I also wanted to do something unique to Boston, so we made a trip to the Cheers bar where we split an appetizer and had some drinks.

18: Strawberry Festival

19: While in Boston, we went to a strawberry festival. Kate and I entered chocolate-covered stuffed strawberries and a strawberry banana cake in the cooking contest. We were excited when the chocolate-covered strawberries took 1st place! Josie also had a great time picking strawberries and eating one for the first time!

20: July 12, 2011

21: The summer was hot, so when Alison acquired a recipe for triple berry frozen margaritas, we had to try them out! As we sat in the shade on the front porch, we enjoyed some great conversation and really enjoyed the fact that we lived in such a cute house in a nice area!

22: Warrior Dash 5K July 30, 2011

23: I don't know what I was thinking when I signed up to run the Warrior Dash in June. This 5K race included 12 obstacles - fire jumping, crawling through a mud pit, hurdles, running through streams, and many more. Luckily Alison and I got a 9 a.m. start time on the first day, as it got very hot and humid later in the afternoon. We made it through and had our medals and warrior hats to prove it!

24: July 30, 2011 | Kenny Chesney - Going Coastal

25: It was a HOT day, but Jen, Zach, Sarah (Zach's sister), Alison, and I headed out to an awesome concert at Arrowhead Stadium. Kenny Chesney's "Going Coastal" tour was great! Uncle Kracker, Billy Currington, and Zak Brown Band opened the concert. We enjoyed all of them and couldn't even choose a favorite!

26: August 3-4, 2011

27: The Kansas Next Step Oil and Gas Seminar was another big success! Kate and Josie were in town visiting (Quentin had to go back early to Boston to work), so they came to volunteer with the rest of us. There were great speakers who came all the way from Scotland. As always, the dinners were also fantastic. Mom did a fantastic job planning this event! However, the best part about it was spending lots of time with family!

28: August 6, 2011 | Going to Royals' games is a great summertime activity. I tend to go when they play the Detroit Tigers, since Alison and Sam are both from Michigan. Even though the Royals typically lose, the games are always fun. It's a good way to get outside, enjoy the summer evenings with friends! This game was also special because it was military appreciation day the K. There was a fly over, drum line, and a giant American flag for the national anthem.

30: Patty scored some awesome meet and greet tickets to a Keith Urban concert. It was so neat to briefly meet him, get our picture taken, and then sit through his concert. He is a great artist and a wonderful performer! Thanks, Patty, for sharing your good fortune with me!

31: August 16, 2011

32: This was my 3rd time going to the annual City on a Hill's Hee Haw Hoedown, and it was once again fantastic! The location in Weston, Missouri is perfect for a BBQ dinner, country dancing, and of course, photo ops!

33: September 20, 2011 | Hee Haw Hoedown

34: Jen's bachelorette party was a blast! We went a more nontraditional route - touring Lawrence, her soon-to-be hometown! We started at the arboretum, then went to paint some pottery, and ended up eating at a nice Italian restaurant. Jen had a good time celebrating with Sam, Alison, Kristen, Breanne, and me! | October 1, 2011

36: It's become a tradition to go to the pumpkin patch each year before Halloween. We had a great group this year! We searched for just the right pumpkins to bring home so we could decorate our porches. Unfortunately, when we brought them home the squirrels devoured them! While the pumpkins didn't last, our memories from Schaake's Pumpkin Patch will!

37: October 16, 2011

38: Mr. and Mrs. Woydziak October 29, 2011

39: Jen and Zach had a beautiful wedding! The ceremony was lovely, and you could truly see their love for God and each other throughout the Mass. After making a brief detour to Antioch Park for photos, we went to reception and had a blast! Everyone had a great time celebrating the union of two amazing individuals!

40: My first NFL game was about the best experience I could have hoped for! Daniel got 6 free tickets to the Monday night Chiefs vs. Chargers game (on Halloween). Our emotions were all over the place with lots of lead changes, but the Chiefs finally won in overtime! To top it all off, I got to meet some great new friends and hang out with some old ones! | Chiefs vs. Chargers 23-20

41: October 31, 2011

42: The annual Christmas ornament exchange was another big success. We had salad and dessert for dinner using my Christmas dishes. (Thanks, Patty!) There was lots of visiting, and of course the actual exchange of ornaments! It's so nice to get together with our whole "girls group" and catch up, even if we can only all make it just every once in awhile!

43: December 3, 2011

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gigantic
Rose Denning
  • By: Rose D.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 0
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: A Year in Review - 2011
  • Tags: None
  • Started: about 5 years ago
  • Updated: over 4 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order