Up to 50% Off! Up to 50% Off + More! Code: NOVGIFT19 Ends: 11/13 Details
Apply

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off! Up to 50% Off + More! Code: NOVGIFT19 Ends: 11/13 Details
Apply

Adoption Look Book

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Adoption Look Book - Page Text Content

BC: thank you!

FC: carol | alex | &

1: hello!

2: Hiking with my brother. | Traveling in Africa. | With my nieces in Dallas. | After finishing NYC Half Marathon. | Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity after Hurricane Katrina. | At a fund raiser with Alex’s best friend.

3: about carol | I was born in Kentucky. Lived in Illinois while my parents went to graduate school and moved to Boulder when I was 6. I grew up with my Mom (She was an elementary school teacher) and my older brother. I went to Colorado State University, and moved to San Francisco after graduation! I lived there for 18 years working as a Graphic Designer. I miss the city, the food and all my friends! When I was 12, I made a bucket list of everything I wanted to do and see. On my list was to have a family, one child I would have naturally and one child I would adopt. Why? I don't know it was just how I saw the family I wanted. I am so excited to raise a child with Alex and add a new member to our blended family! | What I love about Carol...by Alex Carol is the greatest person I have ever met. She is my best friend. She is kind, smart and fun. I cannot think of anyone who would be a better mother.

4: My step sister, my brother and me. | Grilling in the Rain! | In the Navy | Me and my brother. | In San Francisco at the Giants Game with friends.

5: about alex | I was born in Iowa and adopted when I was 7 days old from the same orphanage where my mom was adopted. When I was 1, we moved to Boulder. My dad was a dentist and my mom was an elementary school art teacher. I have one brother, 3 step sisters and 3 step brothers, big family! I have two sons from my first marriage, they are 18 and 21. The oldest is living in India with his mom. And the youngest is a pre-med major at CU Denver. | What I LOVE about Alex...by Carol Alex is kind, funny, smart, friendly, gentle and thoughtful! He can build a house from start to finish and fix anything in the house. He will try most anything and will talk to anyone. He has an amazing outlook on life and when I am down he can make me laugh and show me the good side in any situation. The most important thing...he is loving father and says, “I Love You” to his sons (and me) every single day!

6: Waiting for the subway New York City. | Our wedding in Mexico | My annual birthday “wig” party! | Fishing in Minnesota.

7: how we (re)met | ALEX: We met 10 years before at our mutual friends’ wedding. Carol’s friend was marrying my friend. I was married at the time! But I remembered her from all the weekend wedding events. CAROL: I sublet my apartment in San Francisco at that time to move home for 6 months and save money. During that time I sent out an email to ALL my friends saying I wanted to “practice dating” while I was home, so I was ready for the single scene when I returned to San Francisco. Our mutual friends asked me if I remembered Alex and told me he was now divorced. I said I did remember him, and they set us up. After a few dates I asked Alex if would have more kids, because I knew I definitely wanted to have kids. He said YES. And that was that!

8: Alex’s brother and his family. | Alex’s youngest son, high school graduation. | Carol’s nieces and their dog Jazz. | Carol’s brother and his family at DisneyWorld. | Carol with our guinea pigs: Brownie and Buddy. | Alex and Carol’s brother at a CU game! | Family Photo.

9: our families | Alex’s mom and step dad making holiday dinner. | Carol's mom and step dad on one of their camping trips. | Fun with Uncle Al. | Alex and his oldest son after a football game. Alex used to coach when the kids were little. | The best dog ever! RIP Finn! | Family photo at our wedding.

10: yearly traditions as told by Carol | VALENTINE’S DAY: Alex got lucky. I am not a big v-day person. All I ever want is card. This year Alex gave me a card, flowers and made dinner. Very sweet! EASTER: We celebrate with my Mom. When my nieces were younger we would create a scavenger hunt for them. Alex’s mom also creates a scavenger hunt for the grandkids. APRIL: My Annual Birthday "Wig" Party. MAY: Alex’s mom and step dad leave for their summer house in Minnesota. She cooks a goodbye dinner for everyone before they go. JULY: My brother and his family come for 2 weeks! Yeah! FOURTH OF JULY: We try to spend in San Francisco with our friends. They have a block party, games for everyone and a water slide for the kids! THANKSGIVING: We rotate between my mom’s, our house or Alex’s brothers house. Alex mom’s wild rice, his step dad’s squash casserole, my mom’s chocolate pie. Alex deep fries turkey, or I brine a turkey all night and roast it. One year we did both! SUNDAY BEFORE CHRISTMAS: Christmas with my Mom. When my step dad was alive, he would fry catfish and make coleslaw. We continue this tradition in honor of him.

11: DECEMBER 23RD: Alex’s brothers birthday! Alex mom fixes her special spaghetti, recipe passed down from her grandmother. There is a huge extended family dinner. This year 20 people! DECEMBER: Alex’s mom has gingerbread house building afternoon with all the grandkids and each of them gets a nutcracker each year! CHRISTMAS EVE: Christmas at our house. My family opened all gifts Christmas Eve and in the morning you received a big one from Santa. Alex’s family opened nothing until Christmas Day. We have compromised with opening one on Christmas Eve. For dinner crab legs and shrimp boil. CHRISTMAS MORNING: Christmas with Alex and his sons. CHRISTMAS EVENING: Dinner at Alex’s moms. This year beef tenderloin and cheesy potatoes, Yummy! Birthday parties, BBQs with friends, kickball team, camping, golfing, traveling to see friends, CU football games, plays and dance recitals and recently graduations. We make sure we have some relaxing nights at home spending time with just the family.

12: our home | We live in Louisville, Colorado. Just outside of Boulder. Our house has 4 bedrooms and a big back yard that backs up to an elementary school. The neighborhood has many children of different ages. Summer or winter you can find them all outside playing in their yards, setting up lemonade stands and building snowmen. | Reg, our neighbors rooster. | Summer in Colorado. | Winter in Colorado.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|gigantic
Default User
  • By: carol b.
  • Joined: almost 6 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Adoption Look Book
  • Theme for Mixbook Scrapbookers
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago