Up to 45% Off Everything! Code: PREVIEW Ends: 1/17 Details

Black Portfolio

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Black Portfolio - Page Text Content

BC: Standard: S2L1. Students will investigate the life cycles of different living organisms. Pictures provided by: http://www.thebutterflysite.com/life-cycle.shtml http://paulmirocha.com/projects/butterflies-any-questions/#.UVx2VVnD_ug

FC: The Life Cycle of a Butterfly By: Buffy R. Day

1: The Life Cycle of a Butterfly By: Buffy R. Day

3: Butterflies are insects. They have three body parts: a head, thorax, and abdomen. A butterfly has six legs and wings. This book is going to tell you the life cycle of a butterfly.

4: Butterflies go through a series of changes called metamorphism. There are four stages: egg, larva, pupa, and adult.

5: The first stage of metamorphosis is an egg. A female butterfly lays her eggs on a plant. The plant provides food for the eggs.

6: The second stage of metamorphism is a larva. The eggs hatch into a caterpillar. The caterpillar is small at first, but grows quickly as it eats plants.

7: The third stage of metamorphism is a pupa. The caterpillar spins a cocoon around itself called a chrysalis. The pupa changes into an adult while inside the cocoon.

8: The final stage of metamorphosis is the adult stage. The adult breaks a hole in the cocoon and a butterfly emerges.

9: Fun Facts: Butterflies have no noses. They smell with feelers. They taste their food with their feet.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|colossal
Default User
  • By: Buffy D.
  • Joined: almost 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Black Portfolio
  • Theme for Mixbook Scrapbookers
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 5 years ago

Sign up and get up to
50% off on your first order

Sign up and get up to
50% off on your first order