Enjoy up to 55% Off! Code: JOLLY Ends: 12/5 Details
Apply
  1. Help

Suriano Adoption Portfolio

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Suriano Adoption Portfolio - Page Text Content

FC: Matthew & Lisa

1: Dear Expectant Parents, We are Matthew and Lisa. Thank you for considering us as an adoptive family for your child. We appreciate the immeasurable love and concern you have for your child and we trust you will make whatever decision you feel is best for him or her. We hope this letter gives you a glimpse into our lives and the love and opportunities we promise to give your child. Our family story began when we met at a small graduate school in Israel. We were married after finishing our Master’s degrees and will celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary in September! We share a passion for history, travel and the outdoors. Our favorite excursions involve hiking through nature and visiting historical sites throughout the world. Matthew was raised in the Chicago area and graduated from the University of Illinois with a History degree. He found his passion in Biblical Studies and received a PhD from UCLA in 2008. He is currently a visiting lecturer at Indiana University but will be an assistant professor next year at the University of Maryland outside of Washington, D.C. Matt is the liveliest story-teller Lisa knows: he can remember details of stories and conversations that he heard years ago and retell them with great enthusiasm and passion. Matt is fairly extroverted; he loves getting together with his many friends; he's an expert at Skype! Although he’s been thrilled to live in Indiana where we're closer to his parents in Chicago and his beloved Chicago Cubs and Bulls, he’s excited about exploring the history and culture of the East Coast with our family. Since Matt’s parents still live in Chicago, we know we will continue to visit that area often even after our move to Maryland. Lisa grew up in Kansas and graduated from the University of Kansas with a Bachelor's Degree in Aerospace Engineering. She worked at Boeing in Seattle for ten years but realized her heart's desire was to explore the world and learn more about biblical history. So she moved to Jerusalem for two years and received a Master's in Ancient History. She and Matt met and fell in love while hiking through the hill country around Jerusalem and excavating Roman remains near the Mediterranean Sea. We returned to the States to get married and she worked full time as a commercial real estate broker in Los Angeles until the adoption of our son, Alexander, when she became a stay at home mother. Lisa tends to be more introverted and is very dedicated to her family. As an only child, she tries to spend significant time with her father who still lives in Kansas. When she is not exploring the world with Alex, she loves reading, playing the piano, and learning ancient languages. We always envisioned being part of a family with multiple children. Matt enjoyed playing with his two younger brothers and sister during his childhood and appreciates their friendship as an adult. Lisa was an only child who always wanted an older brother! Adoption has already allowed us to become parents once. We look forward to the warmth, fun, and activity another child would add to our family and to the lifetime bond our children may develop with each other.

2: Alex came into our life through the miracle of adoption in July 2008 while we still lived in Southern California! We love seeing the world from Alex's perspective and try to make sure he experiences many different activities. We have an open relationship with Alex’s birth mother, sending her letters, photos and even art projects twice a year. While we lived in California, we were even able to meet his birth mother and her mother several times for picnics at local parks. They also celebrated Alex’s 1st and 2nd birthdays with us! We're hoping to have a similar open relationship with you. Our hope is that your child will have pride in his or her heritage and we believe that as much familiarity as possible with you will help achieve this. Our family has strong ties to adoption: Matt's sister Bethany and her husband adopted our precious nephew, Josiah (age 3), and adorable niece, Gabriella (age 1 and a half). Alex and Josiah are almost the same age and love to scamper around together. Although our families live a few states apart, we look forward to the times during the year we can get together. Thanksgiving and Christmas are always spent with one of our families and we usually work in summer visits as well. Matt's family is planning a vacation together in Florida this summer and we hope to celebrate Alex's 3rd birthday at Disney World! Our town in southern Indiana has an abundance of activities for families. We’ve enjoyed hiking the rolling hills and forests and fishing at the nearby lake. Lisa and Alex have quickly become a part of the community: we joined a weekly neighborhood playgroup, we enjoy meeting friends at local parks, the library, and at our town's children's museum. Lisa has also enjoyed living near her aunts and uncles who love to indulge Alex with golf cart rides through their wooded property and visits to pet her cousin's horses. We’re excited about exploring the state parks of Maryland as well as investigating the Smithsonian museum, the National Zoo, and all the historical sites in and around Washington D.C. Lisa plans to continue to stay home with a new baby. Matt’s position as a university professor allows him a very flexible schedule and he enjoys significant breaks during Christmas and the summer. His research projects will also allow us to continue to travel through the United States and overseas. We hope we’ve been able to answer many of your questions about our family. As parents, we will do our utmost to provide a secure and loving environment for your child and every opportunity, educational and cultural, to explore and develop his or her potential and talents. Sincerely, Matthew & Lisa

3: Ready for a bike ride! | Outside Matt's office at Indiana University | Making cookies in our kitchen | Welcome to Our Home

4: Alexander Lynn | 1st camping trip. 8 months old | 1st Birthday portrait | Alex's day of birth! 1 hour old! | Indiana snowstorm, 2 and a half years old | A park near our home in California, 2 years old

5: Alex and his Birth Family | Dinner with Alex's birth grandmother at age 6 months | Alex's 1st Birthday Party | A park play date with Alex's birth mother and her mother at 19 months | A train ride on Alex's 2nd birthday

6: With Lisa's dad, Lynn, at his home in Kansas | Lisa's Dad

7: Meeting a stingray at the Fort Myers Aquarium | Captiva Beach | Boating with family on the Fort Myers waterways | Exploring the 6-Mile Cypress Slough with Grandpa | Visiting Lisa's dad during his winter trips to Florida | Florida

8: Matt's Parents | Playing at a park with Grandpa | With Matt's parents, Lou & Mary Jean, at the Grand Canyon | On vacation in Las Vegas | Storytime with cousin Josiah | Baking cookies with Grandma

9: Matt's Siblings & Their Families | Hiking with Uncle Ben, Aunt Taryn & Cousin Josiah | Fall 2010 Family Photo (left to right): Matt, Lisa, Alex, Mark (brother), Lou (dad), Taryn (Ben's wife), Mary Jean (mom) holding Gabriella (Beth's daughter), Bethany (sister), Brian (Beth's husband), Ben (brother) holding Josiah (Beth's son) -- Beth's daughter, Lidia, was born in late November! | With cousins Josiah, Gabriella, & Lidia | Playing with Uncle Mark at our house | Hiking into the Grand Canyon with Ben & Taryn

10: Fishing at Lake Monroe | Exploring Turkey Run State Park | Horsin' around with Matt's parents and Lisa's Uncle Carroll & Aunt Donna | Hiking in Brown County State Park | Fishing at Aunt Donna's pond | Indiana

11: Chicago | With Matt's dad at a Chicago Cubs game | Naperville's Children's Museum | Sledding! | Touring the Field Museum | Exploring Lincoln Park Zoo

12: Exploring Abroad | ISRAEL | MEXICO | ENGLAND | Canyons in the Golan Heights | The ruins of an anceint storeroom in Galilee | Hiking to an archaeological site in southern Israel | A Roman wall in London | Celebrating our 6th wedding anniversary in Cabo San Lucas

13: Celebrating Christmas | With Santa Claus! | At Matt's parents' house | With Lisa's dad | With Matt's brothers, Ben & Mark, & sister-in-law, Taryn

14: Playing at our favorite beach! | Hanging out at a Los Angeles Clippers basketball game | Celebrating Matt's PhD graduation! | Antelope Valley Poppy Festival | California

15: The Happiest Place on Earth! | Meeting Mickey Mouse! | With Grandma at 10 months | Alex's 1st trip to Disneyland! | Disneyland!

16: Exploring Our National Parks | Joshua Tree National Park | Grand Canyon National Park | Santa Cruz Island, part of Channel Islands National Park | With our camping buddies at Sequoia National Park | A cave in King's Canyon National Park

17: Yosemite National Park | An exhausted hiker! | Yosemite Falls | Half Dome | Our camping buddies! | Alex and his best friend, Wyatt

19: Two Families I have two families on this earth, One by adoption, and one by birth. My first family was very kind But then one day they couldn't find The things they needed to help me grow. They made a decision out of love, I know. They said "Good-bye", and then they cried. But my second family did not hide. They knew that I should come inside Their loving home and family. Now I'm here, and it's best for me. And I still have two families on this earth, One by adoption, and one by birth. ~ Amanda Dees age 9 Written after meeting her birth mother

Sizes: mini|medium|large|enormous
Default User
  • By: Lisa S.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 0
  • Default User
    • By: matt s.
    • Contributions: 0 photos , 0 pages

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Suriano Adoption Portfolio
  • Theme for Mixbook Scrapbookers
  • Tags: None
  • Started: over 5 years ago
  • Updated: over 5 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order