11 Deals to Black Friday! 50% + 5% Off Cards & Lay Flat Books! Code: BFDEALA Ends: 11/20 Details
Apply

  1. Help
11 Deals to Black Friday! 50% + 5% Off Cards & Lay Flat Books! Code: BFDEALA Ends: 11/20 Details
Apply

Real World Project

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Real World Project - Page Text Content

FC: By: Shelbi Bailey

1: Table of Contents About the Author......3 Education.................4 Profession................5 City Overview...........6-7 Standard Living.........8-9 Household Items.......10-11 Transportation...........12-13 Grocery List..............14 Entertainment & Miscellaneous.........16-17 Budget Reflection....18

3: Shelbi Bailey is a 9th grade student at Oxford High School. | She enjoys shopping, spending time with family and friends, and riding four wheelers. When it comes to writing Shelbi likes to write about herself, her family and anything school related. Shelbi finds the most challenging part of writing to be writers block. When Shelbi gets older, she hopes to become a Registered Nurse. Her advice for students that will be entering the 9th grade next year is read your sections for Mrs. Rogers.

4: I attended University of South Alabama. It is located in Mobile, Alabama. I chose this university because they have a great medical program. I majored in Nursing. I am now looking for a job as a Registered Nurse. I chose this profession because I have always wanted to work in the medical field and help people that are sick. | Education

5: Profession | Registered Nurses promote and restore patients' health by completing the nursing process, collaborating with physicians and multidisciplinary team members, and provide physical and psychological support to patients, friends, and families. They also supervise assigned team members. My annual salary for this job is $65,470. My ultimate goal in this profession is to become the supervisor over all Registered Nurses on my shift.

6: City Overview

7: Now that I have graduated, I plan to move to Birmingham, Alabama. I chose to live in this city, because I want to work at UAB, which is a hospital in this city. This city is located about an hour away from Oxford. The overall population of this city is 212,038. It is close to Hoover, Leeds, and Homewood. The primary forms of entertainment in this city are Airwalk, The Birmingham Zoo, and the Summit. Most people in this city work in the nursing industry. Crime in this city is high.

8: Standard Living

9: I am going to live at Eagle Ridge apartments. The rent for this apartment is $690. In order to move in, I will need to pay a $150 deposit. Some features of this apartment are a swimming pool, jacuzzi, tanning center, game center, and fitness facility. Other bills that I will need to pay each month will include electricity, Internet, cable, and a cell phone bill.

10: Household Items

11: The apartment I chose came equipped with a stove and refrigerator. Therefore, I had to purchase a TV, computer, couch, chairs, kitchen table and chairs, end tables, night stand, dresser, pots, pans, cups, plates, bowls, silverware, cooking utensils, bed sheets, towels, wash cloths, hand towels, laundry basket, and pillows. With the assistance of my graduation present, I was able to purchase many things for my new apartment. This amount gave me additional money for the month. The majority of these funds were spent on furniture. Some of my priorities in furnishing my apartment was making sure I purchased the necessities I needed, but not spending too much money. I didn't have to do without anything, I chose not to purchase a mini fridge, love seat, TV stand, tray tables, a desk, and an ironing board.

12: Transportation

13: I have chosen a 2010 Honda Accord LX-P as my form of transportation. This car costs $16,998. I will need to pay $295.11 each month for 66 months. The APR is 5%, the total interest paid is $2,479.26, making the total cost of my car being $19,477.26. I chose this car because my family always drove Honda's and they are very reliable vehicles.

14: Grocery List

15: My total grocery bill for this month was $183. I purchased items in the following categories: drinks - $15, lunch, dinner - $27, household - $38, personal - $60, and other - $43. A majority of my funds were spent in the personal category on items such as toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, straightener, and blow dryer. I believe that part of this list will be sufficient enough to get me through a full month. In drafting this grocery list, I learned that some of the things I have to have and eat isn't cheap!

16: Entertainment & Miscellaneous

17: After paying all of my monthly bills, I have $473.87 left to spend on entertainment & miscellaneous items. I will have $40 in savings because that is 10% of my check. I will have $30 for home maintenance, $30 for car maintenance in case something breaks. I will have $30 for eating out because I hate cooking. I will have $30 for the hair salon. I'll have $40 for entertainment. And I will have $50 for clothing and $50 for shoes. After making all allocations for this section, my final budget total is $173.87.

18: Budget Reflection

21: Published by Bailey Inc.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Default User
  • By: Shelbi B.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Real World Project
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago