Up to 50% Off! 50% Off Bestsellers + More! Code: MERRY19 Ends: 12/9 Details

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off! 50% Off Bestsellers + More! Code: MERRY19 Ends: 12/9 Details

The three branches of government

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

The three branches of government - Page Text Content


FC: The 3 branches of the U.S government by Amarachi, Jay, Shaffer & Alyssa

1: Why were the 3 branches made? | The three branches were made because. . . The Americans had just gotten out of the rule of an all powerful king. They were trying to prevent that from happening again, so they created three branches of the government to prevent to much of one ruler.

2: The first branch of government is . . . | Legislative!! The legislative branch makes the laws for the country. It is separated into two parts: the Senate and The House of Representatives. The Senate acts as a court during impeachments. (which are when a president gets removed from office.) The Senate also represents the citizens who live in their state. The House of Representatives are in charge of getting any bill that raises money before anyone else. They are like the Senate but represent they're district.

3: CONGRESS!! Congress is the same thing as the legislative branch. It has many responsibilities. One of them is that every law that is made must go through congress and must be voted in majority by the congress.

4: THE EXECUTIVE BRANCH! | The executive branch carries the laws that are made by Congress. They include The President (the leader), The cabinet members, and civilian & military employees.

5: THE PRESIDENT IS . . . The leader of the Executive branch. He/she can negotiate treaties with other countries. He can also act as a commander-in-chief of the army. The president can also grant pardons (slow down punishments such as executions.)

6: THE JUDICIAL BRANCH!!! The judicial branch interprets the law meaning they decide what they mean. There is only one MAIN court which is the Supreme court, but there are smaller courts which are the federal courts. The people who run the judicial branch are called justices. When they are elected they stay until they are either retired or removed for bad behavior.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|jumbo
Default User
  • By: Amissa o.
  • Joined: almost 8 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: The three branches of government
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 8 years ago