40%-50% Off! Code: DECOR Ends: 10/26 Details
  1. Help

A Year In Review

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

A Year In Review - Page Text Content

S: Our Yukon Adventure

FC: so many Memories | Each memory we made will remain with us forever.

1: W.A.C. Bennett Dam Near Hudson's Hope, BC | Muncho Lake | Peace River Valley

2: The cats kept their eye on the bear as he ran across the road. | A glimpse of what we saw on our voyage to the Yukon | These Bison were roaming about 10 feet from the road, in the far north eastern part of British Columbia.

3: Signpost Village in Watson Lake, Yukon was one of our stops along the way. Started in 1942, there are now over 65,000 signs posted.

4: Skagway is located at the northern tip of Alaska's Inside Passage. One of the highlights is the White Pass and Yukon Railway. Built in 1898, the train climbs from sea level, almost 3000 feet at the summit. It is just 20 miles but there are steep grades of up to 3.9%, cliff hanging turns, two tunnels and numerous bridges and trestles, on the way to the summit. Built in 1898, The Red Onion Saloon was Skagway's most exclusive bordello. Alcohol was served on the first floor, and upper floor satisfied more than the prospectors thirst, at a cost of $5.00 for 10 minutes.

5: June 2010

6: Moosehide Gathering...a bi-annual event celebrating northern First Nation heritage. It takes place down river from Dawson City, on the...... | July 2010

7: .... Moosehide Reserve. The Tr'ondek Hwech'in people relocated here in the 1890's and lived there until the 1950"s.

8: Surprise!!!! My dad came to visit in July. We spent time in downtown Whitehorse, visited Myles Canyon, and rode the White Pass Train up to the summit.

9: Carcross Desert | Emerald Lake | Another surprise! Andrea and Leeann arrived in Whitehorse. Carolyn was visiting too and was in on the gig. | Friends

10: Winter Memories | From late November until early April Brad skated outdoors on our local hockey court in Crestview. Sometimes shoveling for the first hour of a 4 hour skate.

11: Yukon Wildlife Preserve

12: My Birthday Lunch with Joshua, Denise, Brad, and Darrell. | Passing Time

13: Today we went outside and blew bubbles in the extreme cold. At first, the bubbles floated upwards but as they froze they got heavier. With the added weight they started to drop and then began to lose their shape. When they burst it looked like tissue paper, or ash that floats up from a fire. | -38 Celsius

14: Downtown Whitehorse

15: Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous Yukon: A territory in Northern Canada and home to the famous Klondike Gold Rush of 1898. Sourdough: A veteran inhabitant of the territory who has braved the entire winter and has stayed from 'freeze up' to 'thaw' of the Yukon River Rendezvous: A meeting at particular place and time. Put them all together and you have the Yukon Sourdough Rendezvous Festival which is apparently "the only true, legal and healthy cure for Cabin Fever." The festival was held February 24-27th, in Whitehorse. The overall theme of the festival is set in the 1890's and not only celebrates the Klondike Gold Rush but all things Yukon. There were flour packing contests, dog sled pulls, local entertainment, and lots more. This is a restored historic building that has been relocated to Shipyard's Park where the festival took place. | MMmmm..Marshmallows with a wind chill of -40!!!

16: This is a picture of the SS Klondike which is an old sternwheeler that traveled the upper Yukon, between Whitehorse and Dawson City, for the first half of the 20th Century. Now located on the banks of the Yukon River in Whitehorse it has been restored to her original 1937-40 appearance. The SS Klondike pays tribute to an era of riverboat transportation that linked the Yukon to the outside world, before roads were built.

18: In 3 hours I caught the first, the last and the most fish. I caught 6 Rainbow Trout in total, but only took 3 home to eat. | Leon and his Starbucks rod an reel. | Josh and Canna putting a hole in the ice

19: Raven Print The parking lot was pristine white and laid out like a perfectly ironed sheet. No wrinkles, no tracks, no footprints or ripples. By the next day the canvas had inspired a raven to swoop in to have a snow bath, flap his way out. and leave this distinct impression.

20: This the view from our front porch at the beginning of the day...and at the end of the day. | Yukon Landscape

21: Sun Dogs typically appear when the sun is low to the horizon, usually just prior to sunset or after sunrise, and during the winter months. This particular morning the sun was low in the sky. The light from the sun was reflecting off the ice crystals that were floating in the atmosphere. Sun dogs look like vertically arched rainbows or sun spots that are equidistant (22 degrees) to the left and the right of the sun, and at the same elevation as the sun. It is quite phenomenal. | A Sun Dog

22: ....for a weekend of snowshoeing and drinking | Brad's friend Jon arrived from Victoria....

23: Dewey Lake Skagway Alaska | Kite skiers north of Skagway | Having fun on a sunny day in Alaska

24: Cats are not our whole life, but they help make our lives whole. - Bettina Eddie | Buddy and Kaya

26: Dawson City Nuggets vs Ottawa Senators Alumni | February 12, 2011 | Ron Mclean | Don Cherry | Exciting times!!! Brad and I volunteered for Hockey Day in Canada events. I worked as a "gopher" for CBC, and Brad drove around Whitehorse with the Ottawa Senators Alumni. | Yukon Hockey Hall of Fame at McBride Museum

27: Yukon Landscape | Our humble abode ------>

28: Yukon Quest 2011 | Since 1984, in the Yukon and Alaska wilderness, an epic winter sports event takes place..... the Yukon Quest International Dog SLed Race. The Quest takes place every February when the weather conditions can be the coldest and most unpredictable. A maximum of 50 mushers and their dog teams travel about 1600 kilometres over rough and sometimes hazardous terrain, either from Whitehorse, Yukon to Fairbanks, Alaska or the opposite. The race last from 10-16 days and all teams completing the race receive $1000. The purse is shared between the first 15 finishing teams and the champion takes home $ 35 000.

29: Winter Memories | Y U K O N Q U E S T

30: Mendenhall Glacier, Juneau Alaska

31: Swinging at the beach, skiing at Eaglecrest, the wall of skis and Juneau at night.

32: Brad was determined to skate in Alaska. So he borrowed a shovel.... and started making his own ice rink on Twin Lakes, in Juneau | Just getting started.... | ....still shoveling.... | and now it is done.

33: It was a 6.5 hour ferry ride from Skagway to Juneau so I spent time photographing different images and took advantage of the lighting and angles.

34: This was the best night yet, in the Yukon. I got a tip about the northern lights showing up. It meant staying up late and then heading out into the bitter cold, -28 Celsius. At 10:45 p.m. I got bundled up and went out to the end of my driveway, away from all the trees and looked up to see and incredible green rainbow arching over my house to the north. It was starting. I warmed the truck up and headed north away from the city and out into the wilderness. By the time I got to Horse Creek Road and parked, the lights were on fire. There are no words to describe the experience of the sky changing colours and waves of light slowly swirling around in different directions. | Northern Lights

35: Fish Lake Views | Yukon River South Klondike Highway

36: N e w H a i r c u t | Doreen, Ryder and I. | New Hat | Birthday Dinner

37: If I had a son, this young man would have been my first choice. I am so fortunate to have him in my life and to have had the opportunity to parent him while he was growing up. We only had 5 hours together in Vancouver and we spent it walking, talking, laughing and dodging raindrops. | J O R D A N

38: Airports are some of the most interesting places. Not only do I love flying, I love walking inside and outside the airport....... | ...enjoying all the architecture, artwork, landscape, and of course the quirky people. | Vancouver Airport Highlights | It was a beautiful day in Vancouver. It was cloudy and rainy, but the air was warm and fresh. I was reminded of why I love the west coast, even in March.

39: Five Fabulous Women

40: Laughter | family memories

41: of | 2011 | with family

42: Outdoor hockey on April 2nd in Porter Creek

43: April 17, 2011 | May 12, 2011 | The wacky weather of the Yukon | Not | Winter | Spring

44: Myles Canyon | Scout Lake Kokanee | Mendenhall

45: Hidden Lakes | Carcross Desert | Annie Lake area

46: During a visit from Brad's mom Barb, we took a day trip to...... Carcorss, Yukon. | We also headed over to the nearest BC town of Atlin.

47: L i t S t a l l e m L o a n k e

48: Dawson City from the Hostel on the west side of the Yukon River | Dawson City Hostel | Downtown Dawson City | Midnight Dome Viewpoint overlooking the Klondike Valley | 2900 ft above sea level the Yukon River continues north

49: Tombstone Mountain | Gold Dredge

51: Tombstone Provincial Park, Yukon

53: W I L D F L O W E R S | Y U K O N

54: Our drive to Haines, Alaska was rewarding. This sow and her cubs were casually eating along side the Alaska Highway. | GRizzlies

55: Davidson Glacier along Seduction Trail in Chilkat Park | We hiked up King's Throne which overlooks Kathleen Lake in Kluane National Park. | Kathleen Lake from King's Throne

56: Mitsuo Kuroha's visit from Ushiku, Japan.

57: C A L S G T A A R M Y P E D E | July 2011

59: Heckel Hill Windmills

60: South and North Canol Road | This 824 km road, built in 1942, paralleled a 10 cm oil pipeline from Norman Wells, NWT to Whitehorse, Yukon. | A choppy paddle on Quiet Lake was followed by a rainy drive through a colourful ground covered valley. We camped at Lapie Canyon and Johnson Lake. On our final morning camping we woke up to the complete silence of the Yukon. | Pelly River Suspension Bridge | <--- Lapie Canyon

62: South and North Canol Road | A choppy paddle on Quiet Lake was followed by a rainy drive through a colourful ground covered valley. We camped at Lapie Canyon and Johnson Lake. On our final morning at the campsite we woke up to "Yukon quiet". | Pelly River Suspension Bridge | Lapie Canyon

63: This 824 km road, built in 1942, paralleled a 10 cm oil pipeline from Norman Wells, North West Territories, to Whitehorse, Yukon. | Johnson Lake

64: A L P A I V N I E A T I O N | Chilkoot Pass and Ice Fields Tour

65: Kluane Mountains | Haines, Alaska

67: with Dave and Antonia

68: Family, Fun, Fresh Air and Snow

69: Good times are even better when they are shared

70: Keno City

71: OUr final trip of the 2 year adventure....tombstone, Dawson, mayo , Keno City....and here at Five Mile Lake

Sizes: mini|medium|large|huge
Default User
  • By: bonnie m.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: A Year In Review
  • Tags: None
  • Started: over 5 years ago
  • Updated: over 4 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order