Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Code: SPOOK Ends: 10/31 Details
  1. Help

Zehr Adoption Profile

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

Zehr Adoption Profile - Page Text Content

BC: A Good Beginning Makes a Good Ending

FC: Elias and Jessica Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to tell you about ourselves and our family. We can’t even begin to imagine the process that you must be going through, but recognize that the choices that you are making are based on what you feel is best for your child. No matter what choice you make, we thank you for considering us and following your heart.

1: We have been together for 10 years now (yes, we were high school sweethearts) and are best friends. Our dog, Scrumpy, joined our family 3 years ago and has been such a joy! Our journey hasn’t always been easy, but we both feel tremendously blessed that we have been able to travel it together. Everything we have been through has helped us to grow as individuals, as a couple and has shaped us into the family we are today.

2: is a little world created by love.

3: We live in a beautiful rural community in Northern NY only a few minutes from both sets of parents. We visit them often and enjoy making them a big part of family life. Our siblings all live out of state, but we enjoy visiting them several times a year between traveling to see them and them traveling to see us. Family is extremely important to us and they have been so supportive in our decision to grow our family through adoption. Elias works along side his father in the field of construction and we are fortunate that Jessica can work part time as a Licensed Massage Therapist and as an office assistant with the hopes to be at home as often as possible with our future children. - | Center: In front of Whiteface Mountain Far Left: Visiting Pennsylvania Right: Enjoying the snow

4: Left: In Bolivia with one of the babies that I worked with. Below: In West Africa with children from one of the villages

5: the best thing about me is | About Jessica: I was raised in a small town in northern NY with my parents and older sister. My dad worked full time and my mom stayed at home and babysat a few other children until my sister and I were both in school, which is something that I hope to be able to give our children. We grew up with a big back yard and could often be found playing outside with the neighbor children. My sister and I were expected to help out around the house and even though we often complained, it taught us responsibility and we were always given enough time to play and be kids. My parents were loving and always let us be who we were and become who we are today. I feel as though I have grown into a loving and compassionate person. I love children and cannot wait to channel that love and energy into being a mother. I also, love to cook and learn more about natural health. I enjoy making homemade snacks and meals and knowing what is in the food we are eating. I may not be the best housekeeper, but my family will always be well fed!

6: About Elias: I was raised in the same small town as Jessica with my parents, two older sisters and multiple foster siblings. My father worked out of the house and my mother stayed at home and raised us and the foster children that we had living with us at the time. Growing up my sisters and I were involved in school activities such as chorus, band, and sports, and we were also involved in church activities such as youth group and bible studies. Growing up we were also expected to do daily chores such as dishes, folding laundry, helping in the garden and cleaning around the house. I have a close knit family and we visit my parents on a regular basis and are able to visit my sisters’ and their family’s on holidays as well. I enjoy woodworking and building and I love to joke around with my friends and family. I am very active and try to play hockey on a county league when I have the time. I enjoy working with computers and look forward to a future career in this field. I can't wait to be a father and use some of my energy to play with our future children.

7: Right: Elias helping babysit Jessica's cousins Below: Elias with one of our neighbor puppies in West Africa

8: Right: Family Picture Below Left: Christmas 2010 Below Right: Camping as a family

9: About Our Family: We met when Jessica was 15 and Elias was 18. Our two youth groups were traveling to Atlanta, Georgia together for a youth convention. We laugh about the fact that even though we were born and raised in the same town, went to the same school and were even in band together, it took us traveling to Atlanta to meet. We quickly became friends and a few short months later, we began dating. We would be lying if we said it has always been easy, but the ups and downs have made us who we are today. We got married in August of 2008 and knew that we would want children as quickly as possible. However, God had other plans and we have now had 5 years to grow even stronger as a couple and develop a firm marriage. Three years ago, our dog, Scrumpy, joined our family while serving as missionaries in West Africa. He has been such a blessing and wonderful addition to our family!

10: making | We often visit our parents, and on holidays we try to alternate between traveling to visit our siblings and them coming to see us. Even if we don’t get to see them as often as we would like, this child will have wonderful aunts, uncles and cousins (someday) and will have grandparents that play an active role in his/her life. | Left: Elias' parents and sister visiting us in West Africa dressed in Gambian clothing Below: Jessica's parents visiting us in West Africa

11: Center: Much of our family supporting a local walk for a charity. We had support from Elias' parents, two sisters, one brother in-law, one uncle and Jessica's mom, aunt, uncle and cousins. | Low Right corner: Jessica and her sister with their Grandmother

12: Left: Jessica teaching Bible Study in West Africa Below: Elias teaching Bible study in West Africa

13: Above: Our Christmas "tree" in West Afica Left: Jessica with children from a Children's home in Bolivia | We are Christians and our faith is extremely important to us. This child will know what we believe and will be raised with the same faith, but once he/she is old enough, we will want him/her to make the decision regarding what he/she believes on his/her own. No matter what decision he/she makes, we will be supportive and understanding.

14: Left: Leaving West Africa to come back to the United States for the first time as a family of 3! Right: Enjoying vacation | Right: Enjoying a hike together

17: How we see the future: If you were to choose us we would be honored to exchange pictures and letters as well as 1-2 visits per year depending on distance. We want your child to know who you are and his/her adoption story. We plan on being very honest with your child from the start about the fact that he/she is adopted so that he/she feels comfortable asking questions regarding the adoption. You will always be a part of your child’s life and our lives. To contact us: please call our adoption attorney, Mary Walsh Snyder at: 1-518-225-2776 or our adoption agency Hudson Valley Adoption Services at: 845-338-0700

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Default User
  • By: Jessica Z.
  • Joined: about 4 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 3
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: Zehr Adoption Profile
  • Tags: None
  • Published: almost 4 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order