Up to 50% Off! Up to 50% Off + More! Code: NOVGIFT19 Ends: 11/13 Details
Apply

  1. Help
Up to 50% Off! Up to 50% Off + More! Code: NOVGIFT19 Ends: 11/13 Details
Apply

The Real World Project

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

The Real World Project - Page Text Content

S: The Real World Project By Amber Dempsey

BC: The Real World Project By: Amber Dempsey

FC: The Real World Project By: Amber Dempsey

1: About the Author | Amber Dempsey is a student at Oxford high school. She enjoys softball and cross country. When it comes to writing Amber likes to write about softball and food. | Amber finds the most challenging part of writing to be the grammar. When Amber gets older, she hopes to become a teacher and a cross country coach. Her advice for students that will be entering the 9th grade next year is “work hard and always try your best!"

2: Table of Contents | About the Author..........page 1 Education..........page 4 Profession.........page 5 City Overview....pages 6&7 Standard Living.....pages 8&9 household items...pages 10&11 transportation...pages 12&13 grocery list..........pages 14&15 entertainment and miscellaneous......pages 16&17 Budget Reflection........pages 18-23

4: The estimated total cost of attendance is $22,750. I am hoping to attain an athletic or an academic scholarship to assist me in paying for my education. | Education | I plan to attend the University of Alabama after high school. The University of Alabama is located in Tuscaloosa, Al. I chose this institution because I would like to become a teacher when I get out of college, which is offered at pretty much any college. | I also chose this because it is pretty close to home and has a good softball program. The average student population is 34,852 and there is on campus housing.

5: Profession I would like to be a 6th grade math teacher or 8th grade algebra teacher. The educational requirement is a bachelor's degree, but I would like to go on and get my master's degree. I plan on probably staying somewhere in the state to pursue this career. I may move to somewhere like Gulf shores, Al or Pensacola, Fl. I chose this profession because I enjoy being around kids and teaching.

6: City Overview | I chose to live in Pensacola, Florida because there are lots of attractions. I also chose this city because I enjoy being near the beach. There are also lots of job opportunities in Pensacola, Florida. The total population in Pensacola was 52,340 in 2012. The primary forms of entertainment are the Beach,

7: city overview cont... | Three nearby cities or towns are Fairhope, Al, Gulf Shores, Al, and Mobile, Al. I'm hoping to work at Pensacola Middle School. The average temperature is 70 to 90 degrees.

8: Standard Living | I will be living in the Avalon Apartments. They are located on 800 Pine Forest Road, Pensacola, Fl, 32534. I chose this apartment because it is very nice and it's not too expensive. I also chose it because it is in a gated neighborhood with night patrol, a garage, and Internet. I also like that it has a pool and is about 10 minutes from the beach.

9: Standard Living cont.. | The rent is $868 per month and it is in a gated community, and it has a fitness center, pool, TV lounge, concierge, outdoor cooking center, etc. I will not have a home phone plan, but my cell phone plan is with virgin Mobil, and it is $35 a month.

10: Household Items | Most of my household items come from Walmart, Overstock.com, and Best Buy. A refrigerator is already included in my apartment. My parents bought me a dresser, couch, and stove. I spent $1924.93 total, and got to save $75.07.

12: Transportation

13: I bought a used 2011 Honda Accord. It is $17,983. I bought this car because I like the model, and it's not too expensive. I am on the 60 month plan, and my car payment per month will be $339.36. The total pay amount will be $20,361.60

14: Grocery List

15: For my grocery list, I had five categories: Drink, Hygiene, lunch/dinner, snack, and fruit. My total for drinks was $19. My total for hygiene was $33. My total for lunch/dinner was $68. My total for snacks was $93. And my total for fruit was $33.

16: Entertainment and Miscellaneous

17: Some of my hobbies, favorite restaurants, and favorite clothing stores are Ocharley's, American Eagle, 32 degrees, the movies, Jacks, etc. I plan on spending around a total of $360 on Miscellaneous activities and entertainment.

18: Budget Reflection

19: I spent most of my money in Home because I spent money on rent, home furnishings, and home maintenance. I spent most of my money on my monthly rent. That's what took up most of the money in my monthly budget. I spent the least amount of money in savings because I didn't have a whole lot of money left over after all of the expenses. I put a little bit of money in savings, but not a lot. I didn't feel that I really needed to put a lot into savings. If I did not have the extra $2000 as a graduation gift, then I would have overspent. My unexpected expense was probably clothes and groceries. I had to spend less on clothes and shoes than I thought I would. I also had to buy a cheaper car.

20: budget reflection cont... | I inserted an extra $75.07 into my budget because of the graduation present. If I did not have the extra $75.07 per month, then I could have put less in savings, and still would have a couple of dollars left over for the month. I had enough money to put about $50 into savings each month in case I was to get sick or hurt. I learned that I do not have a whole lot of money. I also learned that I can't just buy something right when I see it. I have to calculate and see if I have enough money to buy that item.

21: I did not expect to be paying so much for groceries or clothes and shoes, but I won't be buying more clothes and shoes every month, so I should have a little bit left over from that. I learned that I will be making enough money to get by, but I will not be able to just have a lot of extra money to spend whenever I want. I did not expect to have to buy groceries and pay for home maintenance. I need to make sure I have realistic goals and expectations for how much money I'm making. I also need to make sure I buy things that are in my price range and aren't going to put me in debt. I found that finding an apartment and furniture to go in it was pretty easy.

22: Budget Reflection cont... | I thought that bargaining to try to find cheaper things that are still nice was kind of hard. I had trouble finding a nice car and good groceries that didn't cost too much. I learned that taking risk is not a very good thing. You need to make sure you are covered so you don't have to take risks. I think it has because I have gotten to see what life might be like for me once I graduate from high school. I think it has helped by showing me what I am going to be able to get and be able to do with the money I make from being a teacher. I have also realized that I may want to be a teacher and a sports coach to make a little extra money.

23: Knowing what my future holds, I would still like to be a teacher, but I know that I may want to do something extra, aside to being a teacher. I may want to coach a sport at the school I work at. I am not ready to move out and be on my own yet, but I think I will be by the time I get out of college. The only reason I am not ready just yet is because I don't want to be out on my own yet.

Sizes: mini|medium|large|behemoth
Default User
  • By: Amber D.
  • Joined: over 5 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 1
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: The Real World Project
  • Theme for Mixbook Scrapbookers
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 5 years ago