Up to 50% Off + 10% Off! Code: SPOOK Ends: 10/31 Details
  1. Help

A Year In Review - Moshe

Hello, you either have JavaScript turned off or an old version of Adobe's Flash Player. Get the latest Flash player.

A Year In Review - Moshe - Page Text Content

S: Moshe Kohli, Club Captain, Emirates Golf Club, Dubai 2012 - 2013

FC: Moshe Kohli Club Captain Emirates Golf Club, Dubai 2012 - 2013

2: Our Magnificent Golf Courses | The Majlis Course

3: The Faldo Course

5: The Facilities at Emirates Golf Club

6: Club Captain, Moshe Kohli & Lady Captain, Glynis Hendry

7: EGC Pros

8: BMW/Rivoli Medal 14th September 2012 | Stableford 21st September 2012 | Singles Matchplay Qualifier

9: Friday Apres Golf

10: Pros' Trophy 22nd September 2012 | Turlik and Aldridge triumph in Professionals' Day 2012 In the first Professionals Day event to be played since 2001 a fun day was had by all, with Chris Turlik and Johnny Aldridge shooting a net 60.5 in the pairs scramble format around the Majlis Course to take the top prize. Their fabulous score card included 10 birdies and 9 pars which claimed a 1st prize trip to Dubai Golf's new venue Almouj Golf at The Wave Muscat, Oman. The day included various events on the course including Trackman longest drive, nearest the pins, Beat the Pro, Powerplay and a fun Happy Gilmore shot on hole 18. The Runners up spot was taken by club Captain Moshe Kohli and partner Naema Maya with a great score of 60.9 net which won them a weekend break courtesy of The Media One Rotana Hotel. 3rd place was taken by Keith Prosser and Tony Hutchinson 62.4 and Charles Stricklin and Gurbax Singh in respective 4th with 62.7 total. There was also scratch prizes with winners Andrew Wick and David Duguid claiming first with a 67 and 2nd place went to Gary Moore and Boyd Edmondson with 70. Congratulations to past Lady Captains, Caroline Jones and Jenny Ayres as they collected the best female team prize. Other great prizes included Lesson Packages courtesy of the Professional's at Emirates Golf Academy and a fourball at The Open Championship course at Carnoustie.

11: Captain's Column: Club Life Magazine October 2012 | Welcome back from the summer holidays and I hope we all are looking forward to a great golf season ahead. This is the 25th season at EGC and we are in our Silver Jubilee Year so, let this be the'Year of Celebration'. I am certain that with our Lady Captain Glynis, with members’ participation, and with the unflinching support of Richard Purchase and Barbara Head our Vice- Captains, we shall try and put together a memorable time at the Club. I welcome all new members who have joined our Club this summer. Let me assure you that we may have the top 100 golf course here, but it is we members and the Club management who make us the number one Golf Club in the world. I am certain that you will enjoy being a part of this family. It was a pleasure to meet some of you at the welcome party for new members, and for those of you who could not attend, I look forward to seeing you at the Club. May I kindly request you to meet me when you play your first tournament so that you can be appropriately introduced to other members. I also welcome the new members of the Members’ Consultative Committee (MCC). Let me assure you that this is a great platform for sharing views. It may be slow, but a lot of good work has been done in the past and a lot will be done in the future. We welcome suggestions from all members. I am grateful that entry fees for member competitions are being reviewed, and in many cases they will be sponsored or paid for by the Club. The Pros tournament was a huge success and I am certain that the free clinic for members, once a month will also be a tremendous success. October is the month of ‘ownership’... ownership of dress code, repair of divots, pitch marks, bunkers, not only of our own but also people around us. This is our Golf Club and we can choose to either ignore all forms of etiquette or do what we would expect from our Club and its elite members. May I request you all to put this into practice personally and not leave it to anyone else.. Marshals and officers of the Club are there to assist us, but most times we can take the polite initiative ourselves. This is our Club, and we would love to maintain its high standards and traditions. We must thank wasl for their continued support of our premier Club and investing so much money, firstly in refurbishment of the Clubhouse, and then the irrigation system this summer. We greatly value their inputs and much appreciate their commitment. We are also grateful to our sponsors like AGMC, Rivoli, Zurich, and sponsors of tournaments. On behalf of the Club, a big thank you. With all good wishes in the Year of Celebration, Moshe Kohli Club Captain 2012-201

12: Club Life October 2012

13: Captain's Drive-In | 281 yards!!!

14: Looking calm! | Presentation of the green jacket! | Moshe | 28th September 2012

15: Mixed Season Opener 2012 | Captain & Lady Captain 2012 -2013

16: The 25th anniversary season at Emirates Golf Club teed off officially on Friday 28th September with the Mixed Season Opener supported by Zurich. A fantastic turnout of 120 members competed in a 4-man team shamble format with the best two scores counting towards the teams tally. The day started with the inaugural Captains tee shots in the high pressure environment on the first tee of the iconic Majlis course. Moshe Kohli (Club Captain) and Glynis Hendry (Ladies Captain) had to hit their ‘drive ins’ in front of approximately 140 people including staff. They both accepted the challenge with flying colours, Kohli dispatched his drive 281 yards a record distance on comparison with previous captains. Glynis also hit a fine drive of 161 yards finding the first fairway. The members guessing their drive distance correctly were Lynne Dickinson, Surender Kandhari and Soumaya Salem, finding themselves amongst the prizes before the competition commenced. The overall team event was a closely fought contest with three quartets all within one shot of each other. The team of Johnny Aldridge, Stephen Jones, Eric Koeman and Ruth Hatton came out on top with a fabulous score of 115. This was also matched by Raphael Saxod, Marc Charlet, Alan Salem and Soumaya Salem but they had to settle for runners-up place following the card count back. One shot adrift, and in third place, was the foursome of Loraine Logan, Bill Logan, Margaret Breen and Tony Breen. All prizes were sponsored by club sponsor Zurich including Nike golf shirts and Ipod shuffles. | Mixed Season Opener 28th September 2012 | Winning Team

17: Mixed Season Opener 28th September 2012

20: The Professionals extended their winning streak in the annual Dubai Golf Trophy to five wins when they thrashed the Amateurs by a stunning margin of 24.5 to 7.5. The Dubai Golf Trophy is one of the most anticipated local golfing events of the season. Contested over two days, it pits 16 leading UAE-based PGA professionals against the leading 16 Emirates Golf Federation (EGF) amateur golfers in a Ryder Cup style showdown. This was the 13th edition of the tournament, and the Amateurs were keen to add to their two wins, the last of which came way back in 2007. However, the Professionals dominated the opening days foursomes and fourball matches at the Faldo Course of Emirates Golf Club and went into the singles leading 12.5 to 3.5. The singles were held at Dubai Creek. Amateur Captain Dino Varkey led from the front performance by setting the early pace with an impressive 2-up victory over Dubai Creek’s Kenny Monaghan and Craig Forrest followed suit with another 2-up win over Fraser McLaughlan. Miki Mirza and Vikram Judge also stepped up and put in solid performances to win their matches and give the Amateurs hope. But despite their best efforts, closing the deficit from day one proved too big a task as the Professionals took 12 of the 16 singles matches. In the foursome and fourball matches the previous day, it was clear the Pros were out to prove a point as they opened up an early lead and won the foursomes by a whopping 7.5 to 0.5. In the fourballs, the Amateurs won three matches, but lost in five. | Dubai Golf Trophy 29th & 30th September 2012

22: CHAMPION Steven Jones 42 Pts RUNNER-UP Rohit Gupta 41 Pts THIRD Sungku Kim 37 Pts | DIVISION A (0-12) WINNER Rory Blincow 36 Pts RUNNER-UP Joseph Smith 35 Pts | DIVISION B (13-24) WINNER Gurmukh Ghuldu 35 Pts RUNNER-UP Steinar Bratland 35 Pts | 8th October 2012 | Engineers' Cup | Champion Stephen Jones

23: 'B' Division Winner | 'A' Division Winner | BMW/Rivoli Medal 15th October 2012 | A DIVISION (HCP. 0-10) BEST GROSS: Rohit Gupta 74 WINNER: Taren Khanna 70 RUNNER - UP : Nigel Thompson 70 THIRD: Tony Azoulay 72 B DIVISION (HCP. 11-20) WINNER: Alex Wonyop Kim 67 RUNNER - UP: Steven Jones 68 THIRD: Gordon Barr 70 C DIVISION (HCP. 21-34) WINNER: Nishith Patel 69

24: Past EGC Junior Daniel Hendry | Hello everyone from Charlotte, North Carolina, where I am attending university on a golf scholarship. I am loving life over here! Being part of a great team, with great coaches, has been my ambition it seems forever which makes all the hard work and dedication to get here all the more worthwhile and enjoyable. It feels like I am really thriving under the new competition and elite level of golf required. Determined to make the team right from the start, I concentrated and practised hard all summer so that I would be ready for this next level, which really paid off, when I won the second qualifying event for the first University tournament in Minnesota! As a freshman, it can be hard to make the team, so I was delighted to get the chance to show the coaches what I could do. So far I have played all three tournaments for UNC Charlotte, and, as a freshman, I have seen myself rise to number one on the team. It couldn’t be a better start to my College golf career and it has given me great confidence to succeed. Academically, school life is very straightforward as a freshman. The work is not too strenuous, giving me time to concentrate on my golf and the initial business in hand of settling in to college life in a different country. Even though golf is great and College life is very time consuming, I still miss home and definitely miss Emirates Golf Club. The place was a second home for me and I can’t wait to return for the Christmas break. Hopefully I will see all of you when I am home and I hope everyone is doing well and enjoying all life has to offer you!

25: Tri-Nations Tournament October 20th 2012 | The annual Tri-Nations tournament took place on October 20th which is a matchplay competition between, England, Ireland and Scotland which was started over 20 years ago. Originally only England and Ireland, were involved in what was called the Challenge Match, but a few years after its inception Scotland were invited to become part of it and that was the start of the Tri-Nations. This year England, captained by Micky Brigg, were the winners, Scotland, whose Captain was Brian Edwards were second, and Ireland, captained by Brian King were third overall. England beat Scotland and Ireland Scotland beat Ireland so the wooden spoon (framed birch) went to them. | Having got the pressure of the Captain’s drive out of the way, and in the rich traditions of the Past Captains, my golf has definitely gone south. I am still wondering if it is the green effect of the jacket. I was warned! Thank you for your great participation at the Season Opener and the other golf events in October. The month of Ownership has definitely been taken in the spirit in which it was intended. The toiletries have been upgraded and have been appreciated by all those who have noticed. We have better coffee in the Spike Bar, for those who have savoured some. We are getting into November-the month of ‘No’- no slow play, no driving in the sand, no undressing or changing shoes in the car park. The courses are in great condition. The extended greens are coming into their own and are an absolute delight to play on. The bunkers are also playing better, with the slopes and the sides being worked at. We are certain to have some great golf, now that the weather is cooler. The Diwali Scramble is a new addition to the calendar, and we would like full participation in the Festival of Lights. Diwali is celebrated across borders, states, languages, caste, colour, creed, and religion. It binds over 1.2 billion people, and we intend to add at least 120 members to that spirit on 9th November. Lady Captain Glynis and Vice Captain Barbara worked very hard over the last month, for the Charity Golf in aid of Breast Cancer. It was a most enjoyable day I am told. They managed to collect the largest donation so far. Well done! They will soon be going around collecting towards the Staff Fund, who work tirelessly to give us the finest service for the staff who work at our great Club. An important point- KINDLY DO LOG IN, AND REFLECT YOUR SCORE AFTER EACH ROUND, EVEN GENERAL PLAY, and may your chips hold and your putts sink. Till next month, Moshe Kohli, Club Captain 2012-2013 | Captain's Message November 1st 2012 | Club Life November 2012 | England & Ireland teams in the early 80s

26: Rohit Gupta and Amarjeet Radia fired a 36-hole tally of six under par to triumph in the Emirates Mixed Amateur Open Sponsored by Infinity and Powered by Al Dobowi. In the nineteenth edition of this popular event, Gupta and Radia carded rounds of 70 over the Faldo course followed by a net 68 on the Majlis to take this prestigious title. The Emirates Golf Club duo started their final round poorly with three straight bogeys, they picked up a shot on the par three 7th hole but gave it back on the 8th to see them out in 3-over par gross, 38 shots. The back nine of the famous Majlis course inspired them and was faultless; they birdied the 13th, 15th and 18th holes to see them home in 3-under par for a 72 gross, net 68. The resulting 6-under par tally gave them a 3-stroke victory over their closest rivals, the defending champions, Carolyn and Nigel Thompson. The Thompsons carded rounds of 73 and 68 for a 3-under par total. Also on that mark was the pair of Adrian Adams and Louise Adams from the Els Club, they complied rounds of 72 and 69 for a 3-under tally but settled for third following a final round card count back. The overnight leaders, Shane Samtani and Caroline Lamb from the Emirates Golf Federation, followed their 67 on the Faldo course with a 75 to finish fourth overall. One of the most popular social events on the tournament calendar lived up to its billing once more with a great turnout of 108 competitors enjoying a weekend of competitive yet social golf. | Other prizes: OVERALL BEST GROSS :Dalip Tripathi (EGC) Jayshree Gupta (EGC) BEST NET DAY 1: Sandie Broedelet (EGC) Rob Broedelet (EGC)69 BEST NET DAY 2 Maria Petre (EGC) Lloyd Stewart (EGC)69 BEST GROSS DAY 1: Ashley Anderson (EGC) Tony Azoulay (EGC)72 BEST GROSS DAY 2: Nina Larm (EGC) Johnny Aldridge (EGC)76 | AL DOBOWI MIXED AMATEUR OPEN 2012 2nd & 3rd November

28: DIWALI SCRAMBLE Friday 9th November 2012 | Sponsored by The Mehtab Group

30: Clubhouse Trophy: 23rd November 2012 | BMW Medal : 16th November 2012

31: Tech Access International Pairs November 2012 | Alan and Soumaya Salem finally realised their Tech Access International Pairs UAE, presented by Cadillac dream, as they won a Qualifier at their fifth attempt. The highly fancied pairing, who are members at The Address Montgomerie Dubai and Emirates Golf Club, had played in Qualifiers at both clubs in the first two Tech Access International Pairs UAE series but it proved to be fifth time lucky as they sealed their spot in the 2013 National Final at Yas Links when they won the Emirates Golf Club event on Saturday. With three pairs finishing with 41 stableford points a countback was required to determine the winners. Paul Byrne and Maura Duggan, were the first casualties of the countback as their back-9 couldn’t match the Salems’ and then their last-6 holes were bettered by Mike Tracey and Stephen Jones who claimed the runners-up prize. | Captain's Message December 1st 2012 | Club Life December 2012

32: Omega Dubai Ladies Masters 5th - 8th December 2012

33: Feng closed with an outstanding 267, with 21 under par for the tournament while she dominated the leaderboard throughout all four days of the tournament. She also broke the previous tournament record of 18 under par held by Annika Sorenstam (Sweden) in 2006 and Kyung Kim (South Korea) in 2009. Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein, wife of HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai presented Feng with the trophy. She also received the first prize of 75,000 euros and was awarded the OMEGA Seamaster Aqua Terra Co- Axial 34mm in 18K red gold on a leather strap. Shanshan Feng is one of the most exciting professional golfers in the world. She became the first full-exempt player from China to join the LPGA Tour and in the years since, has emerged as one of the Tour’s fiercest competitors. In 2012, the talented 23-year-old won the LPGA Championship, a major title, by two strokes, becoming the first Chinese golfer to win a major– in fact, she was the first player from mainland China, male or female, to accomplish the feat. | Shanshan Feng breaks tournament record to win 2012 Omega Dubai Ladies' Masters

34: Kavita Sehmi will need to calm her adrenaline rushes down when she makes her first appearance in the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters to be held under the patronage of HRH Princess Haya Bint Al Hussein, wife of HH Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, at the Emirates Golf Club from December 5 to 8. For the 17-year-old Emirates Golf Club prodigy, who will be competing in the season-ending Ladies European Tour event on a sponsor's invitation, it may sound like a quixotic challenge, but she is confident of being competitive when she joins the likes of defending champion Lexi Thompson, seasoned Laura Davies and charismatic Michelle Wie in a star-studded field. "I am grateful to golf in DUBAi for inviting me to play at this highest-level of golf. I know opportunities like this one don't come knocking your door too often. I will try and give my best shot and see what happens," said Kavita, who started playing golf when she was just six years old. "I am not thinking far ahead, but my immediate goal is to try and make the cut and that in itself will constitute an achievement," said Kavita, a two-time winner of the Junior Club Championship at Emirates Golf Club. "I have not been playing competitive golf these because of my school exams, but have been taking lessons from Steven Deane (head pro at EGC) to fine tune my skills ahead of the tournament," said Kavita, a grade 11th student at JESS in Arabian Ranches. "I have played this (Majlis) course many times and know what it takes to shoot low. Hopefully, my long game would come in handy," said Kavita, who averages about 260 yards off the tee. "I don't think making the cut is a distant dream, but it will all depend on how I fare with my putter," said Kavita "Whatever the outcome, it will be fun to play and meet players like Lexi, one of my good friends with whom I interact frequently on Facebook. I can't wait to get started," said Kavita, who finished second on the 2011-2012 Ladies Amateur Order of Merit in the UAE. Mohamed Juma Buamaim, vice chairman and CEO of golf in DUBAi, believes such invitations to local talent will spur them to take the sport seriously and work harder on their game. "We try and rotate invitations each year so that everyone who has achieved a certain level of standard gets first-hand experience of what it takes to compete at this level of golf. "I wish Kavita the very best and hope her presence in the elite field will motivate other emerging players to aim for greater things in life." 'golf in DUBAi' is backed by Omega as the title sponsor and Dubal (Dubai Aluminium) as the sponsor. The co-sponsors are: CNN, Drydocks World & Maritime World, Emirates NBD, Gulf News, Mercedes-Benz and wasl while Dubai Duty Free, Carpetland and Motivate are the Patrons in golf in DUBAi's drive to showcase the emirate's vibrant golfing scene to a worldwide audience. | EGC Junior Kavita Sehmi

35: First I would like to say I hope everyone is having a great time this festive season. It is a time to enjoy, let loose, and be surrounded by the people we love. It is time for a small update from the long lost (no longer junior) in the United States of America. I was so lucky to be able to play in the Dubai Ladies Masters on an invitation. It has always been my dream to play in this event and my dream that became a reality did not disappoint The two days I got to play will never be forgotten, and the supreme support I received from everyone in the club will also never be forgotten The scores were not of my best capabilities, but I am happy with the way I managed to control myself and learn as much as I did from the experience. Being surrounded by the ladies that do this for a living every week forces you to learn a thing or two. The way they handle bad shots on the course, and the way they handle good ones are entirely different to amateur golfers. It is all in our mind, and how you represent yourself to the crowd, and to your co players, reflect upon yourself as a person – and last but not least – on your game. It is so important to bring YOU to the course and leave a mark of who YOU are, and not who others want you to be. A great caddy also always helps – Andy Anddews – did a great job handling me in tough situations and I firmly believe anyone at any level could benefit from a caddy. A second opinion is always preferred before hitting an important shot. It is almost hard to describe exactly what I learned throughout that week, but it is imprinted in me and it gave me a want to play more tournaments, to work harder, and to dare to reach out for my dreams. I definitely feel like I have grown and inch or two from playing the Dubai Ladies Masters. Additionally, another thank you to Mark Gregson-Walters is in order; a great coach to guide you through your first pro event is irreplaceable. Altogether the Dubai Ladies Masters 2012 was one for the books, truly unforgettable for my family, and me, and I am so grateful that I have had this opportunity in my life. | Past EGC Junior Nanna Nielsen | Ldaies' Maters 2012

36: Hole-in-One Club | Marion Pavey | Charlie Stricklin | Najla Bartette | Mr Toki | Martin Lever | Carolyn Thomson

37: Clash of the Titans December 2012 | Emirates Golf Club triumphed over the Creek Golf & Yacht Club in the bi-annual Clash of the Titans match played on the Majlis course. EGC – 393 Creek -378

38: Famous Faces at Emirates Golf Club 2012 - 2013 | Biraj & Colin Montgomerie | Jeremy Guscott with EGC members | Luke Donald & Justin Rose with Emma & Alex Turlik | Moshe with Justin Rose | Footballer Dirk Kuyt (2nd from left) | David Boon, right, ex-Australian cricketer | Andy Matthews with Jeev Milkha Singh

39: Moshe & Tiger Woods | Andrew & Grainne with Rory McIlroy | Michael McIntyre | Paul McGinley | Stathis with Rory McIlroy | Sam Torrance | Diego Maradona | Michel Platini President of UEFA and ex French midfield maestro, Umberto Gandini Sporting Director AC Milan, Jean Francois Domergue ex French international | Luke Partridge with ex-Australian cricketer Dean Jones & ex-Indian cricket Captain Ajay

40: BMW Medal 14th December 2012 | Members & Staff Scramble 18th December 2012

41: Junior Club Championship 2012 - 2013 | – Muirhead and Budhiraja Shine in Junior Club Championship Alison Muirhead and Inaan Budhiraja both signed for a gross 78 over the Majlis course to become the Girls Club Champion and Boys Club champion respectively. Alison got off to a nervous start dropping four shots in her opening 3 holes but bounced back superbly with a birdie two on the difficult par 3 fourth hole. She completed holes four through to seventeen in level par with further birdies on the 16th and 17th holes. Despite an unfortunate double bogey on the final hole she carded her best score on the Dubai Desert Classic track, a 6-over par 78. Her net 68 also gave her the best net score of the day, a 68. Inaan carded a confident front nine score of one over par 36, picking up a birdie on the difficult 9th but dropping shots on the 4th and 5th holes. A run of dropped shots from the 12th resulted in a 5-over par back nine and a gross 78, good enough to triumph by 2-shots from Rory Blincow. Karan Bhasin took third after a gross 81. In the boy’s net division Matthew Laven came out on top with a level par 72. For the first time this year a new category was created namely the ‘Academy Graduates’. Four juniors graduating from the Emirates Academy participated in a gross competition from the forward tees and it was Niklas Korjonen who clinched top prize with a gross 92. Alex Turlik, Karam Wallia and Aayush Bakshi competed in this category and congratulations to them for competing in their first major junior event. The nearest the pins were won by Karam Sehmi on hole 4 and Inaan Budhiraja on hole 11. | 20th December 2012

42: Mixed Christmas Scramble

43: Saturday, 21st December 2012

44: Christmas Scramble 2012 | Winners' Circle

45: Celebratory Evening with Rory McIlroy at the Burj Al Arab | December 2012

46: Christmas 2012

47: J O Y

48: HAPPY | NEW YEAR | 2013

52: New Year's Day Scramble 2013 | Club Life January 2013 | Captain's Column January 2013 | BMW/Rivoli Medal January 4th | WINNERS Riitta Saarinen, Pentti Korjonen Pentti Tahvanainen , Jari Koljonen 60.1 RUNNERS UP: David Ashcroft, Steinar Bratland Chris Turlik, Rosemary Turlik 60.4

53: Men's Club Championship : 11th & 12th January 2013 | Charlie Stricklin triumphed in the Gents Seniors Championship with a gross 78 over the Majlis course. Over 50 players competed in the over 50’s tournament and it was the scratch team regular Stricklin who took top honors. He went out in one over par, picking up a birdie on the second but gave a couple of shots back on the 7th and 8th. An up and down inward half resulted in 5 drop shots and he posted a 6-over par tally, one shot clear of his closest rivals Jignesh Sangani and Nick Evangelopoulos. Sangani took runners-up place following a card count back. In the over 60’s category the inform Tony Hutchinson carded an 82 to take top prize in that section. The best net of the day was recorded by Vijay Devnani following a superb 67, Hiromasa Tsuji clinched second following a 69 with Ed Hesson in third after a count back | Pontus Fredriksson clinched his fourth Club Championship in five years with rounds of 76 and 73 for a 149, 5-over par tally. On a difficult opening day over the Faldo course with high winds Fredriksson fought hard for a four over par 76, to take the overnight lead from Rashid Ali (77) and Andrew Robinson (78). The final round over the Majlis course produced some much better scoring from the 114 strong field. Fredriksson, at home on the Dubai Desert Classic layout, made his intentions clear from the outset with three birdies in the first seven holes, coming at the 2nd, 3rd and 7th holes. He gave a couple of shots back on the 8th to see him out in 34, one under par. With a comfortable lead going into the back nine he continued to play consistent golf dropping just two shots for a final round tally of 73. His eight shot victory was his fourth in five years only giving up the mantle last year to Michael Harradine who unfortunately couldn’t defend his title. Eddie Hesson compiled rounds of 80 and 77 to take runners-up place with Inaan Budhiraja in third with rounds of 84 and 74. The youngster followed his Junior Club Championship triumph with a third place finish in the senior equivalent, a fantastic effort. Also in the prizes were Rashid Ali, he took top prize in Division A (handicap 0-12) with scores of 77 and 83. Connor Keegan took runners-up spot with rounds of 83 and 79. Ed Hesson was not to be outdone by his son and took top honors in Division B (handicap 13-24) with rounds of 90 and 86. Anand Kapoor settled for runners-up position with a 93 and 86. BEST GROSS DAY 1:ANDREW ROBINSONGROSS 78 BEST GROSS DAY 2:JOHNNY ALDRIDGEGROSS 77 BET NET DAY 1: STEPHEN JONESNET 72 BEST NET DAY 2:ARJUN KAPURNET 63 | Seniors Championship : 12th January 2013

54: Asia v Rest of the World | The annual match play championship between Asia and Rest of the World produced a terrific contest over the Faldo Course. The Rest of the World team, captained by Dick Purchase, secured a one point victory over Asia. There were 18 points up for grabs for the 72 strong field and it was Purchases’ team that prevailed by clinching 9.5 points to Asia’s 8.5. The stand out performers for the Rest of the World outfit were, Maureen & Robert Platt, Chris & Tony Hutchinson and Alan & Lorraine Main, all with comprehensive victories. Rohit Gupta, the Asian team captain, handed Dick Purchase the trophy to make the overall score in the series 4-2 to Asia. Also in the prizes were Jacqui Barry, Maureen Platt, Tony Hutchinson and Surjeet Namli for their accuracy on the nearest the pin prize holes. The longest drive prizes were won by Chris Purchase and Jega. | 19th January 2013

55: Meet the Staff Teams | Reservations | Spike Bar | Bespoke Wellness | Sales & Marketing | Fit Lab | Marshals

56: Stunning Emirates Golf Club

57: Omega Dubai Desert CLassic 2013

58: Omega Dubai Desert CLassic 2013

59: Omega Dubai Desert CLassic 2013 | Winner : Stephen Gallacher

60: Out & About at the Desert Classic

61: Club Captain with Dubai Desert Classic Winner 2013

62: Captain's Message February 1st 2013 | Club Life February 2013 | Dubai Golf Publishing Team | The Faldo

63: Sam Towler, representing Woburn Golf Club, followed his opening 79 with a much improved 74 to claim runners-up position on plus eight for the tournament. One of the stories of the final round involved 12-year old Jakub Hrinda (Doha GC), he produced the best round of the championship with a level par 72 over the Majlis to claim third place overall on plus 10 for the 36-holes. With five competitors on the plus 10 mark, a final round count back resulted in Chris Adams (Montgomerie GC) clinching fourth place with rounds of 79 & 75 and Craig Forrest (EGF) taking fifth with a 79 and 75. Emirates Golf Club member Ewan Cameron just missed out on the top 5 prize position after a card count back . The best net of the championship went to Bal Arnaud (Royal GC Bahrain) after he signed for rounds of 72 and 76. Two shots adrift and in runners-up position was Mark Davin (Ashton On Mersey GC, England) with a 77 and 73. Bilel Belaid (Abu Dhabi) took third with a 75 and 76. In the remaining prize categories Ashley Rees took home best gross for day 1 with a 74, Graham Pascal best gross day 2 with a 75, Rory Blincow best net day 1 with a 71 and Daood Jaffal best net day 2 with a 75. | Michael Saunders, representing Dartford Golf Club (England), triumphed in the Omega Emirates Amateur Open by a four shot margin. Saunders shared the overnight lead with Ashley Rees (East Sussex National) having both fired a gross 74 over the Faldo course, 2-over par. Their closest rivals going in to the final round over the Majlis were Bal Arnaud (Rinkven Golf Club, Belguim), Sami Hajri (Yas Links GC) and Ryan Riley (EGF) all on the 3-over par mark. Saunders handled the pressure of the final round well stating up with nine straight pars on the more difficult nines of the Omega Dubai Desert Classic layout.. He finished in style with a terrific birdie four on the famous 18th to claim the prestigious title. Rounds of 74 and 74 gave him a 148 total, plus four for the Championship, following in the footstep of past Champions Michael Hoey (European Tour winner) and Peter Hanson (Ryder Cup winner). | Omega Emirates Amateur Open 2013 | 21st & 22nd February

64: New hairstyle for Gerb! | Gerb with hair! | A new hobby? | Oops! | Oh dear! | Carts definitely do not float!

65: Captain's Message March 1st 2013 | Club Life March 2013

66: Kohlman Nations Cup 2013

67: Kohlman Nations Cup 2013

70: WINNERS Sandra Chia David Formas 58.46 RUNNERS UP Ashish Nanda Shravan Khanna 60.16 THIRD Nina Larm Pentti Tahvanainen 61.36 NEAREST THE PIN HOLE # 4 Nishith Patel HOLE # 7 Sanjeev Gheewala HOLE # 11 Noemy Bertuol HOLE # 15 David Formas LONGEST DRIVE HOLE # 12 Jacqui Barry | A DIVISION (HCP. 0-10) Winner Conor Keegan 68 Runner-up: Mathys Oberholster 69 Third: Nawaf Fawaz 71 Best Gross: Conor Keegan 73 B DIVISION (HCP. 11-20) Winner: Kish Bandopadhyay 70 Runner-up: Haris Michaelides 71 Third: Iain Everingham 72 C DIVISION (HCP. 21-34) Winner: Amr Salem 70 | Mashreq Medal 1st March 2013 | Wentworth Club Invitational 9th March 2013

71: EGC Junior Open 2013 | 53 Junior golfers put their games to the test on the tough Faldo course in pursuit of the junior open title; Rayan Thomas from Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club who shot a fantastic level par 72 to take the boys title. The 13 year old 2 handicapper had five birdies on holes 3, 5, 10, 13 and the par 5 16th. The Girls' title was won by Jennifer Vincent who was here on holiday from Effingham Golf Club in the UK. Her score of 86 included a fantastic eagle 2 on hole 9. Having never played the course before, Jennifer was shocked that she managed to win and is looking forward to coming back next year to defend. The Boys' runner up spot was secured by Parth Goel from Emirates Golf Club with a 77 of which 4 holes were birdies including a nice 2 on the par 3 12th. The Girls' runner up spot with an 88 was Aashaka Desai from Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht club. Her scorecard included 6 pars and a nice birdie 4 on the par 5 5th hole. Net prizes – Division “A” Boys (Hcp 0-14) Erik hartzuiker (ARGC)72 Division “B” Boys (Hcp 15-28) Adam Savage (DCGYC) 64 Girls Division (Hcp 0-36) Emily Siegel (ADGC) 76 | 23rd March | 2013

72: Celebrating 25 years of Emirates Golf Club

73: Official Opening on 8th March 1988 | Playing the Majlis on 8th March 2013

74: 1 9 8 8 | Emirates

75: 2 0 1 3 | Golf Club

77: Senior Management

78: Captains & Founder Members' Dinner 2013

79: Celebrating 25 Years of Emirates Golf Club | 8th March 2013

81: EGC 25th Anniversary Party

85: Celebrating 25 years of Emirates Golf Club


87: Emirates Golf Club 25th Anniversary Party 22nd March 2013

90: The 25th Anniversary Golf Day attracted a fantastic field of 150 members, competing in a 5-man Scramble over the Majlis course. The tournament, marking the opening of Emirates Golf Club on 8th March 1988, seemed to inspire the competitors who produced some unbelievable scoring. The quintet of Ashish Nanda, Chanchal Nanda, Nikhil Nanda, Shravan Khanna and Connie Sayal signed for a gross 58 (14-under par), net 53.4. A fantastic round included an out ward nine of seven birdies and an eagle two on the par four ninth hole. This was followed with five birdies and an eagle on the back nine. The champions closest rivals was the team of Dalip Tripathi, Rohit Amin, Jayshree Gupta, Rohit Gupta and Rashid Ali who fired a gross 59, net 56.6 to claim runners-up place. Maura Duggan, Frank Duggan, Paul Byrne, Saeed Fahim and Keith Prosser clinched third on 57.6. The ‘Vice Captain’s Team’ of Dick Purchase, Barbara Head, Chris Purchase, Alan Main and Lorraine Main claimed fourth on 56.6. The last team on the prize podium was Nishith Patel, Aaron Loats, Suresh Shewakramani, Tony Azoulay and Gurmukh Ghuldu on 57.6 and in fifth spot. Also in the prizes, all courtesy of ProSports, were Juggie Brar and Veneet Mohan following their accuracy on the nearest the pin prize holes. A week of celebrations was capped off in style with an evening buffet and entertainment. The VPAR live-scoring system, headed up by life member and tour professional Ross Bain, was also a great hit with all concerned. | 25th Anniversary Golf Day 2013 | 22nd March 2013

91: The wedding of Janice from reception to EGC lifeguard, Cherith | Maggie Neil's Wedding | Mr & Mrs Adams and families | Kate Phillips and Dave Adams' Wedding | Vicky Legnar's Wedding | A Sri Lankan Wedding for Lucy from the Locker Room | Shonali's Wedding

93: EASTER | happy | 30th March 2013 | WINNERS: Jill , Robert & Alison Muirhead Butch Zeederberg 59.1 RUNNERS UP :Jacqui & Tom Barry Drummond Welsh, Julian Nicholas 59.9 THIRD Micky Brigg, Keith Prosser Fran & Darren Cole 60.3 | EASTER SCRAMBLE

94: Anand Kapoor produced a terrific display of golf to win the Chairman’s Cup in the 25th Anniversary year of Emirates Golf Club. The 14-handicapper signed for 42 points on the famous Majlis course to take a two stoke victory over his closest rival Kevin Roy. Choon Park was one of three players on 39 points but his better inward nine gifted him third place overall. Handicap Division A (0-12) was keenly contested with scratch team player Paul Byrne and Stephen Jones both carding 38 points but it was Byrne’s 21 points on the back nine that secured 1st place in Division A. Anil Sobti and Nelly Amarnani both fired 3-under par rounds of 39 points but Amarnani’s superior back nine gave him top prize in handicap division B (13-24) | Chairman's Cup 2013 | 29th March 2013 | Captain's Message April 1st 2013 | Club Life April 2013

95: BITS & PIECES | Three generations of the Kohli family | Off-duty Captain Moshe | Dubai with a difference | I LOVE you all ...Kaz! | Ladies' Pink Ball Day | New-style carts? | Club Captain's new mode of transport? | Birthday celebrations!

96: Indian Invitational 5th April 2013 | Medal 12th April 2013 | A DIVISION (HCP. 0-10) WINNER: Jignesh Sangani 70 RUNNER - UP: Paul Byrne 70 THIRD: Ross Hopwood 70 BEST GROSS: Ross Hopwood 70 B DIVISION (HCP. 11-20) WINNER: Abdulla Al Karam 67 RUNNER - UP: Peter Pavy 70 THIRD: Lalu Mahtani 70 C DIVISION (HCP. 21-34) WINNER: Nishith Patel 70

97: Nexus Open Stableford April 2013 | Moshe with Chief of Naval Staff Admiral DK Joshi

98: The Team of Greenkeepers

99: Luiz Bertuol combined superb golf with stamina to triumph in the first ever staging of a 25-hole open at Emirates Golf Club. To commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the club 132 competitors took on the challenge of the famous Majlis course and seven holes of the Faldo back nine. The course measuring a total yardage of 9436 and par 100 was a stiff examination on a warm and humid afternoon. But it was Luiz Bertuol who carded the best score of 56 points, 6-under par. The highlights of his round included birdies on the 2nd and 11th hole of the Majlis. Zoff Khan also enjoyed the challenge carding 55 points to clinch runners-up place with Vijay Devnani in 3rd on 54 points. Rahul Yadav picked up 4th place with a 53-point tally. The ladies section was also keenly contested with Lisa Cadiz carding 49 points to take top prize from Catherine Loos by a one point margin. Ray Downes produced a superb score of 55 points dropping only a handful of shots during 6 hours of golf to clinch the best gross score of the day. Co-Sponsor Titleist made sure all prize winners for the individual stableford were well rewarded for their efforts. | 25-Hole Open 18th April 2013

100: Hankook Greensomes 2013 19th & 20th April | Trevor Varri and Jenny Ayres produced a superb display over the Majlis course to triumph in the Hankook Greensomes Championship. Following their opening round of 69 over the Faldo course the pair found themselves two shots adrift of Mathys Oberholster & Sanchia Oberholster and Suresh Shewakramani & Ashok Sindhu. However, the Mixed Matchplay finalists, felt at home on the Majlis layout and carded a fantastic 64.5 to post a winning tally of 133.5 (10.5 under par). On a day where anyone of 10 pairs had a chance to claim this prestigious title it was the duo of Choon Park and Han Soon Shin who matched the champions 64.5 on the Majlis course to claim runners up place overall. The tournament, in its 14th year, was dominated by Emirates Golf Club Members who were celebrating the 25th Anniversary of the club. Lorraine Main and Ian Scott carded rounds of 70 and 68.5 to take third place with Rena and Vipen Sethi in fourth after a 72 and 67. The Gross division was dominated by the Gupta family with Rohit Gupta partnering Vikram Tah in to best gross with rounds of 73 and 77. Jayshree Gupta and Raashid Ali took runners-up spot after rounds of 75 and 78. The 152 competitors enjoyed an excellent weekend of golf on and off the course hosted by sponsors Hankook and Al Dobowi. One of the highlights of the weekend was the first hole in one in Hankook Greensomes history, achieved by Charlie Stricklin on the 11th hole of the Majlis. Other prize winners included: BEST NET DAY - 1:Mike Pearce (EGC) Lesley Pearce (EGC)65.5 BEST NET DAY - 2:Mathys Oberholster (EGC) Sanchia Oberholster (EGC)67

102: Inaugural Quaich Match versus The Montgomerie | 27th April 2013

103: Captain's Message May 1st 2013 | Club Life May 2013 | Someone was having a bad day! | EGC Academy ad?

104: Moshe's Captain's Day May 3rd 2013

106: Captain's Day Drive

112: Brilliant day and superb Captain. John Phillips

116: Captain's Day Prize Presentation

117: Evening Celebrations on Captain's Day

118: EGC Staff

119: EGC Staff

120: Black Tee Challenge 10th & 11th May 2013 | The 15th staging of the Emirates Black Tee Challenge welcomed Thomas Pink on board as new sponsors of this prestigious event. A field of 77 competitors teed up in the 36-hole strokeplay championship and it was Chris Cornwall who came out on top with a two round tally of 147, 3-over par. Cornwall, representing the Emirates Golf Federation, produced the best round of the day in the opening round on the Faldo course with a one-over par 73. He was joined in the leading group for the final round on the Majlis course with defending champion Ahmed Al Musharrekh (EGF) and Andy Andrews who were one shot and 3 shots adrift respectively. Cornwall started the final round well and his consistent golf resisted the challengers on the final day including Marcus Wallman from Emirates Golf Club who found himself in contention after a good front nine. As his rivals dropped shots on the famous inward nine of the Majlis course Cornwall kept his cool to sign for a gross 74 and take this prestigious title by a 5-stroke margin. The champion was delighted with his performance and ‘delighted to win the Thomas Pink Black Tee Challenge’. Rayhan Thomas (Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club) carded a superb final round of 73 to claim runners-up place overall on a 152 total, plus eight for the championship. Ricky Dominguez matched his final round 73 and earned third place overall on 154, plus 10 for the 36 holes. Andrew Moffat and Marcus Wallman both from Emirates Golf Club finished on 11–over par but it was Moffat who claimed fourth place with a better final round score. The net category witnessed a runaway winner with Ishpal Bajaj from Dubai Creek posting rounds of net 70 and 69 to win the net division by six shots on a 139 total. Abizher Mohammed (Els Club) took second with Ed Hesson (Emirates GC) in third. Also in the prizes and receiving store vouchers for Thomas Pink were Tim Evans (Best Gross Day 2 – 76), Ahmed Al Musharrekh (Best gross day 1 – 74), Aaron Loats (Best net Day 2 – 70) and Rattan ehrBest net day 1 – 7

121: Tournament of Champions: 24th May 2013 | The calendar for the 2012-2013 season concluded with the staging of the Tournament of Champions and the Mashreq Medal Championship in Association with BMW and Harvey Nichols Dubai. Ewan Cameron compiled an excellent round over the Majlis course carding a gross 71; net 70 to clinch the best gross of the day and victory in Division A (handicap 0-10). Also on the 2-under par mark was Jignesh Sangani but he narrowly missed out on top prize after a card count back, two birdies on Cameron’s closing two holes was the main reason for this. Marcus Wallman followed his fine display in the Black Te Challenge with a net 72 to take third place in Division A. Nishith Patel and Ed Hesson produced the low rounds of the day in Division B (handicap 11-20). Both carded rounds of 69 but it was Patel who took top prize due to a superior back nine. David Ellis found himself in third after a 2-under par 70. Jan Hooftman also carded a net 70 to clinch Division C (handicap 21-34) and like all prize winners was in receipt of Harvey Nichols Dubai Vouchers The tournament of champions was also staged alongside the medal and was open to all members who had won a medal or club event throughout the season. Nishith Patel triumphed with his net 69, with Hesson runner-up and Sangani in third. Cameron took top honors in the gross section with a 71.

122: Clash of the Titans May 30th 2013 | EGC won the fifth staging of the Clash of the Titans, away at Dubai Creek EGC = 380, DCGYC = 355 | Emirates Golf Club’s teaching professional Alastair Brown and Stuart Taylor took first place in the US Open Par 3 Competition with an excellent score of 22 gross. They recorded the 5-under par tally in a two-man scramble format to triumph over a starting field of 44 players. One shot adrift and in runners-up place was the duo of Stephen Deane and Ross Hopwood. | US Open Par 3 2013

123: BMW/Rivoli May Medal | Ewan Cameron compiled an excellent round over the Majlis course carding a gross 71; net 70 to clinch the best gross of the day and victory in Division A (handicap 0-10). Also on the 2-under par mark was Jignesh Sangani but he narrowly missed out on top prize after a card count back, two birdies on Cameron’s closing two holes was the main reason for this. Marcus Wallman followed his fine display in the Black Te Challenge with a net 72 to take third place in Division A. Nishith Patel and Ed Hesson produced the low rounds of the day in Division B (handicap 11-20). Both carded rounds of 69 but it was Patel who took top prize due to a superior back nine. David Ellis found himself in third after a 2-under par 70. Jan Hooftman also carded a net 70 to clinch Division C (handicap 21-34) and like all prize winners was in receipt of Harvey Nichols Dubai Vouchers The tournament of champions was also staged alongside the medal and was open to all members who had won a medal or club event throughout the season. Nishith Patel triumphed with his net 69, with Hesson runner-up and Sangani in third. Cameron took top honours in the gross section with a 71. | Captain's Message June 1st 2013 | Club Life June 2013

124: Scratch Matchplay Team 2012-2013 | Dubai Golf raises 16,950 Pounds Sterling for the Seve Ballesteros Foundation

125: Talker Cup 2013 | Europe v North America

126: Club Matchplay Winners 2013 | Men's Pairs | Ladies' Singles | Ladies' Pairs

127: Past, Present & Future Captains' Dinner

128: Captains' Dinner 2013

129: 18th June 2013

130: Staff Party June 2013 Gods & Goddesses Theme

132: End-of-Season Scramble 15th June 2013 | Champions: Glynis & Andy Hendry, Barbara Head 59.4 Runners-Up: Nishith Patel, Gurmukh Ghuldu, Achal Ghai, Sunil Agarwal 61.4 Nearest the pins: 8th Sulafa Hamdan 12th Sandra Chia 2nd Eric Wormser 17th David Formas | Patrick Marrow and Parag Tikekar Head of Proposition, Mashreq Gold | Mashreq Medal 5th July 2013 | In the first of two Medals to host both members from Emirates Golf Club and Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club it was Dubai Creek member Patrick Morrow and Emirates Golf Club member Tim Evans who had the best scores of the day. Patrick Morrow (DCGYC) carded a fine 2 under par 70 around the Majlis course to take both the A division (Hcp 0-14) and also the overall best net prize of the day. The runner up spot in the A division was secured by EGC member Vipen Sethi with also a 70. His net inward half of 33 was 1 clear of third spot which was taken by Stephen Jones (EGC). It was Tim Evans of EGC having shot a fabulous level par 72 who took the best gross prize. In the B Division (Hcp 16-34) it was a 123 for Dubai Creek members. Kuttan Malattiri and Thakur Tolani both equaled the best of the day 70 but it was Kuttan who took the Division winners spot and Thakur the runner up spot. The third place spot went to Shaun Owens with a net 73.

134: What EGC Captains and Management do next... | Joan Legnar | Ashok Bakshi | Ed Bain | Colm McLoughlin | Mike Gerbich | Mickey Bamboat | Nancy Wingate

135: Sophie Longstreet | Tom Barry | Rai Legnar | Mick Brett | Surender Kandhari | Butch Kamps | Jim Carrigy | Rekha Bandopadhyay | Elise Hanson

136: Chris May | Andrew Whitelaw | Mo Juma | Chef Francois | Outgoing & Incoming Captains | The Last Word from Moshe | Club Life Summer 2013

137: Moshe, On behalf of all the members, thank you for this fantastic year of your Captaincy. You did a superb job and put so much time and effort into everything to make it a thoroughly enjoyable season for members and for staff. It was an action-packed and a fun-filled year and we are all so happy to have been part of it. Thank you so much! Moshe, I hope you enjoy this book of memories of your wonderful year as Captain. Love & best wishes, Jacqui | Cheers!

Sizes: mini|medium|large|massive
Default User
  • By: JACQUI B.
  • Joined: over 6 years ago
  • Published Mixbooks: 4
No contributors

About This Mixbook

  • Title: A Year In Review - Moshe
  • Moshe Kohli's Captain's Yearbook 2012-2013
  • Tags: None
  • Published: over 2 years ago

Get up to 50% off
Your first order

Get up to 50% off
Your first order